We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a night near the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 San Jose | 3 miles South from Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Antonio De Belen 71880-1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Perfect for a night near the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We found a reasonable deal here, we were looking for something with an early morning free airport shuttle. We had an international 7 am flight, and leaving on the first shuttle out at 5 am was perfect. We weren't rushed neither were we sitting around the airport for hours.

We loved that included in our room price was a free breakfast. Since we were leaving before breakfast service began, we were offered a bagged breakfast to bring. It was perfect, a juice box, apple, yogurt and piece of carrot bread. We were a family of 4 and we each got a breakfast for the road. It saved time and money.

The hotel room itself was nice, my kids loved the big bathtub, we liked the flat screen tv. Room service was fabulous and affordable. There is an Applebee's and a mall within walking distance.

The pool was absolutely beautiful, but it was too cold and windy to swim.

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very thankful for your absolutely wonderful review. Definitely, we are the best choice in town. We strive to provide the best costumer servce according to the Wyndham standards. We are sure that with our new Hard Rock Café soon to open, our guests will have another great experience.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    170
    109
    42
    28
See reviews for
76
147
39
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I just arrived inSan Jose after a 2 week trek around Costa Rica. We Wanted to spend our last two nights somewhere decent but were on a budget...

After stopping to check out both the Marriott and Double Tree we were amazed at the service, facilities and most of all the price of the Wyndham!!!

After showing our gratitude, our concierge, Keneth, even upgraded us to a suite!!

Free wifi, breakfast, beautiful room,3 pools, gym all for $160.

Well worth it.

Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your positive feedback. We would like to invite you to visit our new Hard Rock Café ( will open in two months) on your next visit. I will let kenneth know how happy you were with his service. Finally, we are very glad that you had such a fabiolous stay in our hotel.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Large tour groups use this hotel near the airport in San Jose. We stayed here on our last night in Costa Rica. It was the worst hotel of our trip. We couldn't sleep for the dozens of young folks running, yelling, screaming and slamming doors till well past mid night. This place is huge, Americanized, impersonal. Would never go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

You comments are very much appreciate it. We regret you had a bad night. Usually when that happens guest phone the front desk and we act upon the situation. We have a variety of groups among them business and students as well. Perhaps on your next visit you can enjoy our three swimming pools, casino, three restaurants and our soon to open Hard Rock Café.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here as part of a group tour (VBT) and soon discovered that many groups (including Caravan) use this hotel as their "staging area" for shoving off to different places. Wow, it is tired and unappealing but it is packed. The crazy thing is we were there during Easter week, supposedly a huge travel time throughout CR, and the hotel was not completely up and running. The pool bar was not open, the pool was dirty, there were minimal lounge chairs around the pool and the ones there were broken down and dirty. The lobby bar was not open. We then went to Tropicale Restaurant and wanted to have a drink before deciding where to eat dinner -- we could only have a seat at the back of the restaurant -- just a weird vibe all around in this place. We did eat at Tropicale and it was acceptable (that is the benefit of Low Expectations!). There is nothing around the hotel -- well, a strip mall you can escape to and have a delicious falafel at PersiaMex, believe it or not.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your experience in our hotel. I will take all your suggestions into account and follow up inmediately. Unfortunately, the pool bar is under renovations and most of the furniture around the pool in being replaced at the moment. I would like to mention that the lobby bar is open from 2pm to 2am. The location has been very convenient for our guests because of the short distance to the airport, shopping center, highaways, national parks, capital city which is around 10 minutes away ( not to mention that we are right on the highaway). Many clients have said that our hotel is an oasis in the city beacuse of our gardens , green house, three restaurants, three pools, casino, spa, the largest convention center in the country. A hard Rock Café will be open in two months so you will be able to enjoy it in your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hotel lobby welcoming & modern. Room was a mini suite with a king bed and a sofa bed in a separate living room. Walk-in closet, flat screen TV, nice bathroom with large bath - had a space for a fridge but no fridge in it - really the only thing missing in the room. No view whatsoever but we were only here to sleep so we didn't much care. (room #1123). Very clean and bed was comfy. Beautiful grounds with tons of beautiful flowers/trees everywhere - we even sneaked into a small hothouse that had a collection of orchids of which we snapped a few photos. Friendly staff. Buffet breakfast was very nice and good variety. It was fairly cool on our visit (1 night only) so did not try out the pools. Well located close to the airport. In my opinion a better hotel than the Barceló Real where we stayed on our way into CR. Did not try the hotel restaurants (other than the breakfast buffet) so not comments on the dinners.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We like to encourage you to visit us on you next trip. Hopefully this time you will have the chance to try our restaurants Sakura the best japanese food in the country, Quattro a modern design and fine italian cuisene as well as new Hard Rock Café that will open in June.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed there for one night and it was a great choice because the airport is really close and there is a shuttle bus that is very prompt, after having trouble at the airport and having my flight delayed I thought my stay was going to be the worst, at the check in there were many people checking in because there were only one person attending the front desk, when it was my turn it was a little confusing because I did not have the room I had asked for, but Kenneth the front desk recepionist did all he could to fix it and he did and gave me a better room for the misunderstanding, he made my hell of a day into a pleasant stay, the food was great I recomend the restaurant Quatros,
I´m definitely coming back next summer with some friends for vacations. I absolutely recomend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms near the restaurant, by the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Our staff is committed to the highest quality service. We very much appreciate your feedback. We are glad to know that you had such a great experience. We look forward to serving you and your friends on your next visit. Moreover, we would like to highlight the opening of our new Hard Rock Café which will open in June and it is going to be unique in the country. Also, I will let Kenneth know about your positive comments.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The reviews sum it up...nothing fancy. Impressive lobby,older rooms but OK for a night. Restaurants look like usual hotel cafeteria food producers.casino is depressing. Many locals arriving for wedding. We went across bridge to mall to eat.. Many fast food selections and some sit down restaurants. Many ATM bank machines located there too.

Pools very cold and dirty.
Good enough to overnight..set your expectations low and you will be satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for your comments. We will consider and act upon them. I wonder if you had a chance to visit our specialties restaurants which are Quattro ( one of our most modern and newest gorment italian cuisine) and Sakura ( rated the best japanese restaurant in the country). It seems that you only had the opportunity to visit Tropicala which is our cafeteria style restaurant. I mention that in two months our Hard Rock Café will be opened for good food and fun entertainment. We hope that you will have the chance to enjoy it on your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 1000 San Jose | 3 miles South from Juan Santamaria International Airport, San Antonio De Belen 71880-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a prime location just minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport, visitors to Costa Rica's capital city will find the Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center the ideal retreat, with a wealth of amenities, an idyllic setting and world-class service. With downtown San Jose just minutes away, adventurous leisure travelers will enjoy magnificent natural attractions including the Poas and Arenal volcanoes, rainforest trails and a host of splendid cultural attractions, while business travelers will appreciate the close proximity to a number of prominent business addresses and Free Zones, as well as the hotel's impressive International Conference Center, making this San Jose, Costa Rica hotel the perfect choice for all travelers. Those seeking recreation will revel in a host of activities, including three sparkling outdoor pools, a fully equipped fitness center and special privileges at the nearby prestigious Cariari Country Club and Golf Resort, with 18-holes of golf and tennis courts. Guests craving relaxation can unwind in one of five Jacuzzis, enjoy a relaxing massage in the full-service spa or a respite in the sauna, while fun-seekers will enjoy the non-stop gaming at the on-site Fiesta Casino. With three restaurants and a stylish bar offering a variety of cuisines, guests can savor a host of food and beverage options and enjoy a daily bountiful, complimentary breakfast buffet. Guests arriving into Juan Santamaria International Airport can hop aboard the convenient free shuttle service, and the 24-hour business center and complimentary Wi-Fi affords guests the opportunity to stay productive. With an on-site beauty salon, gift shop, child-care services and more, the hotel offers everything a guest could need to make their stay as comfortable and stress-free as possible. Each of the hotel's 230 over-sized, smoke-free guest rooms features contemporary styling, a unique fusion of warm and cool tones and thoughtful amenities like a flat panel TV, free Wi-Fi, plush bedding and ultra-modern air conditioning. Superior Rooms offer breathtaking views of the lush gardens, while guests upgrading to the Executive Level enjoy a 42-inch LCD TV, a private lounge, secretarial services and complimentary happy hour. All of the spacious, airy Suites feature a Jacuzzi and separate sitting area, while those wishing to indulge in ultimate pampering will delight in the Honeymoon Suite with its own private sauna or the two-bedroom Presidential Suite with full kitchen and dining room. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the state-of-the-art International Conference Center with over 28,320 square feet of meeting space. The event space ranges from an event room that accommodates up to 10 people, to the 12,800 square-foot Salon La Paz Ballroom that accommodates up to 840 people for a banquet or 110 10X10 foot exhibit booths. There is a Wyndham waiting 3 miles South from Juan Santamaria International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Herradura Hotel San Jose Metro
Ramada San Antonio De Belen
Ramada San Jose
San Jose Ramada
Plaza Herradura San Jose Ramada
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel And Convention Center Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.