We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Save Saved
You added Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Airport Shuttle Offer
Park City, UT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Oasis in the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a very nice, clean hotel which is fairly well located in San Jose. The building and grounds of the hotel are very central american, and beautiful. There is ample room to hit golf balls, or walk the grounds. The pool, fitness center and spa are all very nice and comfortable. The rooms are clean and adequate. The bar is cozy, and all food is good. Overall, the atmosphere is wonderful. The only thing about the hotel that I did not like is the area where the property is located. Really, when staying at this hotel, you are confined to the property, unless you have a car, or utilize public transportation (which is ample). You will find 24hr. taxi service, and plenty of tour buses. Also, this property is no more than 7-10 mins away from the airport, which is nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    447
    260
    61
    31
    18
See reviews for
191
263
36
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed before, but decided this time to stay while on vacation. All my previous stays have been while travelling on business but I've enjoyed those so much that I wanted my wife to experience the hotel.

There's really very little to fault about the hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful, always going just a bit further than staff at North American or European hotels. The hotel is immaculately clean and doesn't feel a little tired as the next hotel (review to follow) we stayed at felt. It's well laid out and our two nights passed all to quickly.

During this stay we enjoyed food at all three restaurants and cafe, as well in the executive lounge. Great food and pretty good value for money. The gym is well appointed and current. And we enjoyed a trip to the spa.

Unlike my business trips, where time is tight, we had a bit of time to enjoy a couple of treatments. The experience was very good and we both moved on to our next hotel feeling "de-jetlagged" and refreshed.

Will we come back again for a vacation? It's already in the planning...

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor overlooking the pool. Then you can see beyond to the mountains. The views ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have stayed here three times now over 10 years. This remains a lovely open hotel, with Spanish architecture and nice ambiance. One feels very much away from the bustle if San Jose despite the relative proximity to the airport. Rooms are large, reasonably well appointed, clean and comfortable. The food is very good, though quite expensive....particularly at the bar and restaurants. Though we reserved and paid for an upgraded room, we were placed in a standard one on less desirable side (away from pool) with minimal amenities. Also room was on lower floor, right by elevator, which as others note is a real problem given the tile floors that amplify all conversations and noisy luggage hauling. Not sure why this was done, as I even mentioned at check in that we had reserved upgraded room and asked to be near pool. Was told all rooms are similar and was reassured i could still use executive lounge, which was nice but quite a distance away. Since we were staying 4 nights and paying a fairly expensive rate by Costa Rican standards, i went to front desk next morning and basically insisted we be moved. (I had to be quite firm unfortunately.) our new room was much better and made quite a difference in our ability to relax and enjoy the stay with upgraded amenities, etc. but given the hotel was reasonably empty i am baffled why we were ever placed in less desirable rooms/locations at all. Pool was cold...really too cold to swim. Spa facilities and exercise are very nice, though my massage was not particularly memorable. (In contrast, a friend's message was one if the best he has had anywhere. Gift shop is extensive, basically replicating what is at airport. Expensive too....with sunscreen costing three times the usual US prices! Staff are very pleasant, but not as responsive as one typically expects at a hotel charging these rates. Executive lounge access is worth extra dollars....refreshments throughout the day and nice offering of delicious breakfast items and a range of appetizers at night. All in all, will likely stay again as we pass through San Jose, but wish they would prioritize customer satisfaction more to ensure the experience lives up to its potential. Note...Hotel is a good distance from downtown....probably 30-40 minutes away by cab. Don't rely on their airport pick up service (which we booked at time of reservation and reconfirmed with follow up email.) We waited an hour then took a taxi for same price.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor, away from elevator (very important) and with pool rather than golf course views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is like walking into almost any other Marriott which is not all bad. It was nice, clean and the rooms where of reasonable size. One problem of course is that you are paying Marriott prices for any items you may buy, even if you are in a country with low prices. Three appetizers where nearly $50. There is nothing else around the hotel so you are stuck eating here.

It is not to far from the airport which makes it a nice stopover for a late arrival or early morning departure.

It is a very long hotel so it would be good to request a room that is close to the lift or you will be walking a long way to and from your room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the center of the hotel or near a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family and I overnights here in route to the oso peninsula. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff was great and as typical the Costa Rican staff was great and willing to help in anyway. We also at the restaurant, both dinner and breakfast were great. I would stay here again and use a jumping point to take day trips if I was to stay in San Jose. Hotel has a guard gate which is great. There are other options, hamptons etc. I prefer this.

Hope this is helpful.

Room Tip: They have special that include breakfast, great breakfast. Worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great service and friendly. Rooms are clean and up to Marriott standards. The ground remind me of a spanish style mission.

NB. I recommend getting the exit tax paid while at the hotel. Theyll charge you a few dollars, but well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

On the plus side;
Beautiful grounds, lovely and interesting architectural style of the buildings, very nice pool area, the restaurant was good for lunch (burgers & sandwiches), services at the poolside was excellent, overall service was good, beds are very comfortable.

On the negative side;
Rooms face each other in a closed off tile floor hallway which creates a giant echo chamber. You WILL hear every screaming child. You WILL hear every service cart, piece of luggage, or anything with wheels rolling down the hallway. You WILL hear it all the way down the long hallway, from start to finish, starting with the 1st guest to leave sometime between 5am and 6am and the last guest to arrive around midnight. The walls have no soundproofing whatsoever, so you WILL hear every conversation from next door.

The restaurant was terrible for breakfast (think a buffet at Denny's) and not much better for dinner (overpriced, horrible service, and just plain mediocre food - my steak still had whip marks from where the jockey was hitting it...)

Front-counter staff the morning of checkout were surly and clearly not happy to be there that day.

The bill included an (unauthorized) $1 donation to Habitat For Humanity. We looooooove HFH and donate hundreds to them annually, however I resent the presumptuousness of having it automatically added to the bill. I'll donate directly to the cause, thank you, no need for Marriott to be a corporate middle-man.

Bottom line - I would stay there again if I had to & wouldn't look back, but if I was making a trip to San Jose again I'd be looking at other options to see if I could do better...

Room Tip: try to get a room at the furthest end of the building, that's likely your only chance to get any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.