We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and the price is right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura

Save Saved
You added Wyndham San Jose Herradura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham San Jose Herradura
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Autopista General Canas & San Antonio de Belen crossing, San Antonio De Belen 71880-1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and the price is right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was very surprised at how nice this hotel is. The check in process was easy and friendly. The art work on the walls is nice just to talk around looking at all the different pieces. The bed was so comfortable I had to check out the mattress. It was a quiet place to rest. Breakfast is included like with most Costa Rician hotels. The food was excellent. Loved the fresh juices and coffee. The restaurant over looks the pools which are highly inviting. There is a Japanese restaurant on the property that you must try. The transportation service used was excellent. If you stay for only one night be sure to book the evening tour of the city. You will love it. The only thing I didn't care for was the treatment from the casino staff however loved the electronic roulette table. Also the spa which I check out on every trip was not very impressive. The products used were the same as every other spa in Atlanta or California and I was hoping for something more natural.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you mesage and your positive feedback. It is nice to hear that you found he bed comfortable, the food excellent and the atmosphere inviting. We will definitely talk to the casino manager and we are sorry to hear that you were not well attended. With regard to the spa, I will pass on your recommendations about using more locally produced products.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    149
    94
    35
    27
See reviews for
63
135
37
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We started our honeymoon at this hotel, because we didn't want to drive three hours upon arrival in San Jose.

As others have commented, be prepared to wait for a room upon checkin. We got to the hotel at 3:10, and didn't get a rrom until 4 p.m...when I gently pressed the front desk clerks (who are all very nice).

The Jacuzzi in our toom was great, especially as we were too tired to make use of the pools on a rainy afternoon.

Dinner at Tropicala was OK but not memorable (about $50 US for two apps, two entrees and a bottle of Pellegrino). Again, as others have mentioned, this hotel caters to large groups, and our options were to eat at 5:30 or after 7:30 on a Monday night.

Breakfast at Tropicala the next morning was much better: a well-assorted buffet, and the cost was included in our room price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting our hotel. We are glad to enjoyed the jacuzzi, the accommodation and the breakfast buffet. we will take into consideration your comments with regard to the delay at check in and the scheduled hours for evening meals.

We trust that you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon here in Costa Rica and we look forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Wyndham Herradura (where I just stayed for a week) has al it takes for a great conference of up to 1000 people. Employees in general are polite and deserve praise. The Tropicalia restaurant is an excellent choice for off-conference occasions such as breakfast and dinner. Of the other two restaurants, the Sakura already got my thn=umbs-down in another review, and the other is a good Italian within 50m walking distance from the lobby. Eating out has its risks: the shopping mall just across Americas highway can be reached by foot in ten minutes, and there is a McDonalds and two dozen other fast food options which I did not try (I like real food). But five members of our conference got mugged at gunpoint on that trajectory. As to the Herradura, avoid room 6116 (a loud generator is built under that room). And the flushing toilets in the Herradura are a real health risk, as they have a constantly full pool of water which maximizes splashback (and other problems for men).

Room Tip: Avois 6112 and 6116 (loud generator under window - but if you call reception, they will turn it off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to make your comments about your most recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed the meals at Tropicala Restaurant when you were not attending the conference.

With regard to your comments about the room, I will be talking to the Maintenance Manager to address your feeback. This area of the central valley is considered to be quite safe, so I am sorry to hear about your colleagues´ experience. I will mention it to local authorities.

I hope you will return in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We decided to book the Wyndham as it is a reportable name. We arrived less than an hour before check in. They said the room would be ready in 15 min. We came back in 25. The room was still not ready. We left found a mall across the street to waste time. We came back in an hour. We asked the manager for a discount due to the shuttle hour are after the time we need to leave. An extra $14 to the airport. They would not. The bell man chimed in and said a group was leaving at that time and we could join them. The manager was not aware of this? Our first room was so musty we could not stand it. The next room is better but still musty and mildewy. If you had allergies you would not be happy. This hotel for the price is not worth it

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guest,

In reponse to your comments. Our hotel policy is that check in time is at 3PM. About the other points that you mentioned I would like to ask you to please contact me as soon as you can, because I am not able to understand what your complaints are exactly. I would like to clarify that our shuttle service is going back and forth to airport free of charge.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed there for a business trip and my impression is merely average. The staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast buffet was great with lots of options, and the location only 10 minutes away from the airport is definitely a great advantage. Having said that, I have to agree with some of reviews that the rooms and common areas are not up to Wyndham standards; they look quite outdated and call for some serious renovation. The photos on the hotel's website are very misleading in this matter. Also not much sound proofing, my sleep was easily disturbed by people talking in the hallway or the staff working outside in the very morning. No fridge was provided and the hot water in the shower was non-existent for the first two days. I would probably look for an alternative accommodation if it was not for the convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff always strive to provide the best service possible. The Tropicala restaurant has recently been renovated and the menu has been improved up to Wyndham standards.

Most of our clients stay with us becuase our strategic location (10 minutes away from the airport). Yes, we did have problems with the heater, however it has been resolved since two weeks. I have gotten confirmation that our rooms are going to be renovated in next few months, with this renovation all our rooms will be brought to Wyndham standards.

Looking forward to serving you soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

was surprised how great the stay was. i stayed for business and was upgraded to a junoir suite and loved it. shame i was alone and on business. however i think the policy of no outside guests in the hotel is a bit strict! i had a friend staying at another hotel next door attending the same conference, come visit me at the wyndham for drinks and they would not let him in the hotel. and it was only 7pm. i found this a bit strange and even when i offered to pay for a 2nd guest on my room the receptionist would not allow this. the pool needs a good clean as there was green all over the bottom, and they start service work EARLY! its good for an airport hotel as its close but not as noisy as your usual. this is all i would use it for next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the fact that you had a good stay and took advantage of all our convenient aspects. As far as the policy of no outside guest, I would like to mention that we add here to the legal system to protect all our guest from elegal activities.

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I agree with previous reviewer’s comments this hotel is not up to Wyndham standards. Photos do not match reality.It is located in an industrial area, relatively close to the airport. Whilst we were here the main swimming pool area was closed for construction, so a very limited sun area. The dinner buffet is poor, not worth $22 This is coffee growing country, please offer hot good coffee for breakfast and hot water showers. Please check the bathroom windows , they are in need of a good clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your comments are very well appreciated. We have taken inmediate action and solved all the issues at hand. The food & beverage manager has improved the variety and quiality of our menus. Also, the cofee is being brewed more frecuently in order to keep it fresh and hot. The house keeping department has been advise to review the check list more efficiently.

We look forward to serving you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham San Jose Herradura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Jose Herradura

Address: Autopista General Canas & San Antonio de Belen crossing, San Antonio De Belen 71880-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham San Jose Herradura 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering refined casual luxury in a relaxing setting, The Wyndham San José – Herradura is a full-service 4 star resort, standing apart from the rest of San Jose Costa Rica hotels. Just 5 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO), and 15 minutes away from San Jose downtown, the Wyndham San José – Herradura’s location is idyllic for both business and leisure travelers.A true tropical experience coupled with Costa Rican charm, our hotel features 229 guestrooms and suites, with private terraces overlooking exotic floral gardens. As a guest, take pleasure in the hotel’s free airport shuttle service and access to Cariari Country Club’s Golf Course and Tennis Courts—just a few of the many guest perks distinguishing Wyndham San José – Herradura from the rest of San Jose airport hotels.Our open corridor hotel has 3 sparkling outdoor pools and Jacuzzis, 3 restaurants, one fashionable bar and onsite Casino. Hosting the largest convention center in the country, we enhance various occasions ranging from business seminars to spectacular weddings.With an ambiance of tranquility, the Wyndham San José – Herradura is nestled in the heart of Central Valley, overlooking a breathtaking backdrop of beautiful mountains and lush tropical gardens. With a staff committed to daily incomparable service, we encourage you to kickback and relax. Stay at the Wyndham San José – Herradura and let your worldly worries slip away, all while sitting in the breeze under a palm tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham San Jose Herradura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Herradura Hotel San Jose Metro
Ramada San Antonio De Belen
Ramada San Jose
San Jose Ramada
Plaza Herradura San Jose Ramada
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham San Jose Herradura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.