We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"WOW"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   100 Meters South, 100 Meters West Conference Center Wyndham Herradura Hotel | Cariari #28, San Antonio De Belen 114-4003, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"WOW"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

After a very stressful trip getting to costa rica [ missed connections and such] I was very lucky to arrive at Terrazas de Golf where I was to meet my friend and brother. As soon as Cecilla welcomed me in the stress just melted away. We went on to have a great Costa Rica experience and it began and ended at Terrazas de Golf. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
29
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Perfectly located for your first and/or last night in San Jose, this small hotel/B&B is only a few miles from the SJO airport. Owned and designed by a most accommodating family, the owners are a wealth of information and offer personalized service in an immaculate setting.

The rooms are comfortable, large and beautifully appointed. Some of the rooms have a private terrace. I would suggest asking for one of the rooms with AC as there are no screens on the doors or windows. Room rates include free wireless, breakfast delivered to your room, shuttle service to/from the airport and complimentary passes to the golf club.

The veranda, in the main area of the house, is lovely with a view of the golf course.

This hotel, open for only a few months, is a hidden gem. Thank you Cecilia and the rest of the family for your beautiful accommodations and your sincere hospitality. we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

After living for 40 years in the same house and raising a family, it’s not unusual for a couple in their golden years to decide to downsize and move to the country.

And Cecilia and Mario have done that. Their two children have long since married, moved out, and now have kids of their own.

But rather than sell their original home, the couple decided to give it a new life as a boutique hotel and bed and breakfast in Costa Rica’s Central Valley. What helped smoothed the transition is the fact their son-in-law just happens to be an architect.

And so, west of the hustle and bustle of the capital of San Jose, on a quiet street in the upscale neighborhood of Cariari, behind a trellis festooned with fuchsia bougainvillea, sits a gem of a place – Las Terrazas de Golf.

My husband and I found it quite by accident. We walked down the wrong street on our way back from a bus trip into town and admired the open concept of one of the houses. Two steps more and we saw a sign describing the house as a hotel. We walked through the front gate and asked the kindly woman in the front room for more information.

This was the beginning of our adventure with Cecilia and her family.

One by one, she took us on a guided tour of all ten rooms. Each is elegant – decorated with white linens, accented by silk runners and pillows of orange and green. All are spacious. A few boast their own private garden terrace.

Two days later, we checked out of our other accommodation and into Las Terrazas. We were the only guests – which meant the gorgeous buffet breakfast, laid out lovingly by cook Ana, was ALL for us! We chose gallo pinto with eggs the first morning, and pancakes the next.

The morning is a particularly wonderful time to sit on the back terrace and watch how the sun begins to rise over the tall trees of the adjoining golf course. Birds call back and forth, and the sound of the water feature in the house’s central courtyard garden casts a hypnotic spell. The gardener disappears around the back and returns a minute later carrying a bunch of bananas, freshly picked from one of the nearby trees. Only in Costa Rica!

Beyond the beauty of the natural surroundings, the architectural details accented with glass, wood and natural stone, the quality of the furnishings and the fresh authenticity of the food, the thing that stands out most for us is the friendliness and genuine care of the owners. Cecilia is a wonderful hostess, great talker, and a former Costa Rican tennis champion who also teaches French. Her husband is a retired coffee farmer who spends his days walking and keeping up with his grandchildren. One afternoon, he led us on a brisk journey along the paths within the golf course, past two lakes and up to the Cariari club house. His granddaughter signed me in, produced a towel, and within minutes, I was swimming in the club’s near-empty outdoor Olympic-sized pool.

This is definitely not your typical “hotel”.

Come to rest, relax, heal, and think. Come to learn, eat and exercise. Come to experience the warmth of a wonderful Costa Rican family. Come all this way to feel right at home.

Room rates in the high season range between $100 to 125 per night, plus tax.

Website (in Spanish): www.terrazasdegolf.com

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

My husband & I just returned from our first trip to Costa Rica. We were forced to change our plans at the last minute to stay in San Jose. Our wonderful taxi driver, Juan, took us to Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel where we met the owner, Cecilia. She made us feel so welcome, the hotel is just beautiful, & we truly felt right at home. The breakfasts were delicious as well. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Located close to airport, with shuttle service and amenities supplied, makes not only a great o'night - but a wonderful base of operations for other adventures in CR. Hosts are more that helpful in sourcing these adventures and making the arrangements.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

My cousin and I stayed at the Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel briefly ,before leaving Costa Rica. After spending 10 days on the Osa Peninsula it was a refreshing stop on the way to the airport. Transportation to the airport was very convient. More than anything the owners are very friendly as they welcome you into what was once their home and now a lovely small hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We were three couples who stayed at the Terrazas de Golf on arrival and departure nights into Costa Rica on our way to the Osa Peninsula. We had already prearranged transfers to and from the airport but they would have provided that free service for us.
Cecilia, Irene and Jeffrey welcomed us with open arms into their beautiful home which has been transformed into a wonderful B & B. We were shown to our rooms and then served fresh fruit and drinks which we enjoyed on the terrace overlooking the gardens and golf course.
The rooms are spacious with very comfortable beds, private bathrooms, TV, minibar, safety box, hair dryers, telephones, etc. It is in a very quiet area so there is nothing to disturb a great sleep!
There was a delicious breakfast of eggs, beans and rice, toast, cereal, fresh fruit and juice, coffee which was prepared by Anna.
It would be a great base for a longer stay in the area and the owners have a wealth of knowledge of things to do. Guests have access to the Cariari Golf Course and Country Club where there is a swimming pool, tennis courts, fitness center and other amenities.
When we return to Costa Rica we will definitely stay at the Terrazas de Golf - it is a special place with special people. Muchas Gracias!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel

Address: 100 Meters South, 100 Meters West Conference Center Wyndham Herradura Hotel | Cariari #28, San Antonio De Belen 114-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable and elegant rooms in a familiar ambiance and lush nature.Our goal is to make your visit,a wonderful hotel experience. You will arrive as a guest and you will leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrazas De Golf Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.