We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God Rooms and Service. Poor Food. Transportation company are crooks!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates from $79
hillsboro, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“God Rooms and Service. Poor Food. Transportation company are crooks!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Don't expect anything about food quality. It is overprices and really bad. The burger is half the size of the bun. The Calamari are clustered with onion rings. The salads are soggy with dressing and very small. The worse part is dealing the transportation company that handles the "free" shuttle. What a hassle and pain. they are crooks!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed with a few issues and sincerely apologize for this. I am sorry if you found our food quality to be sup-par. We are always listening to our guests and I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve the quality and selection of our offerings.
We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide with everything you are accustomed to receive. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.
Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    250
    78
    33
    20
See reviews for
107
210
31
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The room was nice with lots of space, nice pool, business center was available and I was able to get a rental car and book tours right at the hotel. A little ways away from downtown San Jose but taxis are available. The food was very good but a little pricey. Overall our stay was very nice. However I set up laundry service and they never picked up and their wifi signal was poor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose! So glad you were able to experience our authentic hospitality. We look forward to seeing you soon. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have stayed at doubletree a few times on my way to and from the airport in Costa Rica. The staff is great and the hotel has a very nice ambiance. It's total luxury with a feeling of being partly outside and close to nature in the city. The beds are so comfortable. The pool is fantastic as well as the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. Your comments about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). Hope to see you again soon! Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The internet service is very very poor. Only the lobby has service. The bathroom amenities were very poor.
The hotel is 20 minutes from San Jose. A $20 taxi ride each way. The hotel restaurant is not bad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I am terribly sorry that your experience at our hotel was disappointing. Your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team for immediate action.
I would very much like the opportunity to personally apologize for the inconveniences that you went through during your stay. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your feedback and are truly sorry we did not succeed creating a memorable experience for you. Should you desire to further discuss your visit, please feel free to contact me. I would love the opportunity to earn your business and have you stay with us again. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

During the week of Easter, I had a 5-day business trip to San Jose, Costa Rica. On this trip, I splurged a few extra dollars to bring my wife and son with me. The DoubleTree Cariari is only 10 minutes from the airport (or $12 taxi). It is 25 minutes from downtown San Jose (or $22). The hotel is open and airy with great sized rooms for international travel. The staff is extremely helpful, speaks great English and went over the top to make sure our stay was a good one.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room that has a balcony overlooking the swim-up pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Good hotel for business traveler. Close to major businesses and has scheduled shuttle service to them. Well maintained gym, pool, and food is good at restaurants.

Schedule shuttle each day prior and the earlier you go the better. Traffic after 8am becomes a problem.

Room Tip: Request a room with a strong WIFI signal, rooms toward the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose! I’m so glad you were able to experience our warm hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our family stayed here for our last night in Costa Rica. Coming from the dusty back roads of Guanacaste, we were excited to see the beautifully appointed lobby. From there, however, our experience went downhill. An aging, bland room, and many little things not working. Couldn't get the water temperature right, the wake-up call didn't work, the pool had no depth measures posted, it took half an hour to get a drink from the bar, super expensive restaurant...on and on. they really need to work on the little things. Stay at the Hampton Inn instead, it's much, much better.

Room Tip: stay at the Hampton Inn instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
On behalf of the management and staff of our hotel I would like to thank you for your recent stay with us.
We are pleased that your impression of our hotel were up to or exceeded your expectations. We are however disappointed to learn you were disappointed with the condition of your room and that you had some problems getting warm water was not up to your expectations.
Please be assured that your valuable comments will be shared with my team as we continue to strive to improve upon our offerings.
Thank you once more for your review and we do hope that we may welcome you again at our beautiful hotel. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Address: Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, rustic and luxurious, the DoubleTree Cariari by Hilton brings modern day opulence to Costa Rica's capital city. A heavenly urban retreat with spacious guestrooms, a sparkling swimming pool and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cariari By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
Doubletree San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.