We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to SJO airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 San Jose | 3 miles South from Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Antonio De Belen 71880-1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Close to SJO airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My BF and I stayed here one night to make it easy travel to the SJO airport early the next morning. The hotel rooms are set up very interesting, varying levels on the 1st floor, it was a maze just hunting down the ice maker. We were there during a lot of parking lot construction, so there were obstacles getting to the Hard Rock café that was in the same parking lot. The casino was fun, good drink specials in the sports bar where we were able to watch the World Series. The room was a lot smaller than expected but suited us fine for the night. The hotel had some pretty pools, but there was not a single person using them. Not sure what was around the hotel, it didn’t look like to much stuff was within walking distance. I would stay here again, if I needed a hotel close to the airport

Room Tip: I would shoot for a room above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    177
    111
    42
    30
See reviews for
77
151
39
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We visited this hotel on three occasions over a 6 week period. It is a convenient 10 mins from SJO by taxi (about $10). Each time we found the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms here are comfortable, though we did hear a bit of noise through the interconnecting doors. Rooms on the ground floor (facing the main pool) have doors that open out to the sunbeds and pool area. There are 4 pools, great for relaxing before or after a long flight. There is a good breakfast served by the pool and the new Hard Rock Cafe (highly recommended) is just across the car park. There is a tour desk and free wifi around the lobby, it is also possible to pay Departure Tax here to avoid queues at SJO. I would stay here again.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel while on a couples retreat. I have seen this hotel several times from the highway and was quite startled at how attractive the interior of the hotel was.

Granted we stayed only one night, but the hotel room was very clean and attractive. The staff very accommodating and assisted us when we had to return two days later as we had left a few items in the room.

The breakfast was very appealing and we wished we could have stayed for a longer period of time!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

our room smell like mold, the bathroom is disgusting. hot water? Really? Oh yeah and 8 bux for 2 Imperials IN CANS. Also, we had to wait 1.5 hours at crazy SJO before they would send the hotel shuttle over. Highly don't recommend this place.

Room Tip: avoid if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel had everything you would expect from a Wyndham. We stayed here on two separate occasions first when we arrived for one night and again when we left or two nights. It is a great hotel. On our first stay we stayed in an older room that was wry clean but tired looking. The bathroom was small and bed was pretty much the entire room. The second stay we stayed in a renovated up to date room. It had a larger bathroom and the room had a more modern look to it. It was also a handicap room which neither of us are but the size was great. It also had a large walk in closet. We also had a sliding glass door, but it didn't seem to lock very well and anyone could access the room from the outside that was not great to us. Also our air conditioner seemed to be intermittent and almost felt as if it was putting out warm air at some points making the room feel humid. The staff was amazing and so helpful and even noticed it was my birthday and sen a plate of chocolate covered strawberries and a card to my room as a present. The airport transportation was great and so was the complimentary buffet breakfast every morning. The downside was the hotel was only near the hard rock and if you wan to sight see it was about a $40 toys trip by taxi to and from the main part of the city. The hotel had expensive restaurants and a mall across the highway but no traditional style foods or anything too exciting. It was a great place to figure out what you wanted to do and were you wanted to go as well as a great place to come wind down before you leave.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear JroseteUS:

We are glad to know you had a nice experience staying at Wyndham San José Herradura.

As we can tell from your comments, our staff, complementary services and the hotel itself, filled your expectations in a positive way. We hope you had the chance to enjoy our refreshing pools, restaurants and spa.
Thank you for choosing our property and we hope you have the opportunity to stay with us the next time you visit Costa Rica.

Best regards,

Sylvia Barquero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great spot to stay on your first night in Costa Rica (since it seems all flights land in the evening, and it is only 5 miles from airport with free shuttle). And we stayed on our last night also before flying out in the morning. Free breakfast buffet was very tasty and great for hungry kids. It is very worth the price (we paid about $90/night for a family of 4).

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Buenas tardes SA Terrible Twins:

Agradecemos sus comentarios y nos alegra que su estadía fuera satisfactoria.

Esperamos que, a pesar de que solo estuvo con nosotros dos noches, haya tenido la oportunidad de visitar nuestros restaurantes, disfrutar nuestras refrescantes piscinas o relajarse en el spa.

Gracias por habernos escogido como su opción de hospedaje en San José y esperamos recibirlo como nuestro huésped, la próxima vez que visite Costa Rica.

Saludos cordiales y felices fiestas,

Sylvia Barquero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First off, I'm 23 and my boyfriend is 28. We came to Costa Rica for fun, adventure and relaxation. The wyndham was our first stop and we will also be staying there on our way home for two more nights. I felt it was a good way to begin since it has a great reputation. I was correct. DONALD at the reception desk was so amazing and honest and helpful. Our room had a beautiful view of the garden but the rooms are small. It is all clean. Pools are beautiful. Problem may be that you are stuck there or across the street at the mall. It's not inexpensive therefore i didn't have fun exploring. At night it was sketchy to walk around. I wouldn't recommend it after dark. Seriously. Hotel has a great free airport shuttle and buffet breakfast! I would stay here again in San Jose.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Estimada Lindseyus:

Gracias por sus comentarios, son muy importantes para nosotros y nos alegra que su estadía fuera satisfactoria. Le contaremos a Donald lo mucho que le gustó su servicio, estamos seguros que se sentirá muy contento.
Esperamos que haya tenido la oportunidad de visitas nuestros restaurantes y spa.
Nos encantaría tener la oportunidad de recibirla como nuestra huésped, la próxima vez que visite Costa Rica.

Saludos cordiales y felices fiestas,

Sylvia Barquero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 1000 San Jose | 3 miles South from Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Antonio De Belen 71880-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a prime location just minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport, visitors to Costa Rica's capital city will find the Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center the ideal retreat, with a wealth of amenities, an idyllic setting and world-class service. With downtown San Jose just minutes away, adventurous leisure travelers will enjoy magnificent natural attractions including the Poas and Arenal volcanoes, rainforest trails and a host of splendid cultural attractions, while business travelers will appreciate the close proximity to a number of prominent business addresses and Free Zones, as well as the hotel's impressive International Conference Center, making this San Jose, Costa Rica hotel the perfect choice for all travelers. Those seeking recreation will revel in a host of activities, including three sparkling outdoor pools, a fully equipped fitness center and special privileges at the nearby prestigious Cariari Country Club and Golf Resort, with 18-holes of golf and tennis courts. Guests craving relaxation can unwind in one of five Jacuzzis, enjoy a relaxing massage in the full-service spa or a respite in the sauna, while fun-seekers will enjoy the non-stop gaming at the on-site Fiesta Casino. With three restaurants and a stylish bar offering a variety of cuisines, guests can savor a host of food and beverage options and enjoy a daily bountiful, complimentary breakfast buffet. Guests arriving into Juan Santamaria International Airport can hop aboard the convenient free shuttle service, and the 24-hour business center and complimentary Wi-Fi affords guests the opportunity to stay productive. With an on-site beauty salon, gift shop, child-care services and more, the hotel offers everything a guest could need to make their stay as comfortable and stress-free as possible. Each of the hotel's 230 over-sized, smoke-free guest rooms features contemporary styling, a unique fusion of warm and cool tones and thoughtful amenities like a flat panel TV, free Wi-Fi, plush bedding and ultra-modern air conditioning. Superior Rooms offer breathtaking views of the lush gardens, while guests upgrading to the Executive Level enjoy a 42-inch LCD TV, a private lounge, secretarial services and complimentary happy hour. All of the spacious, airy Suites feature a Jacuzzi and separate sitting area, while those wishing to indulge in ultimate pampering will delight in the Honeymoon Suite with its own private sauna or the two-bedroom Presidential Suite with full kitchen and dining room. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the state-of-the-art International Conference Center with over 28,320 square feet of meeting space. The event space ranges from an event room that accommodates up to 10 people, to the 12,800 square-foot Salon La Paz Ballroom that accommodates up to 840 people for a banquet or 110 10X10 foot exhibit booths. There is a Wyndham waiting 3 miles South from Juan Santamaria International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Herradura Hotel San Jose Metro
Ramada San Antonio De Belen
Ramada San Jose
San Jose Ramada
Plaza Herradura San Jose Ramada
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel And Convention Center Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.