We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to our trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Save Saved
You added Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Airport Shuttle Offer
Mahomet, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect start to our trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a beautiful hotel. Very close to airport but, feels miles away. Service was good not great with the exception of Melisa, who was extremely helpful :). Beds were comfortlable and views were great. Food was good. They have a nice souvenier shop. My only dislike was where our room was located. We were woken up every night by either people arriving at night or the bar closing. DO NOT get a room on the 3rd floor (same level as reservation desk).

Room Tip: Make sure your room is located above the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    454
    262
    63
    31
    18
See reviews for
196
265
36
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We landed in San Jose on the first leg of our CR adventure. Very nice hotel. A little in the outskirts but for approximately $20-15 you can get to town easily. Beautiful building, nice breakfast, very nice people on staff and wonderful rooms. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I really enjoyed the 2 nights we stayed here. There were multiple eateries on site, with excellent food. Fitness facility was very nice. Excellent selection of items at the gift shop. Rooms were clean, perhaps could have used a little work in the shower/bathtub area. Spa was a bit overpriced for the service received. Nice pool area. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Skip the facial and go for the pedicure, a much better value at the spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

After 10 days in a vacation rental (house), it was wonderful to come here and be waited on. The property itself is very cool in terms of layout and decor-- kind of a sprawling ranch-style. The pools are well-positioned for sun, although the water is very cold. The restaurants were so/so. Service was great- we arrived at 8AM and they were able to find a room for us to check into early. Great that there are empty mini-fridges in the rooms for traveling with kids. We had a room overlooking the golf course with a tiny Juliette balcony. (I think all the rooms have Juliette balconies.) Wish I had planned ahead for a spa appointment- hard to get day of appointments.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My daughter stays here when traveling on business, as do her coworkers. I tagged along during a recent trip and brought my golf clubs, as she insisted they had a hotel driving range and practice green. She was absolutely correct! I spent the days on the range, practicing my sand shots, chips, and putting. I also golfed at a local course 6 miles away. If you are a golfer and looking to just unwind and shake off some rust from your swing during the winter, you are going to love this place. Range balls are $8 a bucket, but when you see that a local walks out on the huge range and picks up the balls, you'll get a chuckle.

I also spent a bit of time in their top notch workout facility, which is as good as any gym I've worked out in. Top notch equipment, free weights and machines if you are so inclined.

Rooms are very nice, and the service is great. I wouldn't have any problems staying here again and would recommend it to anyone. If you are a golfer, bring your clubs! They also have some rentals available if you just want to swing some clubs.

They have a very nice spa on the grounds also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for the first two nights in Costa Rica. Although large, this hotel had a very friendly feel to it. A beautiful building, very comfortable room, lovely grounds. The tapas restaurant was so good we ate there both nights. The coffee shop is well worth a visit, the staff are very knowledgable about the excellent coffee they serve. Breakfast was very good, a large selection. Convenient for the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We arrived in the evening, and had arranged pickup at the airport by a private bus company. The room was very nice and very inexpensive for the kind of hotel. The grounds were lovely, and it was very pleasant sitting out on the balcony of one of the public areas having a glass of wine. The included breakfast was magnificent, and the location of the breakfast area had great views.
The only drawback is the tile floors in the hallway are very noise when someone rolls a suitcase by. Didn't bother us, but might bother other people. There was a confusion at the checkin--they told us breakfast was not included, but we didn't buy it then. When we went to get breakfast the next morning, we were told that it was included. Make sure you know before you arrive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
Restaurant, Rom...
Show More
6.6 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Free internet...
Show More
1.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,595 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#3 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
2.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
Free Parking, M...
Show More
6.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.