We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for 1 night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 San Jose | 3 miles South from Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Antonio De Belen 71880-1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for 1 night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night before our flight home.

The pros: All the common areas are updated and clean, the beds were comfortable, the rooms were very spacious, the view of San Jose was beautiful, and the pools were really nice. We also used the free airport shuttle.

The cons: The hotel is BIG...almost too big... we almost got lost looking for the pool. The rooms aren't as updated as the common areas. The main restaurant (Tropicana) was so-so.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for writing. We are glad that you made many positives points about our hotel. You are right, this is quite a large hotel, indeed we hold many special events and international meetings as well as congresses. Perhaps if you had had more time to spend with us, you would have been able to appreciate the grounds, the pools, the other three restaurants, in addition to a spa and the casino.

Hopefully on your next trip we will see you again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    221
    142
    49
    36
See reviews for
95
184
48
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I had not stayed at a Wyndham in a long time, but the last time I had a pleasant experience in Dallas, Texas so when we needed a hotel to stay at for our last night in Costa Rica before flying home to the USA I decided to stay at the Wyndham Herradura, they offered a good advance rate and it appeared to be a good place near the airport to stay with a shuttle service.

I did not fully understand the check-in process as the young lady insisted that I write my name, address, city, state, zip code on the check-in folio even though this information was already clearly on the sheet of paper already.

Next came the room - nice, looked great and the water and bathroom amenities were appreciated, however that is pretty much where it ended.

We were tired after driving 4 hours from the Pacific coast so we decided to look at the room service menu and order up dinner. My wife wanted a Filet Mignon and I really wanted a nice sirloin steak but these were not on the menu so I called the room service number and the young woman said that she did not understand my question and I was put on hold and waited to speak with another person. He said that they did not have Filet Mignon but did have wonderful sirloin steaks. We ordered two complete dinners and waited.

The room service waiter brought everything in and I noted on the charge receipt no additional tip but put in a nice tip (over and above their own built-in already tip) in cash. The waiter must have seen that I wrote a line through the additional tip area and missed the cash that was tucked in and he frowned at it... my suggestion - take some extra time in the future to look before you assume... and on top of that he forgot the milk for the coffee.

The next surprise was that what was supposed to be two sirloin steaks turned out to not be what they were supposed to be -- I am still not sure what the meat was - not sure what the cut was, it was two pieces of beef on top of each other on both plates, not cooked the way we wanted and why the pork sausage was on the plates as well, we have no idea - we were hungry and had waited a while for the order to arrive, the beef wasn't bad, it just was not what we were offered and paid good money for.

And by the way, why does the hotel not have cream for coffee - we were told they had 2% milk only, no half and half and if we wanted cream they would send us a stick of butter???????

A stick of butter for our coffee??????

So, dinner was over and we had an early morning flight - thus we showered and went to bed..... the mattress was like sleeping on a rock - terrible, terrible, terrible and the thumping rock music from downstairs didn't help at all.

Next morning the walk up call comes in 30 minutes late from what we requested and they wrote us down for a shuttle trip an hour later than we wanted.

There seemed to be quite a bit of confusion with the shuttle service, and by the way who are the men in the suits at the front of the hotel that seem to be keeping a watchful eye on your bell staff?

Finally we get to the airport and enjoy a very nice Delta flight home.

Please tell me how a dysfunctional hotel like this garners your 2013 Trip Advisor Award????

I will never stay at this hotel again when in Costa Rica, what a terrible place.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep ask for a room that is far away from the bars/rock music, even better - stay so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for taking the time to make your comments about your visit. I will relay your comments to our operations manager in order to evaluate the check in procedures. I will definetely talk to our food and beverage manager about the inconveniences you encountered with regard to the room service.

All the matresses used by the Wyndham hotel chain are held to the same standards. Therefore, we do not understand why you found it to be hard.

In Costa Rica we do not have half and half dairy product you are talking about, we only have whipping cream or ordinary milk. Perhaps in the future, this product will be available.

I hope you will give us another chance in the future to prove that we really are an excellent hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napierville,qc,Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I spend 8 days at this hotel for a bowling tournament last October. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The food is ok Alonzo and Oscar were the best waiter we had. The pool is clean,same for the rooms. Some indications in the hotel are obsolite but we survive. Too bad it was the rain season, but we had a good time at this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your message was really appreciated, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did. We will let your waiters know that their service was truly satisfying. We hope you did well in the bowling tournament.

We will look forward to having you stay with us again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Despite being terribly sick, the staff were very helpful. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The first night, I had dinner at the Tropicala (?) Restaurant. I was coughing miserably. After I finished my meal, a very nice waiter brought me some hot tea (lemon, ginger, honey & cinnamon). It was such a sweet gesture, being so miserable and all. He said that I needed to drink all of it and then the next day my cough would be gone. He later brought me the rest of the pot, and I was able to take it to my room. It was the best tea I have ever had. I think this man deserves some sort of notice. It was such a kind gesture!
I wish they had more options for arriving to the airport and an earlier complimentary breakfast (for those heading to the airport) - one can dream. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely message. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. Your positive comments about: the room; our staff, the location; etc. were greatly appreciated. I hope that when you have another opportunity to visit Costa Rica, we will again have the pleasure to serve you.

Looking forward to seeing you soon.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Spent one night before flight back home. Room was very comfortable. Wake up call was on time. Lovely property. Very convenient to airport. Boxed breakfast for those with an early flight. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your letter. It is pleasure to hear that you had such a nice stay and that everyting was to your satisfaction. On your next trip we hope you will have more time to spend with us.

Truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#3 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
1.0 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#4 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 1000 San Jose | 3 miles South from Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Antonio De Belen 71880-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a prime location just minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport, visitors to Costa Rica's capital city will find the Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center the ideal retreat, with a wealth of amenities, an idyllic setting and world-class service. With downtown San Jose just minutes away, adventurous leisure travelers will enjoy magnificent natural attractions including the Poas and Arenal volcanoes, rainforest trails and a host of splendid cultural attractions, while business travelers will appreciate the close proximity to a number of prominent business addresses and Free Zones, as well as the hotel's impressive International Conference Center, making this San Jose, Costa Rica hotel the perfect choice for all travelers. Those seeking recreation will revel in a host of activities, including three sparkling outdoor pools, a fully equipped fitness center and special privileges at the nearby prestigious Cariari Country Club and Golf Resort, with 18-holes of golf and tennis courts. Guests craving relaxation can unwind in one of five Jacuzzis, enjoy a relaxing massage in the full-service spa or a respite in the sauna, while fun-seekers will enjoy the non-stop gaming at the on-site Fiesta Casino. With three restaurants and a stylish bar offering a variety of cuisines, guests can savor a host of food and beverage options and enjoy a daily bountiful, complimentary breakfast buffet. Guests arriving into Juan Santamaria International Airport can hop aboard the convenient free shuttle service, and the 24-hour business center and complimentary Wi-Fi affords guests the opportunity to stay productive. With an on-site beauty salon, gift shop, child-care services and more, the hotel offers everything a guest could need to make their stay as comfortable and stress-free as possible. Each of the hotel's 230 over-sized, smoke-free guest rooms features contemporary styling, a unique fusion of warm and cool tones and thoughtful amenities like a flat panel TV, free Wi-Fi, plush bedding and ultra-modern air conditioning. Superior Rooms offer breathtaking views of the lush gardens, while guests upgrading to the Executive Level enjoy a 42-inch LCD TV, a private lounge, secretarial services and complimentary happy hour. All of the spacious, airy Suites feature a Jacuzzi and separate sitting area, while those wishing to indulge in ultimate pampering will delight in the Honeymoon Suite with its own private sauna or the two-bedroom Presidential Suite with full kitchen and dining room. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the state-of-the-art International Conference Center with over 28,320 square feet of meeting space. The event space ranges from an event room that accommodates up to 10 people, to the 12,800 square-foot Salon La Paz Ballroom that accommodates up to 840 people for a banquet or 110 10X10 foot exhibit booths. There is a Wyndham waiting 3 miles South from Juan Santamaria International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Herradura Hotel San Jose Metro
Ramada San Antonio De Belen
Ramada San Jose
San Jose Ramada
Plaza Herradura San Jose Ramada
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel And Convention Center Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.