We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay during our week long trip....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BUY 2, GET 3rd FREE
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best stay during our week long trip....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Lovely old world charm...beautiful grounds, peaceful and serene. Scenic views, outstanding food, especially the little cafe next to the gift shop.
As we travelled from Arenal, to Flamingo beach and finally to San Jose, this accomodation was the best of all.
Would love to return..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    315
    78
    34
    21
See reviews for
243
330
44
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Beautiful architecture with its antique furniture and unique finishings, this hotel is classy and comfortable. The surrounding gardens and pool are very tranquil and relaxing. The staff are efficient and friendly and the meals are delicious and presented well.
My favorite - the amazing breakfast!

Room Tip: The rooms that lead out onto the pool have their own verandas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Well-located for flying into or out of Santa Maria international airport, but not convenient for flights in or out of Pavas airport. The large hotel is a fine example of colonial architecture reminiscent of Guanajuato or Mexico City: pastel stucco exterior, Romeo-and-Juliette balconies, heavy wooden framing and furniture, spacious rooms. The grounds are large but not terribly appealing, primarily acres of lawn plus a driving range bordered by a rather dark border of dense trees separating the property from an attractive suburban neighborhood.

Our standard room was large, quiet, a little worn but still clean, and offered a very comfortable bed. It seemed a tad pricey (about $170 w/AAA discount including a first-rate buffet breakfast), and the daily $11 internet charge seemed excessive. Tico guests seemed considerably more hoity-toity and snobbish than pura vida. Service at the reception desk and main restaurant was erratic - varying from excellent to cloying or utterly inattentive according the employee. Fortunately, the Isabella tapas bar and restaurant on the premises offers excellent food with impeccable service.

The spa and fitness center are excellent, with an adjoining gift shop that offers some quality items plus a take-out bar serving terrific sandwiches and desserts for a day trip or flight. Kids should enjoy the well-conditioned horses and donkeys grazing in an adjacent field. The hotel has a few aging tennis courts that really need resurfacing and new nets, and were amazingly windy each time we played (25 mph gusts that produced a vicious hook on the bounce, reminiscent of what was driving Djokovic crazy in Melbourne).

All told, we'll probably opt for the charm of a B&B in Escazu on our next trip.

Room Tip: Top floors have better views and seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Having read the reviews, I was expecting more from this hotel. The hotel is okay -- it's clean, relatively comfortable, has nice (but cold!) pools, and fairly pretty grounds.

That said, it's a bit expensive for what it is and where it is. For $200+ per night by the airport in Costa Rica, I expected more. The hotel was also VERY quiet (in terms of people) when we were there, which, for such a large property, seemed weird to me.

If you need a good place to crash coming or going from San Jose, I'd recommend it. However, I wouldn't come here as a destination itself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We chose this property for a one night stay before an afternoon flight the following day. I wanted somewhere close to the airport but still in an attractive area. Sometimes this is a challenge! Gorgeous grounds, with a very nice pool area. Rooms are a little dated and somewhat worn (unattractive carpet, some dings on the walls) but very clean with excellent beds. I found the service to be exceptional from check-in ( early) to check out (late). Staff came around to the pool with cold towels and fruit smoothie shooters as well s little fruit kabobs! The restaurant was quite good, with a nice view into the mountains. Our room had a Juliette balcony, which was great for letting in some fresh air and seeing the mountain houses light up at night. Would stay here again if flying into or out of San Jose. Admittedly, it was double the price of other properties, but to me, the atmosphere was well worth it!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you are traveling in or out of San Jose, Costa Rica, the Marriott is an amazing place to stay and relax. The rooms have high quality bedding and the pools are lovely. Plus, the food, in any of the restaurants is top notch. The Spanish architecture is lovely. Best of all, the Marriott is close to the airport so it's a great place to stay if you have an early flight. But, it's very quiet with gorgeous landscaping.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms open to the landscaped pool area. Ask for one of those rooms if you have time for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you are flying in or out of San Jose Costa Rica then I highly recommend you spend a night or two or three here. The hotel and property are amazing, so beautiful and they have everything you will need to have a delightful stay. The fitness center is open 24 hours and is located in the SPA, it is very well appointed and they have a lot of extra touches that make working out fun. I was in town for business so I didn't have time to try the spa but based on the four star services offered within the hotel I am confident it is a 'must do'. The grounds are beautiful and there are walking/running trails that will inspire anyone to get outside and explore. The hotel itself is very nice, the furnishings throughout and in the room are clear indicators that they want their guests to enjoy their stay. We ate in the hotel restaurants and all of them were exceptional. The restaurant offers local selctions and the fresh fish is heavenly. The Tapas restaurant is a great experience and perfect for sharing. The Coffee shop is great for a light breakfast or lunch. The location is very close to the airport so it's a great place to stay when you first arrive or before you depart. I defintely will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a review with a view of the mountains or the pool on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.