We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really and Airport Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy 2, get 3rd free
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Murfreesboro, Tn
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not really and Airport Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This place is awesome. It is less than 10 minutes from the airport. It has a great resort feel. It is a true gem nestled in the middle of the city. The staff were all great. The restaurant was amazing. Buffet but well worth the price. Try the Chef's Club for lunch, my wife says it may be the best sandwhich she has ever had. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: As for an upgrade. We were bumped up to a suite for a minimal upgrade charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    301
    76
    34
    21
See reviews for
227
313
41
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murphy, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times. It is charming, beautiful, has great views and wonderful food in all the restaurants. There is so much to do all around the area, and to come back to this hotel after a day of exploring and surround yourself with the luxury and beauty of this hotel is an added bonus.

Room Tip: You can take tours (our favorite is the Highlights tour). You can take a cab anywhere (negotiate pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much Susan Murphy for these nice comments , we appreciate your visit and your loyalty to the Costa Rica Marriott , we are looking forward to host and serve you again .

Bert Bloem , Hotel Manager Costa Rica Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed here one night on my way to other regions in Costa Rica. It is a quite close to the airport which is nice. Although it is a city hotel, it feels much like a resort. The pools and hot tub are nice and there is a driving range and putting green. There were some issues with the internet, but their technical support was able to get me on line relatively quickly. Breakfast buffet was good.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed one night at the Costa Rica Marriott before our tour of the country! Best choice we could of every made. We were greeted by the friendliest of staff. Loved the look of the hotel, more like an European feel. And the property was breathtaking! Got a nice room at the end of the hall, so we did not hear any additional noise in the hallways! Food there was excellent. Did the spa and enjoyed the treatments and the facilities. Dry Sauna could have been hotter and the hot tub could have been hotter, in fact it felt very cool like pool water. I overheard 2 men talking about how cold the outdoor pool was, so I didn't even attempt to swim there! The bakery on the premises was to die for! Very tasty treats. Would definitely recommend if you need a hotel near the airport!

Room Tip: get a room at the end of the hallways to reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at hotel about 6:30pm. We had arrived in San Jose that morning and gone straight to our meetings. End of the day and we were very tired, only to find out from the desk agent that they had overbooked the hotel and had no room for my group. (Our travel department maintains they had called to confirm the reservation that morning).

The staff made a reservation for us at the airport court yard Marriott, for which I was thankful. However that left us traversing rush hour traffic and the opportunity to enjoy a very much down market hotel with a view of the neighboring Walmart (literally).

Summary: Bad management decision and poor customer service... Though I didn't get past reception.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for one deciding reason: the ability to get dinner late (24 hour room service if needed) if our long flights were delayed. We did make it in time to eat at the restaurant, as it just closing for the evening and dinner was very tasty.

We asked for a quiet room since the luggage wheels on tile hallway floors are quite loud and they put us far from the noise, which was fantastic. The grounds are pretty; there was a beautiful wedding/reception taking shape; and when my son and I ventured out of the gates to the left to go for a run, we found a neighborhood with people walking their dogs, going for runs, cyclists heading out, a whole Saturday morning landscape. (Be careful the first couple hundred yards as there are no sidewalks.)

We thought this Marriott did a very nice job of what they do (i.e., fairly large property resort that's part of a global brand.)

Room Tip: For quiet, a high floor and FAR FAR FAR from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the hotel twice, once for business and once for family fun. Both were excellent. Everyone from the GM to the Spa Manager and staff, to Mario in sales and the exec lounge staff were great. They even signed a card for my birthday. My family especially was pleased and look forward to going back again! Thanks to all at the San Jose Marriott !

Room Tip: Be sure and visit Tortuga Island!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Antonio De Belen
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.