We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates from $79
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on my way in/out of Costa Rica and it was really convenient. Only a 5-10 minute taxi drive from the airport (about $12 metered), the pool area is a perfect place to relax. We ate at the pizza place down the street and got breakfast food from the grocery store a 2 minute walk away. Luckily no charge for the Internet. One word of advice- if you use the flat rate taxis ready at the hotel, it may be a higher cost. They quoted us $25 to go into town for dinner, but when we asked them to call us a metered taxi instead, it only cost $14.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    255
    81
    35
    20
See reviews for
116
212
33
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights from July 7 to July 13. By the second day every staff member we came in contact with was welcoming & friendly & warm. They made you feel that they knew you forever & you were a friend. The hotel give you a tropical resort feel in a major city. The hotel is spotless cleanliness is obviously #1. Restaurants are good not great but Orlando makes it special he does everything. The bar adjoining super Eddie is fabulous. The proximity to the airport is good. My compliments to hotel Management your staff is happy & wants the hotel to do well. If we return to Costa Rica guess where we're going to stay. Pleas try the hotel it's worth it!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Your comments about your stay at Doubletree by Hilton Cariari San Jose made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location) and I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Orlando was helpful! I’ll be sure to share your comments with them. See you soon! Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery,AL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here for a conference, and liked it well-enough to return. Staff were very attentive and friendly, the facility was extremely well-maintained, and the price was extremely reasonable. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Views from some 2nd floor rooms are good. Restaurant breakfast is excellent; bar is good. Eat dinner and lunch somewhere else. Many nearby restaurants are better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your honest review of your recent stay. At DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose, we like to provide a personalized experience for each of our guests, but also look for ways to keep costs low while providing comfort and convenience. We appreciate your feedback and we’ll keep it in mind as we work to make our services better. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel over 20 times over the last 6 years. It seems to get better each time. It may be old but has a real local feel. The staff is always very helpful. Love the spa and pool area. It would help if they had a spinner for your bathing suit since it is difficult to dry anything in the humid climate. Internet has gotten much better also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose! So glad you were able to experience our authentic hospitality. We look forward to seeing you soon. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great hotel, has all the amenities you want. I was here on business and had a few sressful days. Staff recommended the spa treatment - I had an hour long massage and it was very relaxing. I recommend eating at the bar, Eddie will take good care of you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to send us the great review. We hope to see you again soon at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose! Margie Aristy Almonte, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, room was clean the bed was comfortable, very friendly service (room and restaurant), pool area very nice, excellent breakfast selection, we had lunch twice and both times the food and service was excellent.
We booked a tour from the hotel to the rain forest and had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Your comments about your stay at Doubletree by Hilton Cariari made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). Hope to see you again soon! Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for one night whilst travelling around costa rica. Decent room although nothing that really stands out, although I liked the usual doubletree warm cookie welcome.

Free business centre and wifi was good.

Nice pool area, although food and beverage was overpriced. Pool table and nice little casino. Didn't use the gym but it looked ok.

Clean and smart looking hotel

Only sore point was being woken at 7am on saturday morning by machinery in the car park opposite the hotel. The car park is part of the supermarket I think. The gardeners industrial leaf blower meant my lie in was cancelled. Dont get a room opposite the car park.

Decent bar and some food options in the little complex over the road from the hotel.

Very convenient for international airport.

One other thing, meter taxi was cheaper for,me than the hotel airport shuttle.

Room Tip: Dont get a room that overlooks the supermarket car park, very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of your past stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. We hope you’ll consider staying with us again the next time you’re in San Jose. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Address: Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, rustic and luxurious, the DoubleTree Cariari by Hilton brings modern day opulence to Costa Rica's capital city. A heavenly urban retreat with spacious guestrooms, a sparkling swimming pool and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cariari By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
Doubletree San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.