We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up the the high standards of Wyndham” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 San Jose | 3 miles South from Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Antonio De Belen 71880-1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
KlamathFalls, OR
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Not up the the high standards of Wyndham”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

When I think of Wyndham I think of impeccable luxury. This misses that standard by a long shot. Our room was old, and looked out on the roof of a manufacturing building of some sort. While this may be the best option near the airport you might want to keep looking, since there are other options closer to the airport that are newer. This property seems to cater to groups and conventions.
There's a mall being constructed right across the parking lot from the hotel. This may make the hotel more desirable, but construction may take awhile!
Staff was very nice.

Room Tip: Higher is better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay. Our on going renovations are aimed at insuring that all our rooms are comfortable and modernized as soon as possible. Of course, this is not a rapid process but we are definitely making progress and all our rooms will soon be up to par. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast. Could you please provide us with any suggestions you might have for improving our dinner buffets?

The construction you mention is the soon to open Hard Rock Café which we trust will provide our clients with yet another dining option, as well as excellent entertaiment.

Truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    171
    110
    42
    29
See reviews for
76
147
39
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is nice but make sure you stay in the tower, it's newer and the rooms are nicer. The buffet is decent but not worth the $22. There is a Hard Rock Cafe being built across the parking lot so there was construction noise but I can't blame the hotel for that. Within a few blocks there is a nice pizza joint, an Argentinian steak house, and a few restaurants across the highway, including an applebees near the mall There are three restaurants in the hotel, tropicala ( the hotel restaurant), Quatro is Italian and Sakura. Sakura is a Japanese steak house, I've dined there several times and was always happy, I'd definitely go back....it's close to the airport and not too far from San Jose, easy access to anything you need. After I figured out which rooms to stay in and where to eat it was a good place to stay and I wouldn't hesitate booking here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you feedback about your expercience in our hotel. We are glad you had such a great stay. As you could see our location is very good even if you are travel for business or leisure as well. We have renovated our guestrooms so all of them will be updated very soon. Also, our Hard Rock Café will open in June of this year.

Hope to serve you in your next trip.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My bank travel club used this hotel for the first and last night of a Globus tour and I found this property to be a disappointment both times. We arrived our first night tired (6 pm) and hungry to find limited items left available on the buffet and a less than gracious wait staff. Our last night check in was a nightmare-rooms were not ready, special room requests were ignored, incorrect names were not assigned to rooms and therefore luggage was not delivered to correct rooms and it took almost 2 hours to reach the correct people. My bathroom floor was filthy, one room had a problem with the toilet and when it was fixed they did not mop up the floor but left standing water for my club member to clean up after she waded in it. The hotel caterers alot of weddings and we listened to loud music until 2 am in the morning before a 4 am transfer to the airport. I would not recommend this property for group travel and if I travel on my own to Costa Rica I will look else where for a hotel close to the airport-the only real advantage of staying at the Wyndham..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valerie,

Your comments are very important to us. Globus Groups are our most valued accounts, therefore, we are doing to take into consideration all your remarks and take immediate action in order to keep serving you in the future. Please accept our appoligies. We would like to make sure that every department involved will follow up.

Please allow me to offer you an up grade to a junior suite for your next visit. Hopefully you will be satisfied.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgetown
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were on a Collette Vacations eco-trip to Costa Rica and this hotel was our first and last stop on the tour. It was close to the airport and quite a comfortable location. The included breakfast buffet was excellent on both mornings. We purchased the supper buffet in the restaurant on the first evening and found it to be quite good, although not as "Costa Rican" as we would have personally preferred.
The pool was quite nice, though a bit cool (we were there in a cold snap) and the orchids and other flowers were quite nice. The signs to the ice machine led to an empty spot but on asking I was directed to the restaurant where they cheerfully filled my ice bucket.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I planned our trip poorly (arrival was too late to travel to destination, departure too early to travel to airport day of flight) and as a result had to stay first and last night at hotel near airport.

Overall, this was an excellent hotel for this - facility is very well appointed, there is a casino, bar has well priced drinks and grounds are pretty with nice pools and hot tubs. The the food on the buffet was quite delicious. Proximity to airport was about 7 minutes and there is a free shuttle.

Special kudos to exceptionally kind, helpful and gracious front desk staff. Easy check in/out, very accommodating and when we mentioned that we had to be to airport by 5 am, the front desk said they would have a breakfast takeaway bag prepared for us and ready in the morning. Delightful touch!

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the business opposite the property (south side) building 6 - its kind of industri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your positive coments. As you were kind enough to mention, our hotel takes great pleasure in offering many different types of activities, entertiament, dining options, a relaxing spa and beautiful gardens year round. I will be informing our front desk staff with regard to your compliments about their friendly and complete service.

I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were at the end of our 8 days in Costa Rica and hadn't made any plans for a hotel to stay at the night before we left from San Jose. After quite a bit of searching online I decided upon Wyndham. We were very pleasantly surprised and very glad we had chosen to stay there on our last night. My teenage sons were totally impressed and the staff was very accomodating.
We asked for a late check-out and were given one, without any problem. It was dependent upon availability and it really made our last day waiting for our flight very pleasant.
The shuttle is prompt and the driver was very friendly and interested in telling us some about Costa RIca. We ate lunch at the Japanese restaurant before leaving and wished that we had eaten dinner there the night before, rather than driving off-site to eat. It was really quite nice which we didn't expect but really appreciated.
The price was totally reasonable and the location is excellent if you're coming in or heading out and don't want the hassle of being deep in the heart of downtown SJ which is really busy during high-traffic hours. Really glad we stayed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was very nice to receive such a complementary message regarding your stay at our hotel. We are glad that your soons also enjoyed the stay as well as the japanese restaurant we also have the italian and the international restaurants which we hope you will try on your next trip. Also the new Hard Rock Café will soon be offering a new dining posibility and great entertaiment.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here one night with another couple the last week of January. We were sailing with the Windstar Cruise lines and this was the hotel they were using as their base. The hotel was just a short drive from the airport and not very visible from the main highway. There was some construction going on next door where a convention center was being built, but we couldn't hear the noise from inside the hotel. The lobby was very inviting with its decor and the staff behind the desk was very efficient. We checked in about 9:00 pm with approximately 20 other travelers and our wait was very short.

We had an excellent room with a king bed, sofa, walk-in closet, large bathroom and a view of the mountains. The only problem we had that night was finding the ice machine......we finally asked one of the staff about ice and he delivered the ice to the room personally.

The breakfast buffet, which was included in the $139.00/night price, was outstanding. There were many choices, from a hot breakfast to cereals or breads. Once again, the staff was very cordial and managed to keep a straight face as we tried to speak our limited Spanish! We also ate lunch there a few hours later and the food from the menu was excellent.

The hotel layout is typical of hotels located in the tropics......lots of open air rooms and several different swimming pools. The landscaping was unbelievable with orchids, bromeliads and ferns growing everywhere!

We definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone who might be flying into San Jose and needing somewhere to stay one or two night. It is not located close to any tourist activities or downtown, so I'm not sure about staying there for an extended time. However, you couldn't beat the price!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 1000 San Jose | 3 miles South from Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Antonio De Belen 71880-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a prime location just minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport, visitors to Costa Rica's capital city will find the Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center the ideal retreat, with a wealth of amenities, an idyllic setting and world-class service. With downtown San Jose just minutes away, adventurous leisure travelers will enjoy magnificent natural attractions including the Poas and Arenal volcanoes, rainforest trails and a host of splendid cultural attractions, while business travelers will appreciate the close proximity to a number of prominent business addresses and Free Zones, as well as the hotel's impressive International Conference Center, making this San Jose, Costa Rica hotel the perfect choice for all travelers. Those seeking recreation will revel in a host of activities, including three sparkling outdoor pools, a fully equipped fitness center and special privileges at the nearby prestigious Cariari Country Club and Golf Resort, with 18-holes of golf and tennis courts. Guests craving relaxation can unwind in one of five Jacuzzis, enjoy a relaxing massage in the full-service spa or a respite in the sauna, while fun-seekers will enjoy the non-stop gaming at the on-site Fiesta Casino. With three restaurants and a stylish bar offering a variety of cuisines, guests can savor a host of food and beverage options and enjoy a daily bountiful, complimentary breakfast buffet. Guests arriving into Juan Santamaria International Airport can hop aboard the convenient free shuttle service, and the 24-hour business center and complimentary Wi-Fi affords guests the opportunity to stay productive. With an on-site beauty salon, gift shop, child-care services and more, the hotel offers everything a guest could need to make their stay as comfortable and stress-free as possible. Each of the hotel's 230 over-sized, smoke-free guest rooms features contemporary styling, a unique fusion of warm and cool tones and thoughtful amenities like a flat panel TV, free Wi-Fi, plush bedding and ultra-modern air conditioning. Superior Rooms offer breathtaking views of the lush gardens, while guests upgrading to the Executive Level enjoy a 42-inch LCD TV, a private lounge, secretarial services and complimentary happy hour. All of the spacious, airy Suites feature a Jacuzzi and separate sitting area, while those wishing to indulge in ultimate pampering will delight in the Honeymoon Suite with its own private sauna or the two-bedroom Presidential Suite with full kitchen and dining room. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the state-of-the-art International Conference Center with over 28,320 square feet of meeting space. The event space ranges from an event room that accommodates up to 10 people, to the 12,800 square-foot Salon La Paz Ballroom that accommodates up to 840 people for a banquet or 110 10X10 foot exhibit booths. There is a Wyndham waiting 3 miles South from Juan Santamaria International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Herradura Hotel San Jose Metro
Ramada San Antonio De Belen
Ramada San Jose
San Jose Ramada
Plaza Herradura San Jose Ramada
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel And Convention Center Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.