We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apartotel Obelisco

Apartotel Obelisco
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Antonio De Belen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apartotel Obelisco
Save
You added Apartotel Obelisco to your Saves list
Residencial Bosques de Dona Rosa, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We are a family of four and we stayed at the Obelisco for about 3-4 weeks when we were moving to Costa Rica. I booked the hotel after reviewing the reviews on Trip Advisor. My review will not be as glowing.

The restaurant is only open for breakfast and it resembles more of a cafeteria feel than a restaurant feel. The buffet offerings are pretty limited but the food was ok.

I found the hotel very dated from the decor, couches, and very, very old TVs. The bed was very uncomfortable. The kitchen may be acceptable for those who don't do a lot of cooking, but I found it lacking with no potato masher, oven mitts, baking sheet, etc.. There wasn't a table and chairs for eating in the kitchen - just bar stools.

It is a large apartment but the layout is odd. There is a water fountain/pond in the room (luckily ours didn't have any water in it), and there are huge gaps between the bars in the stairwells. There is one large bedroom upstairs and one bedroom downstairs.

You are in the suburbs and if you don't have a car you will need to take a taxi to go anywhere. There is a small park about 5 minute walk away and a small mall about 15 minutes walk.

The hotel was clean and the maid and laundry service was very good. Security was good.

Requests for a better bed, extra blanket to cover the window (the security lights made it too bright for me to sleep), and a table/chairs for the kitchen were met promptly.

The airport pickup and subsequent transportation requests were handled efficiently.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Jackson, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We stayed at the Apartotel Obleisco for 40 days in January-February 2011. I can't say enough about the wonderful time we had there. We stayed in a two floor two bedroom townhouse style apartment. The bottom floor had a two restrooms, a bedroom with two twin beds and a very spacious kitchen that was fully equipped. It also had a nice living room. Upstairs, there was a loft-office area that looked down over the living room and a massive master bedroom with jacuzzi tub and a spacious bathroom. Every morning, Anna would cook a Costa Rican breakfast with fresh fruit, bacon, eggs, pancakes, and the best gallo pinto in Costa Rica! The maid service left our town house immaculate each day. There was a great laundry service three times a week, we left bags of laundry downstairs in the morning, and when we arrived home in the afternoon, every piece of laundry was hung or perfectly folded. The laundry service was fifty bucks a month!! What a great deal! The pool was always clean and we used it four or five times a week. This place was perfect for my family of five and we are definitely coming back next year. Each member of the staff was professional and friendly and a pleasure to talk with.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

We stayed in this Apartotel for 10 weeks this summer while my husband was working for a company in the area. It is considered an apartotel because it is a small apartment complex that operates with some hotel amenities. Maid and laundry service come with the apartment as well as a free breakfast each morning. The breakfast menu is limited, but the breakfasts are cooked to order and the service is outstanding.

The apartments are large, two-story, townhouse type units that have two bedrooms, three bathrooms and a loft. The apartments are fully furnished and linens are provided. Cable TV service is included and Internet service is available. The compound has twenty units in all and is secured by a wall around the property and a 24-hour security guard. This apartotel is located in a lovely residential area just outside of San Jose and is conveniently located to a mall, restaurants, the aiport, and the highway. The office is able to recommend and set up tours as well, and many of the bigger Costa Rican tour companies will pick you up and drop you off at the apartotel when you take their tour. We found the location of this apartotel very convenient for traveling. The surrounding neighborhood is very nice and safe, and has an International School nearby.

The apartotel complex is small, but there is a swimming pool on the premises which kept our eleven-year old son happily occupied during the summer when we weren't traveling. There is also a wonderful language school a couple of miles away for those interested in taking Spanish lessons (which we did). The classes are held in a B & B that is run by a Costa Rican woman who spent some years in Miami. It is called the Lisa Tec Language School and is highly recommended (for short stays in the area, this B & B is highly recommended as well).

This apartotel is a small place, but is big on service and runs as a first-class operation. We met people from all over the world who were there at the same time we were, which made the poolside BBQs that much more fun.

  • Liked — size, services, location
  • Disliked — on-site amenities
  • Tips/Secrets — Book in advance as this apartotel is getting popular!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2005

excellent staff, huge two story, two bedom suites with a living room and full kitchen. everyone is just lovely at this hotel. we stayed a month here while we were relocating to costa rica from the US (hubby got transferred) As a family of four it was more than enough space for us. Maid service is awesome here! They even do your laundry as part of the package and a wonderful breakfast is included. Family members will definitely be staying here when they come to visit us! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartotel Obelisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel Obelisco

Address: Residencial Bosques de Dona Rosa, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Apartotel Obelisco Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartotel Obelisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.