We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy and wonderful stopping place on the way in and out of costa rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates from $89
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fruita, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Easy and wonderful stopping place on the way in and out of costa rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We needed a place to stay for a night on the way in and another before leaving. This was a 10 minute, $15 cab ride from the main airport. The rooms were wonderful, clean and quiet. The restaurant was good but the food and alcohol were San Diego prices. didn't expect that in central America. You'll get a better room rate if you just show up vs. booking on Expedia.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    304
    98
    37
    23
See reviews for
140
246
40
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Business trip followed by a couple of vacation days. Experience was wonderful. Great hotel. Breakfast included in room rate was absolutely wonderful! I would recommend this hotel without reservation. Above and beyond the hotel amenities, it is only a 5 minute walk to a beautiful grocery store and several restaurants. I was able to book personal tours for my free days on the evening of my arrival. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pouch Cove, Canada
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

One night on the way out of Costa Rica. Lovely large hotel with central courtyard. Good service at reception, bright, modern clean room. Did not use the pool as it was overcast so we got massages. While there was an issue in discovering if I had to pay cash or could charge room it all, got sorted and it was a very good massage. The lunch in the bar was bland but filling, the mojitos middling.
It did not stop my friends from closing the bar at three to make a 6:00 am flight. Bet I feel better than them now. Also FYI there is an exit tax at the airport that I managed to ignore until getting on the plane. They say there are signs but I missed them.

Room Tip: Free wifi in lobby $10 for your room, ridiculous. Long halls, ask for something close to reception l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everyone here is so accommodating. The facility is clean and the staff is very nice. I was most impressed that when I left some important items in The hotel transport that they went out of the way to make sure that I got them. It would be a pleasure to be here again!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed at this hotel on our last night in country before heading back stateside. We were all tired after the drive over from the coast and just wanted a hot shower and cool bed before our early wake-up the next morning. The rooms, staff and rates were excellent and highly recommended. Our only issue was our dining experience. After getting cleaned up we didn't even want to leave the property so the five of us got a table at the on-site restaurant and then waited forever for our server, waited for drinks, had to ask repeatedly for this or that, to only be disappointed with the overall quality of the food...especially given our expectation for a Hilton location. The burger meat was lost on a bun 3 times to big and the steaks were very suspect. This was by far the worst food of our nine day trip.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pila, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

close to the airport - ca 15-20 minutes by car (cost 15-20 USD); friendly staff, good breakfast - big choice; clean rooms ! good cleaning serrvice missing free of charge shuttle bus to the airport ; overcrowded breakfast room when groups are there and conferences&meetimgs;

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Georgia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great hotel with all the amenities. Near the airport and near the city. Very nice staff and great food. Quiet. Rooms are large and comfortable. My number one choice in San Jose. This hotel has everything. A casino, gift shop. Pool. Bar and restaurant.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Address: Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, rustic and luxurious, the DoubleTree Cariari by Hilton brings modern day opulence to Costa Rica's capital city. A heavenly urban retreat with spacious guestrooms, a sparkling swimming pool and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hilton Hotels so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cariari By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
Doubletree San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.