We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNSAFE! Do not stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$89 (USD)
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“UNSAFE! Do not stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed only one night to fly out early the next morning... one night too many if you ask me! Upon arrival we were greeted nicely by the doorman, our room wasnt ready since we were slightly early, so we stored our bags with the front desk and hit the pool. The pool had a nice bar area and was very clean, but the noise was not ideal. It being so close to the airport you got a lot of that traffic noise. After settling in, we decided to head into the old city to check things out, the conceirge informed us it was SAFE to take the public bus down and back since it would be considerably less expensive then a taxi. We had no problems, and arrived back before sunset and decided to go to the Hardrock Cafe for dinner which happened to be a block and a half from the hotel. Ate dinner, which was greasy and not good at all unfortunately (but that's for another review), and decided to walk back to hotel. Just out of site from the Hardrock two men in hoodies approached us on the unlit sidewalk, put a gun in my face and demanded all of our money! We gave them what they wanted and we ran back to the Hardrock! The manager there was very attentive, called the local police and the hotel to send a shuttle for us. He informed us at this time that this has been happening a lot lately, and that the wait staff was frequently being robbed as they got off work! Would have been nice to know right? Once we got back to the hotel, we spoke breifly to the police who didnt seem remotely interested in speaking to us.Hotel management also spoke with us at this time to see if they could do anything. My boyfriend proceded to ask them if this sort of thing happened frequently, they were hesitant to reply honestly, and finally answered "yes, this is a bad part of of town". Again, would have been nice to know right? Dont tell your guests its safe to travel without an escort if its not! Be HONEST with your guests, we would have been ok if you told us "to be careful at night, definitely call a shuttle". But instead we got robbed, at gunpoint! Its scary to think what could have happened, and I hope this doesnt happen to anyone else! BE AWARE of your surroundings, and ask questions!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies. We take all comments we receive from our guests very seriously and your suggestions will help us improve guest safety at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose . Again, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. If we can help in any way, please feel free to contact us. Carolina Salazar, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    269
    87
    35
    22
See reviews for
122
219
36
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

First night there I was assigned a room on the 1st floor which had no functional windows nor external air circulation. The room was musty and smelly to the point I could taste the smell. The floors were sticky with damp film of moisture. Upon seeing the room I immedeately returned to the main desk to get another room and unfortunately the hotel was sold out. I couldn't sleep that night due to the smell, the pillows and linens smell musty like an old locker room. The staff was polite and appologetic, and they did upon my request move me to a 2nd floor room with functional windows the next day. Bottom line rm #1108 should not be for rent for any price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of your experience with your guest room. At DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose, we often utilize guest reviews to help us improve our hotel operations. We’ve reviewed your feedback with our hotel team and are now actively taking steps to freshen our guestrooms. We appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel and look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Costa Rica. Carolina Salazar, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sospel, France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Double Tree is a bit faded and could do with a refresh, but overall it's a comfortable and rather bland, US mi-range chain hotel. Staff are generally very kind and helpful, though I found reception staff to be a bit cold and officious. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, with those awful little coffee percolators that deliver flavorless black water, no matter how hard you try to squeeze some value out of the coffee bags. Don't go looking for a decent cup of coffee in the restaurant either - more black water. Quantity matters here more than quality. 'Another cup of coffee?' Perhaps not. Mercifully real coffee can be found in the lobby.

During my five day (conference) stay, the lobby featured a rather cheesy display about the upcoming Oscars. Guests were invited to vote for their favorite stars and films. This should tell you all you need to know about the DoubleTree.

Conference facilities are OK, though the plenary area (the ballroom) is windowless.

The pool is huge and well maintained.

Food is mediocre. Vegetarians will not find their joy here. Wine is served in plastic cups if you want a drink by the pool. How tacky can you get?

Overall a pleasant, comfortable hotel. If you are looking for some real Costa Rican character and style, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the pool have balconies, but can be a bit noisy if kids are around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your insight on your recent experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose-Costa Rica. We’re very sorry that some of our services didn’t meet your expectations and we’re taking your recommendation to improve them. Our guest reviews give us valuable information to deliver the best dining experience possible, and we appreciate your feedback. Please visit us again the next time you’re in Costa Rica, and tell us how we’re doing. Thank you. Carolina Salazar, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHelmut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I was doing my second marriage there, and later stay over night. Absolute everything was great. Service was very good and the room was great and very high quality. The whole party was payed by my father in law. so I not can say anything about the prices, but this is a first class hotel, so everything had his price too.
Well, we not have enough time to enjoying ever single possibility (like spa, etc.), just looking around, and really found nothing to grump!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
It was a pleasure to host your important event. We look forward to sharing many more of your special moments. Thanks again! Carolina Salazar, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Having visited Costa Rica a number of years ago, this trip to San Jose was mostly to see some of the highlights of the city. We had stayed at the Hampton by the airport previously, so I decided to try the seemingly more resort-like DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari.

I was initially assigned a nice two-room junior suite at a quiet end of the hotel near the fitness room and spa. But since it was on the first floor and faced upon an outside side street, I decided to ask for a change. Although the hotel was apparently close to fully booked, the front desk staff were gracious and accommodating in finding a room on the upper floor which faced into the pool area. It had a nice balcony, but they apologized for not being able to find an available upgraded room. The room was actually totally great!

A quick tour of the hotel turned up an ATM on property, a well-equipped fitness facility, casino, spacious open-air restaurant and an inviting large swimming pool. It was the latter which called me by name to have a swim, and then a nice poolside beverage and lunch filled out most of the afternoon. I found specialty restaurants, bars, a shopping mall, grocery and liquor stores, a food court and several nice boutique shops all within easy walking distance. It was simple to purchase my coffee beans to take home, handmade candies, gifts and souvenirs without having to venture far from the hotel.

Their breakfast buffet was amazing...all you could want and more! But as with all good buffets, I hated (but needed) to stop eating. The hotel shuttle can be reserved to take you directly to the airport for a reasonable fee...unlike being terribly overcharged on the taxi ride from the airport to hotel! And just a suggestion...pay your exit tax at the hotel and for a few dollars more you can avoid the long lines at the airport!

But there was a huge downside to staying at the DoubleTree Cariari. It was fun to just hang by the pool, eat, drink, work out and catch a few rays of sun :-) So I really never left the property except to browse the nearby mall, buy a few groceries and shop for the items to take home! That means I'll just have to book a return trip to actually see the highlights of San Jose...lol :-)

Room Tip: Better to face the pool of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thanks for staying here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose-Costa Rica. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We look forward to welcoming you back. Carolina Salazar, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My stay at the DoubleTree was set up by International Expeditions as the first night of an eight-day tour of Costa Rica. The hotel was conveniently near the San José airport where we landed in the morning and left for Tortuguera National Park the following morning. A bus stop right outside the hotel made it convenient to get into San José. We took a taxi to return. There are several restaurants to choose from within easy walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

* Pros
- Room has a Bible in the drawer
- Very spacious rooms (1.5 times bigger than a regular US hotel room)
- Nice Bathroom
- Bed/pillows is above average
- A really nice lobby
- 10 minutes from the airport (Taxi US$20)

* Cons
- Very overpriced hotel.
- Wireless internet isn't included - $10/day - very expensive
- Poorly caulked room doors. Noise from people in the corridors might be annoying.
- Has no shuttle to the airport
- Room feels a little empty. Very scarce furniture. No couch in such a big room.
- Breakfast is very expensive.
- Far from downtown San Jose (Taxi US$ 23 one way)


NOTE: Plan to arrive to the SJO airport in well in advance. Very disorganized airport, Must pay Customs Fee (US$ 29) BEFORE checking in. No signs indicating it, so you can loose time in the line to check in to find that you have to walk to the other side of the airport to pay the fee. Security is impossibly long, takes lots of time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your honest review of your recent stay. At DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose, we like to provide a personalized experience for each of our guests, but also look for ways to keep costs low while providing comfort and convenience. We appreciate your feedback and we’ll keep it in mind as we work to make our services better. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Address: Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, rustic and luxurious, the DoubleTree Cariari by Hilton brings modern day opulence to Costa Rica's capital city. A heavenly urban retreat with spacious guestrooms, a sparkling swimming pool and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cariari By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
Doubletree San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.