We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal near the airport!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham San Jose Herradura

Save Saved
You added Wyndham San Jose Herradura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wyndham San Jose Herradura
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Autopista General Canas & San Antonio de Belen crossing, San Antonio De Belen 71880-1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best deal near the airport!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I just arrived inSan Jose after a 2 week trek around Costa Rica. We Wanted to spend our last two nights somewhere decent but were on a budget...

After stopping to check out both the Marriott and Double Tree we were amazed at the service, facilities and most of all the price of the Wyndham!!!

After showing our gratitude, our concierge, Keneth, even upgraded us to a suite!!

Free wifi, breakfast, beautiful room,3 pools, gym all for $160.

Well worth it.

Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your positive feedback. We would like to invite you to visit our new Hard Rock Café ( will open in two months) on your next visit. I will let kenneth know how happy you were with his service. Finally, we are very glad that you had such a fabiolous stay in our hotel.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    128
    84
    30
    21
See reviews for
51
116
26
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Large tour groups use this hotel near the airport in San Jose. We stayed here on our last night in Costa Rica. It was the worst hotel of our trip. We couldn't sleep for the dozens of young folks running, yelling, screaming and slamming doors till well past mid night. This place is huge, Americanized, impersonal. Would never go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

You comments are very much appreciate it. We regret you had a bad night. Usually when that happens guest phone the front desk and we act upon the situation. We have a variety of groups among them business and students as well. Perhaps on your next visit you can enjoy our three swimming pools, casino, three restaurants and our soon to open Hard Rock Café.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here as part of a group tour (VBT) and soon discovered that many groups (including Caravan) use this hotel as their "staging area" for shoving off to different places. Wow, it is tired and unappealing but it is packed. The crazy thing is we were there during Easter week, supposedly a huge travel time throughout CR, and the hotel was not completely up and running. The pool bar was not open, the pool was dirty, there were minimal lounge chairs around the pool and the ones there were broken down and dirty. The lobby bar was not open. We then went to Tropicale Restaurant and wanted to have a drink before deciding where to eat dinner -- we could only have a seat at the back of the restaurant -- just a weird vibe all around in this place. We did eat at Tropicale and it was acceptable (that is the benefit of Low Expectations!). There is nothing around the hotel -- well, a strip mall you can escape to and have a delicious falafel at PersiaMex, believe it or not.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your experience in our hotel. I will take all your suggestions into account and follow up inmediately. Unfortunately, the pool bar is under renovations and most of the furniture around the pool in being replaced at the moment. I would like to mention that the lobby bar is open from 2pm to 2am. The location has been very convenient for our guests because of the short distance to the airport, shopping center, highaways, national parks, capital city which is around 10 minutes away ( not to mention that we are right on the highaway). Many clients have said that our hotel is an oasis in the city beacuse of our gardens , green house, three restaurants, three pools, casino, spa, the largest convention center in the country. A hard Rock Café will be open in two months so you will be able to enjoy it in your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hotel lobby welcoming & modern. Room was a mini suite with a king bed and a sofa bed in a separate living room. Walk-in closet, flat screen TV, nice bathroom with large bath - had a space for a fridge but no fridge in it - really the only thing missing in the room. No view whatsoever but we were only here to sleep so we didn't much care. (room #1123). Very clean and bed was comfy. Beautiful grounds with tons of beautiful flowers/trees everywhere - we even sneaked into a small hothouse that had a collection of orchids of which we snapped a few photos. Friendly staff. Buffet breakfast was very nice and good variety. It was fairly cool on our visit (1 night only) so did not try out the pools. Well located close to the airport. In my opinion a better hotel than the Barceló Real where we stayed on our way into CR. Did not try the hotel restaurants (other than the breakfast buffet) so not comments on the dinners.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We like to encourage you to visit us on you next trip. Hopefully this time you will have the chance to try our restaurants Sakura the best japanese food in the country, Quattro a modern design and fine italian cuisene as well as new Hard Rock Café that will open in June.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed there for one night and it was a great choice because the airport is really close and there is a shuttle bus that is very prompt, after having trouble at the airport and having my flight delayed I thought my stay was going to be the worst, at the check in there were many people checking in because there were only one person attending the front desk, when it was my turn it was a little confusing because I did not have the room I had asked for, but Kenneth the front desk recepionist did all he could to fix it and he did and gave me a better room for the misunderstanding, he made my hell of a day into a pleasant stay, the food was great I recomend the restaurant Quatros,
I´m definitely coming back next summer with some friends for vacations. I absolutely recomend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms near the restaurant, by the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Our staff is committed to the highest quality service. We very much appreciate your feedback. We are glad to know that you had such a great experience. We look forward to serving you and your friends on your next visit. Moreover, we would like to highlight the opening of our new Hard Rock Café which will open in June and it is going to be unique in the country. Also, I will let Kenneth know about your positive comments.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The reviews sum it up...nothing fancy. Impressive lobby,older rooms but OK for a night. Restaurants look like usual hotel cafeteria food producers.casino is depressing. Many locals arriving for wedding. We went across bridge to mall to eat.. Many fast food selections and some sit down restaurants. Many ATM bank machines located there too.

Pools very cold and dirty.
Good enough to overnight..set your expectations low and you will be satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for your comments. We will consider and act upon them. I wonder if you had a chance to visit our specialties restaurants which are Quattro ( one of our most modern and newest gorment italian cuisine) and Sakura ( rated the best japanese restaurant in the country). It seems that you only had the opportunity to visit Tropicala which is our cafeteria style restaurant. I mention that in two months our Hard Rock Café will be opened for good food and fun entertainment. We hope that you will have the chance to enjoy it on your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I'm an employee and we travel standby, if you are coming to Costa Rica do not listen to taxi drivers at the airport- go to this Wyndham Hotel in Herraduras. Check in was excellent. You can get best tour at the hotel. Not only that check the restaurant Quatros-service and food is outstanding ask for Javier Arguello- price are great!!!

Room Tip: Room are very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham San Jose Herradura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Jose Herradura

Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Herradura Hotel
Ramada Plaza Herradura Hotel San Jose Metro
Ramada San Antonio De Belen
Ramada San Jose
San Jose Ramada
Plaza Herradura San Jose Ramada
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen
Address: Autopista General Canas & San Antonio de Belen crossing, San Antonio De Belen 71880-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham San Jose Herradura 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering refined casual luxury in a relaxing setting, The Wyndham San José – Herradura is a full-service 4 star resort, standing apart from the rest of San Jose Costa Rica hotels. Just 5 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO), and 15 minutes away from San Jose downtown, the Wyndham San José – Herradura’s location is idyllic for both business and leisure travelers.A true tropical experience coupled with Costa Rican charm, our hotel features 229 guestrooms and suites, with private terraces overlooking exotic floral gardens. As a guest, take pleasure in the hotel’s free airport shuttle service and access to Cariari Country Club’s Golf Course and Tennis Courts—just a few of the many guest perks distinguishing Wyndham San José – Herradura from the rest of San Jose airport hotels.Our open corridor hotel has 3 sparkling outdoor pools and Jacuzzis, 3 restaurants, one fashionable bar and onsite Casino. Hosting the largest convention center in the country, we enhance various occasions ranging from business seminars to spectacular weddings.With an ambiance of tranquility, the Wyndham San José – Herradura is nestled in the heart of Central Valley, overlooking a breathtaking backdrop of beautiful mountains and lush tropical gardens. With a staff committed to daily incomparable service, we encourage you to kickback and relax. Stay at the Wyndham San José – Herradura and let your worldly worries slip away, all while sitting in the breeze under a palm tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wyndham San Jose Herradura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham San Jose Herradura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.