We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Marriott experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy 2, get 3rd free
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mequon, WI
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Marriott experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is one of the nicest Marriotts I have stayed in. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, quick checkin, easy upgrade at a modest charge to large suite with connecting room that was worth it. Really enjoyed the tapas restaurant. We had a larger group (16) and they did a great job bring out a sampling of everything in a seamless way. We had dinner in the main restaurant as well. Food was simple but good. Very competent wine selection. Everything is very clean and organized. pictures on the website are a good representation of the property. I had a massage which was very good.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side were a bit noisy on a Saturday night. Presidential suite is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    304
    77
    34
    21
See reviews for
235
321
43
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We chose the location for its proximity to the airport. It's far enough away to not hear any planes go overhead. It's close enough where taxis can get there for $10 with tip.

The moment you enter the compound, you are checked in by a guard, then a bell men brings in your luggage. You go to the back and check in (was done with ease) and led to room (632) great views.

We went to explore the hotel grounds and were surprised by the nice lit paths, pool areas, hot tub, coffee house, work out gym, gift shop, coffee house and dining hall.

We had the buffet. 28 dollars a person. Very enjoyable. Good service there as well.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is on beautiful and spacious grounds that make it a nice oasis within 15 minutes of the airport. The rooms were very nice and the pool area in particular was extremely welcoming for our family of five. We had a delicious pizza at the restaurant and enjoyed a great breakfast buffet the next morning.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Costa Ricas most super service-nice hotel located in pura vida beauty hills. Love this place, I could write a commercial about it with no worries. Been here a dozen times of the past seven years. Some of the same staff still work here.
The soft, humble and service minded staff welcome you and will serve you like any Asian top hotel. The breakfast buffet and the gorgeous view on the hills across will make any fast talking city girl - tranquilo.
On top of this, the KUÖ spa and tennis courts put a royal feel to the place. Thank lord its not crowded (yet) and fair room prices.
Love love love to this Costa Rican pearl!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here my last night in Costa Rica as it is close to the San Jose airport. Check in was seamless, staff is very welcoming , and the food is quite good ! I had the guacamole and the seafood platter-tasty! The grounds are quite picturesque-the rooms reminded me of a Medieval Spanish castle-dark wood , heavy furniture, wrought iron in the hallways. The bathroom was ok-nothing special. As a Marriott rewards member I was given free wi fi which was a plus. I had a standard room on the third floor-my only complaint was lots of overhead noise-maybe it was my location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is so beautiful and the staff so helpful. After checking in and getting settled into our room, it occurred to me that I had left my cell phone in the shuttle that brought us in from Manuel Antonio. Needless to say, the staff at the concierge assisted me in calling the tour company and even called my cell phone to assist the driver in locating the phone. I was told that the driver had another transfer but would drop off my phone later that day. My husband and I went to have lunch and a member of the staff found me to give me my phone. The entire staff went above and beyond to help me and I am very grateful for their service.

In addition to the amazing service, the spa was wonderful. The facility was very nice and clean and the staff very professional. Next to the spa was a coffee shop with fantastic coffees and snacks (resembles a starbucks, which I love).

Finally, we had a free breakfast with our room and we were sure we would forfeit It since we were being taken to the airport at 4:50am. To our surprise, our free breakfast was available via room service at 4am (and it was delicious!).

Our stay was truly amazing and I only wish we had a longer stay. We will certainly be returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Very impressed with this hotel. The facility is top notch and the service was impeccable. Enjoyed food and refreshments in a number of restaurants and lounges. Huge facility for US tourism and conferences. Ideally located near the San Jose International Airport.

Room Tip: Suggest rooms facing east toward City of San Jose. Great views at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.