We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Close to Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse

Save Saved
You added El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Intersection betwen mail road of San Antonio de Belen to Lindora, Santana, San Antonio De Belen 494005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet and Close to Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We chose this hotel for our last night in Costa Rica due to its proximity to the airport. It was very quiet despite this fact!

The rooms were spacious and clean, and the complimentary breakfast had a great selection. The grounds are beautifully landscaped.

The restaurant was large, clean and had a great selection of menu items at fairly reasonable prices. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    30
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
36
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex/London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I feel like I can't review much as we arrived quite late at night and left early morning but the room was large and clean and breakfast was very good. Reasonably close to airport. One negative was that the 2 young men at reception when we arrived weren't that helpful and only really pointed us in the general direction of our room and we ended up wandering with our heavy packs for a while trying to find it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We chose this classic hotel to be close to the airport for our last night (but not close to anything else). The parklike setting with tennis court, pool and steakhouse (worthwhile experience) was very relaxing and convenient for our last day in Costa Rica. Breakfast was included with a great selection of rice and beans, eggs, plantain, pancakes, bread/toast, juice, coffee but no tea. Can't expect everything! It was very convenient to have ramps for access to our second floor room. It was huge with beautiful wood floors, fridge, coffee maker, flat panel TV. No microwave and WIFI in the room. WIFI in lobby was also poor but were advised that the system was being upgraded soon. The bathroom was also huge but strange, no shower curtain (see photo). Metered taxi ride to airport in the morning should cost about $15+tip. Sadly, Costa Rica certainly has changed with prices close to North American prices for everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend the night before leaving Costa Rica. It's a very quick drive to the airport - only 15 minutes or so. Our standard room was spacious and clean and the beds were firm and comfortable. The one inconvenience is that if you don't have a car and don't feel like eating at the steakhouse (which we thought to be rather expensive), there aren't many food options in walking distance. However, the highway in Santa Ana is about 5 minutes away and easily accessible by cab and the hotel has a map of restaurants on that strip.

We booked through Expedia and got breakfast included in our rate, which was a small buffet of toast, cereal, fruit, coffee and juice, plus one of three options to choose from - omelet, pancakes, or a traditional breakfast (presumably rice and beans and eggs). We both opted for the omelet which was a bit weird - it was stuffed with sausage, bacon, and a strange salsa - but everything else was fine.

Great value for the price and the nicest room we had in Costa Rica. The only suggestion would be to include a hair dryer in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nr. London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The steak itself was perfection, a lovely succulent cut of meat cooked beautifully.
But undermined by the poor quality of various other bits accompanying the meat. There was a gloopy substance masquerading as mushroom sauce to complement my partner’s steak. Tasted horrible, and I’d be surprised if this sauce had ever encountered a real mushroom.
The fries were in a distressed state, just about lukewarm, obviously been left standing around for too long. The dressing on the salad was some synthetic drizzle, just offensive to the palate.
In summary, the restaurant delivers fantastically on its main product, the steak. The rest, forget it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We spent two nights here - one after arriving from the US, the other before departing. The hotel is very convenient to the airport. Very clean. Nice rooms. Great breakfast. San Jose was not our final destination so I can't say how well the hotel would work if your plan was to visit San Jose. There is not much - that I could see - in the neighborhood. However, it worked very well for us an entry and departure point and far exceeded my expectations. There is a nice restaurant onsite, a game room, good internet access in the game room area.

Room Tip: Inner rooms look out at courtyard garden. Outer rooms look out at mountains. Either is pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had two one-night stays at El Rodeo Country Inn during our recent trip to Costa Rica - one after flying in from the UK and one in between the Tortuguero and Arenal legs of our trip.

The hotel is about a fifteen-minute ride from the main Juan Santamaria airport in Alajuela, near San Jose. On each occasion our room was spacious and the bed was firm and comfortable, although the decor was slightly sparse and it was hard (though achievable, eventually) to control temperature and flow in the showers.

There are two main selling points of El Rodeo. One is the spread-out aspect - corridors between rooms are covered but open-sided, there is a leisure area with a pool table, football table and PCs which is also open-sided, and a separate gym, outdoor pool and tennis court. This is a nice contrast to the blocky Holiday Inn-type alternatives.

The other advantage is the outstanding steakhouse next door, from which the property probably gets its name. We had a quick bowl of soup there on our first night (a buzzy Saturday) and the full bisteca con fritas on the second occasion (a very quiet Wednesday). One of the best steaks I've had outside Argentina. It's highly recommended.

The hotel had no problem handling a 9.30pm nor a 3.30pm check-in - our room was ready both times. On the first occasion we left at 5.45am and the hotel was able to provide a packed breakfast - the buffet breakfast on the second occasion was very nice, including homemade pineapple jam, without being overwhelmingly varied.

The hotel offers free wifi though I found this to be patchy late at night.

On our last afternoon, as we waited for a pickup, the hotel had no problem with us sunbathing by the pool for an hour despite our not being strictly 'checked-in' guests by then.

Overall a good alternative to the usual chain places.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse

Address: Intersection betwen mail road of San Antonio de Belen to Lindora, Santana, San Antonio De Belen 494005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Rodeo Country Inn is a Four Star charming hotel, warm,plus exceptional service in a Natural and peaceful enviorment.Is conveniently located 10 minutes away from International Airport, and in the heart of the bustling Santa Ana / San Antonio de Belen business and high enf residential district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Rodeo Country San Antonio De Belen
Country Inn San Antonio De Belen
San Antonio De Belen Country Inn
El Rodeo Country Hotel
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.