We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Marriott was an excellent venue for our conference and a wonderful place to relax. My room was well-appointed and clean, with a beautiful view from the window. I found Goldilock's bed in my room, but there was nothing "just right" about the luxurious bath. The large tub and copious amounts of hot water encouraged self-indulgence.

The hallways and public rooms are partially open to the outside, allowing fresh air to the inside and unobstructed views to the outside. The central courtyard is open to the sky. Series of arched openings in the walls allow convenient access between the dining rooms, conference rooms, and halls to the hotel rooms.

Breakfast consists of a vast array of foods - pastries, fruits, eggs, meats, cold and hot drinks - indeed, more than I can remember. Service was generally excellent and friendly, although our group was large and occasionally overwhelmed hotel staff. This led us to a more leisurely approach to breakfast and lunch that is normal for North Americans, a positive change for most of us.

The Marriott has earned its excellent reputation. Should the opportunity to visit arise, do it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude77627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very nice rooms, lots of space, comfortable beds, modern updated bathrooms. Food is excellent, breakfast buffet is incredible - everything you could ever want, hot and cold - omelettes made fresh, oatmeal, nuts, fruit, eggs, meats, cheeses, fresh juices, fresh fruit, pastries... Lovely to sit outside and have a view of the volcanoes in the distance. Friendly helpful staff. It is removed from the city, so not a central location, and couldn't really walk off the property to anywhere. But very quick to get anywhere you need to go. Was here on a business trip, and would certainly consider it for a holiday if I return to San Jose.

Room Tip: End of hall on higher floors - tiled floors can echo a bit so being away from busy areas helps keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
557 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here about 14 years ago and it is pretty much the same which is a good thing. It is right in the middle of a coffee plantation and is also very pretty. The rooms are pretty basic but the grounds are spectacular.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lanzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This property is our favorite hotel when we fly out of San Jose instaed of Liberia. Great food, nice rooms and the service has always been very good. The concierge lounge is outstanding. It's only a couple of minutes to the airport and Escazu "can" be about 15 minutes once you figure out the route once.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChadL_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I recently stayed 3 nights at the Marriott for a convention in San Jose. I didn't spend much time in my room but the furnishings were very nice and made for a comfortable place to relax after a long day. The breakfast buffet was great and the staff were polite.

The hotel is big, my first day I got lost trying to find the lobby from my room. My biggest complaint was that internet was not included with the room. You could purchase a daily or hourly package for quite a high price, which was surprising considering that the rooms are not cheap. Also, you need to prearrange an airport pickup because they do not have a shuttle. The ride costs about $15 USD.

The property itself it beautiful, but if you don't have a car and want to leave the hotel to eat or have a drink you will need to call a cab and know where you're going. There is nothing within walking distance aside from the hotel restaurants which are pretty pricey. Beautiful views but they come at a price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamorena916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the Costa Rica Marriott, San Jose and had a wonderful time. We arrived on 1/9/13 and departed on 1/16/13 and it was the best week i have ever stayed at a hotel. The staff were all wonderful from the check in to the bell men and house keeping and Analin in the restaurant and other. The hotel is very wonderfully situated in the Belen area of San Jose and our room was beautiful and clean and well proportioned and has all the necessary amenities that you could ask for, with updated flat screen television in the room. The housekeeping department were wonderful and kept the rooms very clean and smelling fresh. The staff were all friendly and offered a smile and hello at ever interval. I was there for a convention with my best friend and thought every thing was excellent. The meals in the restaurant were very fresh and tasty and the restaurant staff were very helpful with the menu and food selection and very attentive to our needs. At check out the bill was explained and was very accurate.

I just wanted to express my sincere thank you to the management and staff of the Costa Rica Marriott for a job well done, "Thank you".

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhoramsay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Marriott was a great place for us to rest and finish our trip to Costa Rica. We had been in the rainforest for 10 days on a wonderful adventure and returned to San Jose to catch our flight. We stayed 2 enjoyable nights at the Marriott. The room was well appointed and very clean. The restaurant and Executive Lounge offered excellent service and food.

We also learned that for an extra $5, we could pay our Costa Rica Departure taxes at the hotel desk rather than standing in the long line at the airport. You can do this the night before you leave and fill the form out in advance. This can save you a lot of time at the airport. Only the larger hotels like the Marriott offer this service.

The grounds and the hotel were beautiful, and we enjoyed our time there. We will stay there again when we return to San Jose.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the golf driving range have a very nice view and are quieter than the ones ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnjoyinLife99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 945 reviews
2.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 1,945 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing