We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect start to a Costa Rica Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates from $79
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Another perfect start to a Costa Rica Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is the perfect launch and landing point for your costa rica adventure. Location is close to airport, but with good places to eat nearby.

Service is great and staff have remembered me from previous visits. They make me feel welcome.

I will keep staying here on my trips to costa rica.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to send us the great review. We hope to see you again soon at the
Doubletree by Hilton Cariari San Jose! Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    255
    81
    35
    20
See reviews for
116
212
33
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our second trip to Costa Rica. We stayed here upon our arrival from the airport. BTW!! Wow what an upgrade of the airport since our first visit about nine years ago. Hotel is a very short cab ride from airport. The lobby, grounds, pool area and rooms are wonderful. Breakfast in the restaurant by pool is beautiful and delicious. Of course there is a chef to tailor make your omelet for you, very accommodating wait staff. No down time for them, my coffee never got cold!!! I love the house shoes in the room. The young lady in the casino was very helpful to me one night when I was trying to figure out money to go in the slot. The most impressive thing of all is the pool area. The gentleman that works this area keeps it immaculate. He arranges every chaise lounge perfectly, picks up every leaf, gives you towels with a smile. I have never seen such pride in doing a job to perfection. It appears that there are many people who stay in this hotel during the winter months of the northern part of the US. Upon visiting these snowbirds, they tell me the pool gentleman has been at the hotel for many years. When we returned to stay at the hotel to prepare to return home, we received the same excellent service etc and we watched the gentleman pay very close attention to every detail of his pool. Ahhhhh, if everyone did their job this way!!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Doubletree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. I’m happy to hear that all our staff made your stay more comfortable, because we know it’s the little things that make your stay more pleasant. We look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to San Jose area. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

OK place but location is bad for site seeing! Just use this hotel as an airport flop house!! Friends or Family visiting at the hotel will each be charged an additional $50 entrance fee!! No exceptions!! All Friends or Family Members visiting you will be treated like hookers!!! Very embarrassing!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We appreciate your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We see that you were unhappy with some of the charges, and we apologize if the charges weren’t clear when you booked the room. We work hard to personalize each guest's experience and try to keep costs affordable. Your review helps us maintain a focus on both of those areas. Thank you again for your review. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel and staff were excellent. Location is close to the business parks. I have noticed while you are working during the day, your family can enjoy the hotel's amenities. So come and enjoy Costa Rica. Very Nice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Your comments about your stay at Doubletree by Hilton Cariari San Jose made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). Hope to see you again soon, Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Booked room with one bed but got bumped into a half-empty room with two doubles. No table, had to eat on the bed. Missing hairdryer, no robes, no slippers, nothing that made it special for such an occasion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you give us another opportunity and stay with us again soon. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We discovered this hotel while on a Travel Agent Educational Trip to Costa Rica last week. It was our home away from home the first and last night of the trip, and we absolutely LOVED it! Awesome accommodations (standard room with two queen beds the first night, upgraded pool access room the last night), beautiful public spaces (loved how all of them flowed one right into the next), excellent spa and fitness center areas (did not utilize but will the next time), outstanding food and beverage service at the main restaurant overlooking the pool area (we did not have time to enjoy the pool, as it rained the day we arrived, and by the time we go to the hotel the night before we left, it was already dark), and the people we were exposed to fully embraced the "Pura Vida" vibe. We will definitely consider it again when visiting this amazing country!

Room Tip: The property is very spread out, so if you have a physical handicap (whether permanent or temporary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Doubletree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. I’m happy to hear that our service and our great amenities made your stay more comfortable. We look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to San Jose area. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

1970 ish open concept hotel. Despite being a HHonors member I was given a road side lower level room, that was noisy even though the windows wouldn't open. Food fair, in open pool side restaurant - which is surprisingly dark and dreary.
Didn't go in but odd looking casino on hallway to pool area. Staff tried to make up for dreary surroundings.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us and that we were not able to provide you with and exceptional stay. I was especially disappointed to read from your review that our staff did not provide you the professional and courteous treatment you deserve. I can assure you this is very unusual to happen and I’ve made sure to personally speak to our staff regarding your comments. We make every effort to respect our guests and I truly apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused.

Again, I apologize if you went through any inconveniences and hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location again. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Address: Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, rustic and luxurious, the DoubleTree Cariari by Hilton brings modern day opulence to Costa Rica's capital city. A heavenly urban retreat with spacious guestrooms, a sparkling swimming pool and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cariari By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
Doubletree San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.