We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Save Saved
You added Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Airport Shuttle Offer
SC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel for short pre-cruise stays for more than ten years, however this was a single destination stay of a week. The grounds are magnificant and service excellent. Small problems (non-working refrigerator) were remedied quickly. It is very difficult to find healthy food on the menus--even a chicken fillet sandwich would be an improvement. The Club Lounge had breakfast (including omelets Wed-Fri) and appetizers in the evening (although cilentro tended to dominate most offerings). My package included the buffet breakfast (which I believe was priced at $30 US) which was very nice (including omelet and smoothy stations), but not a good value in my opinion. In both the Club Lounge and the breakfast buffet, food in the chafing dishes generally was not hot. A resort of this grandeur should offer evening entertainment--a player piano in the upstairs bar/lounge was only playing once (and that was during the day). Pool attendants were responsive, although drink service seemed to take quite a while. Services in the new Spa building are subject to a 10% spa fee (although there was no resort fee). It's a beautiful, relaxing resort and well situation for touring and I will return.

Room Tip: If travelers are arriving by air, I would recommend pre-reservations with the hotel for transportati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    463
    265
    64
    30
    18
See reviews for
202
267
36
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and i stayed one night at the Marriott to start off our Costa Rica vacation. It is located near the airport and had lovely grounds.

We enjoyed a late dinner in the tapas restuarant and nice breakfast in the temporary executive lounge. The executive lounge was closed for cleaning/renovation.

The staff was helpful and they also had a nice gift shop.

I would stay here again for a night or two when flying in or out of San Jose.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a very nice Hotel if you like "Hacienda Style" architecture.We stayed 4 Days, Service was great, all staff we encountered were super friendly & helpful. Hotel property well kept!

Our room was good (449) we had a nice balcony, not too impressed with the lock on the sliding glass door! Executive lounge was definitely worth the cost!

Down sides:
Essentially only one Restaurant (they do have a seperate Coffee shop that also serves Sandwiches) I was underwhelmed with the Menu, food always took a long time.
The Hotel has NO entertainment what so ever, it is somewhat isolated one cannot walk to another Restaurant, Night Club, Store, etc, this makes going out for a meal quite expensive (Taxi fares)
I was a bit shocked at the prices; everything carries a 13% tax and a 10% Service charge
Room US$ 200.00 (plus above) evening Main course in the Restaurant (either one) $ 25 - 30 plus, Glass of Wine / High ball $10.00 Beer $9.00 etc.

As I said nice Hotel, but... I probably would not stay there again because of lack of entertainment options and cost

Room Tip: 4th floor with Balcony is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

All the comforts of a Marriott resort with very convenient proximity to the airport. While the area around is very industrial (though some decent neighborhoods to the west for runners) the grounds are impeccable and facilities fully modern. The gym is excellent and the pools very pleasant. Staff are polite, though sometimes few and far between.

The gripes:
- The hotel can be loud at night. The format seems to carry sounds of doors and voices throughout the tiled halls, the wind can be fierce simply due to the geography and because it has event halls, if your timing is right you might catch a rowdy wedding that goes late into the night (as we did)
- the pool is frigid
- when we tried to find lunch at the coffee shop on a Sunday, they were out of the first 4 things we wanted... No salads at all, and limited ingredients for sandwiches. It was the night after a large wedding, but to run out of food was surprising.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Definitely recommend the hotel, especially if yoy want to get away of the city noise and pollution. It has all the needed accommodations, a coffee plantation that can be visited anytime and excelent service. Besides, the whole infrastructure is a marvelous colonial house-type.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel one night before flying out from San Jose. The building is gorgeous, but the actual guest rooms are awful. We can't wait to go back to Costa Rica, but we would never stay at this hotel again. The staff is mildly interested in helping, but certainly not customer oriented.We had some snacks and drinks at the lobby bar and we waited nearly an hour for our food. The waitress came once to bring us our first drink, and then disappeared. The only time she apologized for the wait is when she brought us our food and told us the kitchen was behind. No kidding? That would have been nice to know before we sat here waiting and being ignored.

My husband is a Platinum Elite, and they stuck us across from the elevator, even though his profile specifically says not to. Needless to say, we heard the elevator all night from room 555. There is also absolutely no other sound proofing in the rooms. We heard the guy next door call for his 5 am wake up call and then of course heard his 5 am wake up call as well. Good thing we had to get up early too... We hardly slept all night because the hallways were so loud and echoe-y. We heard noises from the central courtyard all night- a party let out and we heard everyone leave and the staff start disassembling the tables from 5 floors up. Then we also heard people walking and talking in the hallway all night. It was truly awful. In addition, the shower in the bathroom was super, super slippery and I actually fell. There was a non-slip mat, but it only covered part of the shower. The whole experience at this hotel was awful. I was so happy to check out and leave.
The only plus is that free parking was available around the side of the building.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is an expansive hotel on a large property that was once a coffee plantation. Some of the coffee plants still exist around the grounds. The facilities here make it more of a resort than a hotel and being out of the city the selection of activities and dining on-site are well appreciated. The hotel is near to the airport which was convenient after we had been travelling for a long time and we wanted to get to our room as quickly as possible. We arranged a private pick-up from the airport which was organised through the hotel. From the moment we were met at the airport through to the check in process all the staff were very friendly and helpful. This made our first visit to Costa Rica pleasant and memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.