We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when entering or leaving the country as airport is close” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% with VISA
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to stay when entering or leaving the country as airport is close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Was the perfect place to start the vacation as we needed to get aquatinted with the customs and people and learn first hand what a great country CR is. We ended up going to the pennisula and out on a catamaran cruise a crocodile safari up a river and learned how to surf. Oh ya and quaded on the top of the continental divide, what a view.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    345
    84
    38
    21
See reviews for
273
359
46
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

As many have said, this is a great hotel for the first night in Costa Rica, but if you have the time the property has enough to keep you busy for a few days. The grounds are gorgeous and the restaurants are above average for hotel fare. The common area has beautiful decor including an open courtyard. The buffet breakfast is a must, and if you plan your trip accordingly, it is offered for free on weekends. It is conveniently located close to the airport and rental car companies. If you are one that must be linked in with the internet they offer it for free in common areas. This was not our first visit to this hotel and will not be our last!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city if you want to see the lights at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel. We came to San Jose at the end of a long business trip and had reserved another hotel down the road. After checking in to that hotel, we immediately checked back out and grabbed taxi to the Marriott. It was like heaven on earth compared to the first hotel. It is quiet, peaceful, and just beautifully decorated. There are dozens of lovely details like painted tiles on the stairs and frescoes on the ceilings. The pool is really lovely as well. I only have one little complaint and that is that it is a little noisy in the mornings. The hallways have a very pretty tile that unfortunately amplifies noise a little so at 8 am we could very clearly hear the cleaning staff going up and down the hall. But it was a small price to pay compared to the hell that was the first hotel that we checked in to... San Jose is not really a very nice city - I would recommend staying here at the Marriott and taking day trips outside the city if you come here for vacation. For a business trip - it is fantastic! It's located close to the airport and away from all of the city noise.

Room Tip: Maybe if you choose a room at the end of the hall it would be a little quieter. I do recommend the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Yes, it's a little expensive so don't consider this hotel if you're on a tight budget. But if you want to splurge and don't feel like exploring smaller hotels, than this is for you. The hotel is on beautiful grounds and a has a lot to offer: pools, spa, restaurants, a cafe, a golf course. You could easily spend a couple of days here just relaxing and enjoying the weather.
The breakfast is delicious, the staff is professional and everything is clean & immaculate. The building itself is impressive. It's located very far from the hustle and bustle of San Jose but within a ten minute drive to the airport. There are some stores and shops not far from the hotel (but not within walking distance).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The stay at the Marriott Costa Rica was nice from A to Z. Everything was working fine, the executive lounge was well stocked and served by nice staff. Location in between the airport and the center clearly requires a car - but then is quite convenient. Really the only downside is the dated and slightly worn decor. Back to the 80s!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Visited in October...not their busiest time. Buffet Breakfast was great, friendly, helpful staff. We were not impressed with the items served in the business lounge, however, attendants were extremely helpful and courteous. Not too many English speaking television stations, I believe only (3) channels. Closest beach approx. 1 hour from hotel. Would return during non-rainy seasons.

Room Tip: Select pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nimokui
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Celebrated my 40th birthday here. Check in was efficient and our room was upgraded. Also got a bottle of wine and fuit basket delivered to my room to wish me a happy birthday. The staff defiantely pays attention to detail and the customer service is great. Breakfast at the Premier Lounge was sufficient. Evening snacks could have been better. Super beautiful grounds. Definately enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Selected a room facing the mountains and golf corse (443). Was nice and quiet with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 851 reviews
1.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 1,813 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.