We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th stay in San Jose, choose a better place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Save Saved
You added Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“4th stay in San Jose, choose a better place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our 7th trip to Costa Rica, but first time to stay at this hotel. Upon arrival, the air conditioner wasn't working in our room. A repair was quickly made, but 2 days later it broke again. We were told there was another room so we packed up and brought our bags to the lobby only to be told that the new room was no longer available. Another room was found about 15 min later. No accommodation for our inconvenience was offered. Free Internet would have been a nice gesture or it would have been nice to offer free breakfast for our remaining two mornings. There are better hotels offering a better personal experience and whose location is not so removed from restaurants and other activities. Choose better!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    413
    245
    59
    30
    18
See reviews for
181
244
33
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Business trips to San Jose always include a stay at the Marriott, this past one was no different. As always the staff and service were excellent and the room was clean and neat. Because my company has travelers here often we usually get an upgraded room. Mine was off the back of the facility overlooking the grounds with a covered balcony on the 3rd floor. Great place to have a drink in the evenings and watch the lights of the city around you. No complaints and will def stay here again.

Room Tip: higher rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We visited this hotel in February of 2013 after a three week adventure in Costa Rica. Most of the trip we traveled without an itinerary so at the end of the trip we were tired and in need of some rest and relaxation. This hotel is beautiful and the room was very nice, I highly recommend the Spa as well. We stayed on the executive level and had access to the executive lounge. The lounge has breakfast in the morning and light appetizers in the evening, definitely worth the extra money to have access to this amenity. The grounds are beautiful, the spa amazing, the restaurants fantastic. The pool area is beautiful, but the pool is chilly in February and is not heated. The tapas restaurant in very intimate and delicious. I will say that the service around the pool is horrible, there are a few waiters and waitress walking around but they NEVER seem to notice a customer and can't be bothered by the customers around the pool. If I were the management of this hotel I would fire all of the bar and pool employees and start over, but that is really my only complaint of this fantastic property. I would visit again anytime...just bring your own cooler to the pool!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent our Last Day of a roundtrip through Costa Rica here. We enjoyed ist very much. If you travel to the rainforest and beaches be aware that the dress code at the Marriott is a bit more elegant. We ate at the Hotel restaurant and had the salmon. It was very tasty and the service was top.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Overall good stay, good service, good gym, good pool (water too cold), good jacuzzi. Fair price ifyou have a corporate rate, if not too expensive.

Areas for improvement: corridors too noisy!! Very difficult to sleep when people talk in the corridors... Not to mention when guests walk with their carry ons... You can hear those wheels on the corridor tiles!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We chose the Marriott for our last night in San Jose for its close proximity to the airport. In that regard, it was a good choice. They provide a taxi service at the hotel which was easily able to accommodate our party of seven and lots of luggage. The airport was only about 15-20 minutes away.

The hotel was very clean, the grounds impeccable, and the rooms spacious and comfortable. However, the tiled hallways reverberate with sounds from rolling luggage to conversations between guests.

We went to the restaurant downstairs for dinner. They were clearly not prepared for the number of guests that turned up that night. We were seated in the bar area and had to wait so long for our food we considered leaving.

The gift shop was quite nice and the food in the concierge lounge tasty. The front desk personnel were helpful, prompt, and professional.

I rated this hotel as average only because of the hallway noise and our dining experience; otherwise, we found this Marriott to be very high quality and a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice details all over around the property.

It have several and good restaurants. The only con it's that rates are a lot higher than those for similar properties in Central America; perhaps, Costa Rica hotel rates are the expensive ones in the region.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen
Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Antonio De Belen
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.