We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always stay here to get in and out of Costa Rica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates from $79
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“We always stay here to get in and out of Costa Rica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Once again the staff and management of this hotel went out of thier way to take care of us. Even though we stay one night at each end of our Costa Rica trips, they remember us and give us great service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks for your comments. Whenever you’re in San Jose, stop by the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We’ll take good care of you. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    259
    81
    35
    20
See reviews for
118
214
33
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gonzales, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I just returned from Costa Rica and stayed at this hotel the last night of my trip because it was close to the airport. Whoever rated this place four stars must have been full of rum. The room smelled like mildew, the pool was dirty and to top it all off they wanted to charge me $10/night extra for WiFi access. I've NEVER paid $200/night for a room that didn't have WiFi. Even my girlfriend who is a local couldn't believe that it was rated 4 stars. We agreed a two star rating would be more appropriate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to receive from us. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here just before and just after Christmas 2012. This was still before the peak season. They were sprucing up the pool when we arrived but when we returned it was done and full of water.
We were part of a tour group of about 25. We had a couple of presentations in the Maracas room and the staff kept the wine flowing and appetizers coming. We had a couple of dinner buffets which were great.
The breakfast buffet offered more options than we could eat. The wait staff was quite friendly.
There's an ATM machine to the left of the pool that dispenses both dollars and Colones.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We appreciate the opportunity to host your group and, as always, appreciate your business. If there’s anything you need, let us know. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here one night before starting our driving adventure in Costa Rica. Very close to the airport and in no time we were lounging by the pool after a long travel day. Rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. A 5 minute walk from the hotel are restaurants, a nice grocery store and farmacia (drug store), which was very convenient. Breakfast was included with our room and the buffet was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. I’m happy to hear that our service and our great amenities made your stay more comfortable. Hope to see you again soon. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just back from March break in San Jose Costa Rica. The service was excellent, restaurant staff started your morning with a smile and Buenos dias!!! Andrea and Tania at the tour desk were helpful and reservations for sightseeing tours was easy.
Nice room- balcony and pool view, 2 double beds.
Tip just a short walk from the hotel is a convenience store and pizza, chinese and sushi restaurant. Great place for snacks and alternative to hotel food.
San Jose was amazing and we hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony, poolview room. Second floor for the view and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. I’m happy to hear Andrea and Tania made your stay more comfortable. I’ll pass it on. Thanks for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night before joining a tour. 5 min ($11 USD) cab from airport. Clean, friendly, great pool, nice rooms.

Restaurant is fairly expensive for what it is--visit the supermarket next door to buy water, snacks, sandwiches and salads for lunch. Also has yogurt, fruit and pastries for breakfast. When you exit the lobby, turn right, it's a 30 second walk away.

Pool is beautiful with lots of lounge chairs.

Would definitely return and recommend to other travelers!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks for staying here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service. We look forward to welcoming you back. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Definitely not a five star hotel. Food at the restaurant was really bad and had to wait 45 minutes or more. The restaurant was one quarter empty. I cannot image a busy day. Food quality was really bad for the price. Service was less than average.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your receipt review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I understand from your review that you were disappointed with some issues at our hotel. I am so sorry that you found our restaurant to have a limited menu selection as well experiencing a slow service. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve the quality and selection of our menu items. We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide with everything you are accustomed to receive. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Address: Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, rustic and luxurious, the DoubleTree Cariari by Hilton brings modern day opulence to Costa Rica's capital city. A heavenly urban retreat with spacious guestrooms, a sparkling swimming pool and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cariari By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
Doubletree San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.