We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good For Business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good For Business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Good hotel for business traveler. Close to major businesses and has scheduled shuttle service to them. Well maintained gym, pool, and food is good at restaurants.

Schedule shuttle each day prior and the earlier you go the better. Traffic after 8am becomes a problem.

Room Tip: Request a room with a strong WIFI signal, rooms toward the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose! I’m so glad you were able to experience our warm hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    330
    106
    39
    24
See reviews for
155
259
43
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our family stayed here for our last night in Costa Rica. Coming from the dusty back roads of Guanacaste, we were excited to see the beautifully appointed lobby. From there, however, our experience went downhill. An aging, bland room, and many little things not working. Couldn't get the water temperature right, the wake-up call didn't work, the pool had no depth measures posted, it took half an hour to get a drink from the bar, super expensive restaurant...on and on. they really need to work on the little things. Stay at the Hampton Inn instead, it's much, much better.

Room Tip: stay at the Hampton Inn instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
On behalf of the management and staff of our hotel I would like to thank you for your recent stay with us.
We are pleased that your impression of our hotel were up to or exceeded your expectations. We are however disappointed to learn you were disappointed with the condition of your room and that you had some problems getting warm water was not up to your expectations.
Please be assured that your valuable comments will be shared with my team as we continue to strive to improve upon our offerings.
Thank you once more for your review and we do hope that we may welcome you again at our beautiful hotel. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I just got back from staying at Double Tree by Hilton in Cariari San Jose Costa Rica. This hotel should be rated as a five star Hotel. The staff at the reception, Kevin, Max, Juan and Karina are absolutely superb professionals, world class customer service professionals who truly care about the guest at the hotel and who are truly at the top of their game. I traveled with my 8 year old daughter and they went above and beyond to make us feel at home. The morning and evening restaurant staff are also superb and extremely attentive to every last detail while you dine in elegance and splendor. The food is EXCELLENT! I only had breakfast and late dinners at the hotel but I'm positive that the service is also world class. The pools were spotlessly clean as were the hotel grounds and the rooms where I stayed. The beds were super comfortable. Even the cleaning staff always had a smile whenever I encountered them. I wish I had obtained the names of the restaurant staff because they were world class restaurant staff! Make no mistake about it, the Double Tree by Hilton at Cariari in San Jose is a Beautiful and excellent hotel but the heart and soul of the place are people like Kevin, Max, Juan, Karina and everyone who works at this magnificent property! Thank you. I will be staying at the Duoble Tree by Hilton in Cariari every time I have the chance. Harry C.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Your comments about your stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). Hope to see you again soon, Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Double Tree to start and end our vacation to Costa Rica. On our first night we found the facility to be extremely beautiful. The grounds are wonderful, the public areas are sparkling and we found the front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. We had rented an Executive room with a balcony, club access for end of day cocktails, and Continental breakfast. It was a little disappointing that they were doing construction on the room next doo, and dinner was at best mediocre. My wife ordered an appetizer that was not available, and the menu selections were half of what was on the in room menu.

When we returned 11 days later it was even more disappointing. We were told that we didn't get breakfast (that issue was resolve), the made no mention of the Executive room, and although we were able to pay our exit fees at the front desk, they delivered our papers (with our passport numbers shown) to another room (fortunately it was NOT occupied). The restaurant was STILL out of the same advertised appetizer and the food was still less than STELLAR..

For such a beautiful facility the lack of detail on several fronts make the experience of staying there less than wonderful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your insight on your recent experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We’re very sorry that our menu didn’t meet your expectations and we’re taking your
recommendation to improve it. Our guest reviews give us valuable information to deliver
the best dining experience possible, and we appreciate your feedback. Please visit us again the
next time you’re in San Jose, and tell us how we’re doing. Thank you. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here recently, after a flight into Costa Rica, which is about a 5-10 minute ride from SJO airport. The hotel is very spacious as well as the rooms. The only minus was the pool was under construction. There is a casino on-site as well as a concierge level for evening drinks and snacks, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

We are Gold members so the above was free and wi-fi. Another plus is the wildlife around the hotel. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel was the breakfast. Rooms are so old I am not sure it they were dirty or just old. The room smelled terrible, like old and musty. The sheets were the cheap sheets that all you feel all night is the little nubs. Not a pleasant experience for me

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. While we are very happy that you chose our hotel for your recent stay and that you enjoyed our breakfast, we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us.
I truly apologize if you were disappointed in any way regarding the cleanliness of your room and if there was musty smell that inconvenienced you. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I sincerely apologize if we were not able to deliver this for you. Our guest's satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that I will take your comments into consideration to improve our hotel.
Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that next time you are in town, you consider staying with us again. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent a total of 2 nights in this Double Tree hotel. What we loved was the architecture of the hotel. Truly stunning and beautiful hotel. The rooms were clean and nice. Location is about 5 minutes to the airport which is quite convenient. The swimming pool was nice but was not heated, a big minus. Meals at the restaurant are quite expensive, more than in the US. Overall, a nice place to stay after arriving at the airport or beforereturning to your home contry. Again, the hotel itselfis vey beautiful thoughit is located close to the main highway andclose to the airport. We slept well and the noise was not disturbing. Overall very good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to San Jose area. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.0 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,151 reviews
2.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,812 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#6 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
3.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
5.9 mi away
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
#30 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Address: Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Antonio De Belen
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, rustic and luxurious, the DoubleTree Cariari by Hilton brings modern day opulence to Costa Rica's capital city. A heavenly urban retreat with spacious guestrooms, a sparkling swimming pool and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hilton Hotels and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cariari By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
Doubletree San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.