We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice open hotel, convenient location and phenomenal service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates from $79
Harrisburg, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice open hotel, convenient location and phenomenal service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

During the week of Easter, I had a 5-day business trip to San Jose, Costa Rica. On this trip, I splurged a few extra dollars to bring my wife and son with me. The DoubleTree Cariari is only 10 minutes from the airport (or $12 taxi). It is 25 minutes from downtown San Jose (or $22). The hotel is open and airy with great sized rooms for international travel. The staff is extremely helpful, speaks great English and went over the top to make sure our stay was a good one.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room that has a balcony overlooking the swim-up pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    248
    78
    33
    20
See reviews for
107
209
31
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Good hotel for business traveler. Close to major businesses and has scheduled shuttle service to them. Well maintained gym, pool, and food is good at restaurants.

Schedule shuttle each day prior and the earlier you go the better. Traffic after 8am becomes a problem.

Room Tip: Request a room with a strong WIFI signal, rooms toward the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose! I’m so glad you were able to experience our warm hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our family stayed here for our last night in Costa Rica. Coming from the dusty back roads of Guanacaste, we were excited to see the beautifully appointed lobby. From there, however, our experience went downhill. An aging, bland room, and many little things not working. Couldn't get the water temperature right, the wake-up call didn't work, the pool had no depth measures posted, it took half an hour to get a drink from the bar, super expensive restaurant...on and on. they really need to work on the little things. Stay at the Hampton Inn instead, it's much, much better.

Room Tip: stay at the Hampton Inn instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
On behalf of the management and staff of our hotel I would like to thank you for your recent stay with us.
We are pleased that your impression of our hotel were up to or exceeded your expectations. We are however disappointed to learn you were disappointed with the condition of your room and that you had some problems getting warm water was not up to your expectations.
Please be assured that your valuable comments will be shared with my team as we continue to strive to improve upon our offerings.
Thank you once more for your review and we do hope that we may welcome you again at our beautiful hotel. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I just got back from staying at Double Tree by Hilton in Cariari San Jose Costa Rica. This hotel should be rated as a five star Hotel. The staff at the reception, Kevin, Max, Juan and Karina are absolutely superb professionals, world class customer service professionals who truly care about the guest at the hotel and who are truly at the top of their game. I traveled with my 8 year old daughter and they went above and beyond to make us feel at home. The morning and evening restaurant staff are also superb and extremely attentive to every last detail while you dine in elegance and splendor. The food is EXCELLENT! I only had breakfast and late dinners at the hotel but I'm positive that the service is also world class. The pools were spotlessly clean as were the hotel grounds and the rooms where I stayed. The beds were super comfortable. Even the cleaning staff always had a smile whenever I encountered them. I wish I had obtained the names of the restaurant staff because they were world class restaurant staff! Make no mistake about it, the Double Tree by Hilton at Cariari in San Jose is a Beautiful and excellent hotel but the heart and soul of the place are people like Kevin, Max, Juan, Karina and everyone who works at this magnificent property! Thank you. I will be staying at the Duoble Tree by Hilton in Cariari every time I have the chance. Harry C.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Your comments about your stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). Hope to see you again soon, Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Double Tree to start and end our vacation to Costa Rica. On our first night we found the facility to be extremely beautiful. The grounds are wonderful, the public areas are sparkling and we found the front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. We had rented an Executive room with a balcony, club access for end of day cocktails, and Continental breakfast. It was a little disappointing that they were doing construction on the room next doo, and dinner was at best mediocre. My wife ordered an appetizer that was not available, and the menu selections were half of what was on the in room menu.

When we returned 11 days later it was even more disappointing. We were told that we didn't get breakfast (that issue was resolve), the made no mention of the Executive room, and although we were able to pay our exit fees at the front desk, they delivered our papers (with our passport numbers shown) to another room (fortunately it was NOT occupied). The restaurant was STILL out of the same advertised appetizer and the food was still less than STELLAR..

For such a beautiful facility the lack of detail on several fronts make the experience of staying there less than wonderful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your insight on your recent experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We’re very sorry that our menu didn’t meet your expectations and we’re taking your
recommendation to improve it. Our guest reviews give us valuable information to deliver
the best dining experience possible, and we appreciate your feedback. Please visit us again the
next time you’re in San Jose, and tell us how we’re doing. Thank you. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here recently, after a flight into Costa Rica, which is about a 5-10 minute ride from SJO airport. The hotel is very spacious as well as the rooms. The only minus was the pool was under construction. There is a casino on-site as well as a concierge level for evening drinks and snacks, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

We are Gold members so the above was free and wi-fi. Another plus is the wildlife around the hotel. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel was the breakfast. Rooms are so old I am not sure it they were dirty or just old. The room smelled terrible, like old and musty. The sheets were the cheap sheets that all you feel all night is the little nubs. Not a pleasant experience for me

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. While we are very happy that you chose our hotel for your recent stay and that you enjoyed our breakfast, we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us.
I truly apologize if you were disappointed in any way regarding the cleanliness of your room and if there was musty smell that inconvenienced you. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I sincerely apologize if we were not able to deliver this for you. Our guest's satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that I will take your comments into consideration to improve our hotel.
Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that next time you are in town, you consider staying with us again. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Address: Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, rustic and luxurious, the DoubleTree Cariari by Hilton brings modern day opulence to Costa Rica's capital city. A heavenly urban retreat with spacious guestrooms, a sparkling swimming pool and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cariari By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
Doubletree San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.