We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place, close to the airport, to begin and end our 2-week adventure in Costa Rica.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% OFF!
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeport, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place, close to the airport, to begin and end our 2-week adventure in Costa Rica.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was afraid this Doubletree by Hilton in Costa Rica would feel a bit "Americanized," but it wasn't. It was a lovely spot to rest up at both the beginning and ending of our trip. It was a bit further from San Jose than I preferred, but we took a bus one time and a taxi the next. It was so convenient to the airport. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The meals were great! We seemed to have buffet breakfasts throughout our trip. Theirs was the best... with lots of variety! And their salmon dish on the dinner menu was especially good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elva1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. I’m happy to hear that our service and our great amenities made your stay more comfortable. Hope to see you again soon. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The warm chocolate cookie on arrival is a great start. The room was clean, spacious and had a nice bathroom. The outlook was poor - straight into a hedge and quite noisy at times. The breakfast buffet was the best we had during our holiday in Costa Rica. The staff were very pleasant. We ate in the restaurant once and the meal was very nice though expensive. There's an Italian and a sushi restaurant just out of the front door of the hotel to the right. It's only a short walk. There's also a supermarket in that area too. The hotel has a decent sized swimming pool and jacuzzi with sun loungers around. The restaurant and bar overlook the pool area which is very pleasant.

Room Tip: Try to get a quiet room. The area can be noisy with people outside the hotel and there is you can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisalis79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for your comments. Whenever you’re in San Jose, stop by the DoubleTree by
Hilton Cariari San Jose. We’ll take good care of you. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel was very nice for the price and it was close to the airport. STaff friendly and English speaking. Breakfast was amazing however you have to pay for the upgrade. Some mix up with "Breakfast Included" Overall very nice stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We’re happy you had a great stay at Doubleetree by Hilton Cariari San Jose3. Come see us again soon – we’ve got a delicious chocolate chip cookie waiting for you! Safe travels…. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Is is really nice when you wake up in the morning, go for breakfast and the first thiong you see is a smile in everybody serving you. The Cariari is one of those hotels that you want to visit again and again. Furthermore, I forgot my watch at the hotel and they managed to deliver it to me to the Airport on short advice. Congratulations for your great people and services

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Platensebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to send us the great review. We hope to see you again soon at the
Doubletree by Hilton Cariari San Jose! Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The DoubleTree Cariari is clean and the staff is very helpful. The executive breakfast is somewhat lacking, I would recommend upgrading and eating by the pool instead. Clarice in the sales department went out of her way to stop in the parking lot and give us detailed (and helpful!) directions to Poas Volcano and to follow up on some documents my husband left behind at Hilton Papagayo. The location is wonderful for day trips (Poas Volcano, La Paz Waterfall, Cafe Britt) We would definitely stay here again, and the proximity to the airport is ideal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for staying with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Gladys was helpful! I’ll be sure to share your comments with her. See you soon, Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hautes Pyrenees
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Its convenience to the airport made it an ideal choice for our stay on arrivel and the night before departure. On both occasions an upgrade to a junior suite was much appreciated. The rooms were spacious and the beds large and comfortable.Bathrooms immaculate. Check in service on both occasions was efficient and friendly.The appearance as previously noted in another review is attractive, open sided corridors with abundant tropical foliage. The shuttle service was prompt.
On the flip side the number of conference rooms resulted in displays overflowing into public areas. On one occasion it was almost a struggle to pass the exhibitors and guests together with power machinery stands in the main corridor to the restaurant.
Another complaint re the swimming pool. On arrival this looked large and attractive with ample sunloungers, however, be warned the water is cold. I am used to swimming in cold seas but expected far more from a pool in Costa Rica. Most of the pool is fairly shallow with no proper swimming area, we did far better in a 10x4 metre pool at Hotel Don Quichotte Tortuguero.
The quality of breakfast was again disappointing, a limited choice and of variable quality.
For the price I expected better

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stillworkingat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We appreciate
your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom
appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. Please
share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

After crisscrossing beautiful Costa Rica for over a week, this little jewel of tranquility right by the airport was a welcome breather before returning home. Very clean, friendly and helpful staff. The proximity to the airport was a great help.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozo4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie_Aristy, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. I’m happy to hear that our service and our great amenities made your stay more comfortable. Hope to see you again soon. Margie Aristy, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,290 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.4 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
3.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
4.1 mi away
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
#29 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#3 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Address: Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, rustic and luxurious, the DoubleTree Cariari by Hilton brings modern day opulence to Costa Rica's capital city. A heavenly urban retreat with spacious guestrooms, a sparkling swimming pool and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cariari By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
Doubletree San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing