We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient landing pad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Convenient landing pad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for two single nights on either side of a trip to the Osa Peninsula. It was great having a clean, easy hotel to re-pack and get organized for our jungle expedition.

I recommend this hotel for a first or last night around airport travel. Super convenient to the International one, and only about 15-20 minutes by cab to the domestic airport.

Beyond airport convenience, it's a delightful place for R&R amongst the other more challenging adventuring. Perhaps because we were doing all the driving, navigating - lots of hiking and exploring, staying at a Spanish-villa-style Marriott was a welcome retreat. The ambiance was lovely, the pools relaxing and a good breather. The food was fine, although US prices. And don't buy anything in the gift shop - the prices were even higher there than the same Britt shop at the airport.

Location in relation to airports is helpful, with unpredictable / busy traffic at times. Although there are some really nice places in Heredia, if you have to get to an airport and you get jammed in a crawling line, you might find the drive frustrating. And if you choose a hotel in central San Jose, but you won't have time to actually see the city core, there's not much reason to be there overnight - so why not choose this deluxe pocket of posh.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor, had a scenic view of the valley and hills. Request a room above ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    285
    70
    32
    19
See reviews for
211
285
39
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After spending three nights in Manuel Antonio, we stayed at the Marriott to be close to the San Jose airport before flying out the next morning. The location is excellent for that purpose, only a couple miles to the airport.

The hotel is very large with a lovely pool area and a nice small walkway around the grounds. An excellent spot for birdwatching!

The restaurant was very expensive. Over $40 spent on two burgers and a shared bottle water. We were enticed into buying a $30 per person upgrade that gave us access to the executive lounge. You can go in and out of this lounge all day to get water, soft drinks, coffee, etc. The "dinner" that was included was a joke. There were a couple of items from the frozen section at the supermarket - bacon wrapped weenies and mini quiches, literally frozen brownies, and some deli meats and cheeses. They did not replenish the food very often either. Breakfast was a little better, but was typical continental breakfast style. But, based on the other prices at the restaurants, this may still be a better deal.

There's a nice gift shop in the hotel.

The open hallways and tiled floors are pretty loud and the doors make very big bangs when they close.

I think this hotel was good for a stopping point before going to the airport, but I wouldn't come here for an extended stay.

Room Tip: While we did not have a pool view, our side room by the tennis courts did have a view of a pasture w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent the last night of our 9- day Costa Rica outdoors adventure at the Marriott. It was wonderful to be pampered in such a beautiful place. Pool was great. Flocks of Parrots chattered in the Palm trees off our balcony. Very convenient to the airports.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, UT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a very nice, clean hotel which is fairly well located in San Jose. The building and grounds of the hotel are very central american, and beautiful. There is ample room to hit golf balls, or walk the grounds. The pool, fitness center and spa are all very nice and comfortable. The rooms are clean and adequate. The bar is cozy, and all food is good. Overall, the atmosphere is wonderful. The only thing about the hotel that I did not like is the area where the property is located. Really, when staying at this hotel, you are confined to the property, unless you have a car, or utilize public transportation (which is ample). You will find 24hr. taxi service, and plenty of tour buses. Also, this property is no more than 7-10 mins away from the airport, which is nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed before, but decided this time to stay while on vacation. All my previous stays have been while travelling on business but I've enjoyed those so much that I wanted my wife to experience the hotel.

There's really very little to fault about the hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful, always going just a bit further than staff at North American or European hotels. The hotel is immaculately clean and doesn't feel a little tired as the next hotel (review to follow) we stayed at felt. It's well laid out and our two nights passed all to quickly.

During this stay we enjoyed food at all three restaurants and cafe, as well in the executive lounge. Great food and pretty good value for money. The gym is well appointed and current. And we enjoyed a trip to the spa.

Unlike my business trips, where time is tight, we had a bit of time to enjoy a couple of treatments. The experience was very good and we both moved on to our next hotel feeling "de-jetlagged" and refreshed.

Will we come back again for a vacation? It's already in the planning...

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor overlooking the pool. Then you can see beyond to the mountains. The views ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have stayed here three times now over 10 years. This remains a lovely open hotel, with Spanish architecture and nice ambiance. One feels very much away from the bustle if San Jose despite the relative proximity to the airport. Rooms are large, reasonably well appointed, clean and comfortable. The food is very good, though quite expensive....particularly at the bar and restaurants. Though we reserved and paid for an upgraded room, we were placed in a standard one on less desirable side (away from pool) with minimal amenities. Also room was on lower floor, right by elevator, which as others note is a real problem given the tile floors that amplify all conversations and noisy luggage hauling. Not sure why this was done, as I even mentioned at check in that we had reserved upgraded room and asked to be near pool. Was told all rooms are similar and was reassured i could still use executive lounge, which was nice but quite a distance away. Since we were staying 4 nights and paying a fairly expensive rate by Costa Rican standards, i went to front desk next morning and basically insisted we be moved. (I had to be quite firm unfortunately.) our new room was much better and made quite a difference in our ability to relax and enjoy the stay with upgraded amenities, etc. but given the hotel was reasonably empty i am baffled why we were ever placed in less desirable rooms/locations at all. Pool was cold...really too cold to swim. Spa facilities and exercise are very nice, though my massage was not particularly memorable. (In contrast, a friend's message was one if the best he has had anywhere. Gift shop is extensive, basically replicating what is at airport. Expensive too....with sunscreen costing three times the usual US prices! Staff are very pleasant, but not as responsive as one typically expects at a hotel charging these rates. Executive lounge access is worth extra dollars....refreshments throughout the day and nice offering of delicious breakfast items and a range of appetizers at night. All in all, will likely stay again as we pass through San Jose, but wish they would prioritize customer satisfaction more to ensure the experience lives up to its potential. Note...Hotel is a good distance from downtown....probably 30-40 minutes away by cab. Don't rely on their airport pick up service (which we booked at time of reservation and reconfirmed with follow up email.) We waited an hour then took a taxi for same price.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor, away from elevator (very important) and with pool rather than golf course views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is like walking into almost any other Marriott which is not all bad. It was nice, clean and the rooms where of reasonable size. One problem of course is that you are paying Marriott prices for any items you may buy, even if you are in a country with low prices. Three appetizers where nearly $50. There is nothing else around the hotel so you are stuck eating here.

It is not to far from the airport which makes it a nice stopover for a late arrival or early morning departure.

It is a very long hotel so it would be good to request a room that is close to the lift or you will be walking a long way to and from your room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the center of the hotel or near a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.