We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to overnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Calabasas, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great place to overnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family and I overnights here in route to the oso peninsula. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff was great and as typical the Costa Rican staff was great and willing to help in anyway. We also at the restaurant, both dinner and breakfast were great. I would stay here again and use a jumping point to take day trips if I was to stay in San Jose. Hotel has a guard gate which is great. There are other options, hamptons etc. I prefer this.

Hope this is helpful.

Room Tip: They have special that include breakfast, great breakfast. Worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    285
    70
    32
    19
See reviews for
211
285
39
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great service and friendly. Rooms are clean and up to Marriott standards. The ground remind me of a spanish style mission.

NB. I recommend getting the exit tax paid while at the hotel. Theyll charge you a few dollars, but well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

On the plus side;
Beautiful grounds, lovely and interesting architectural style of the buildings, very nice pool area, the restaurant was good for lunch (burgers & sandwiches), services at the poolside was excellent, overall service was good, beds are very comfortable.

On the negative side;
Rooms face each other in a closed off tile floor hallway which creates a giant echo chamber. You WILL hear every screaming child. You WILL hear every service cart, piece of luggage, or anything with wheels rolling down the hallway. You WILL hear it all the way down the long hallway, from start to finish, starting with the 1st guest to leave sometime between 5am and 6am and the last guest to arrive around midnight. The walls have no soundproofing whatsoever, so you WILL hear every conversation from next door.

The restaurant was terrible for breakfast (think a buffet at Denny's) and not much better for dinner (overpriced, horrible service, and just plain mediocre food - my steak still had whip marks from where the jockey was hitting it...)

Front-counter staff the morning of checkout were surly and clearly not happy to be there that day.

The bill included an (unauthorized) $1 donation to Habitat For Humanity. We looooooove HFH and donate hundreds to them annually, however I resent the presumptuousness of having it automatically added to the bill. I'll donate directly to the cause, thank you, no need for Marriott to be a corporate middle-man.

Bottom line - I would stay there again if I had to & wouldn't look back, but if I was making a trip to San Jose again I'd be looking at other options to see if I could do better...

Room Tip: try to get a room at the furthest end of the building, that's likely your only chance to get any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This was without a doubt the single worst hotel experience I have ever had. The hallway floors are a bumpy Spanish tile-no carpet. ALL NIGHT LONG we were woken up over and over again as people with luggage on wheels walked by our room. The volume level cannot be explained. How anyone has given this hotel a good rating I cannot understand. Simple solution Marriott-put down carpet runners!!!! I would not stay here again if it were free.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The noise from other hotel guests walking, talking and pulling baggage in the hallway woke our family throughout the night. For example, I was awoken at 10:30, 12:30, 2:30 and 4:00. The poor sleep caused everyone to be tired the next day; especially the 4 young children. This in turn has made our travel day miserable as the children are irritable.


While we expect some noise in the rooms, the level exceeded what we've experienced in the past. The root cause of the issue is the tiled hallway floors and the absence of sound absorbing surfaces. My hypothesis is that you've received numerous contacts, or Trip Advisor posts, from guests regarding this issue. It's surprising that the hotel owner has not attempted to mitigate this issue by installing carpet runners or taking other actions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We went to Costa Rica mainly to visit our daughter who was going to school in the area for the semester. The hotel was beautiful and relaxing. The grounds were well maintained. I cannot say enough good things about the staff. They were all so accommodating! I would highly recommend upgrading the the use of the executive lounge. This includes breakfast which was lovely as well as a happy hour and access to tea, coffee, bottled water and soda all day. Many nights we had dinner at the happy hour depending on how large a lunch we had. It was well worth the extra price.

Room Tip: rooms facing the pool side would be optimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We loved staying at this Spanish style hotel. The rooms were beautiful and the staff very helpful. The morning buffet had a wonderful assortment of tropical fruits and smoothies. The deck overlooking the golf course is the perfect place for a glass of Chardonnay at the end of the day. Even better when they light the fire places. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.