We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is there a rating better than excellent?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Heredia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas
Save
You added Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas to your Saves list
4, 6 Street, 8 Avenue, Heredia 1530-3000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Is there a rating better than excellent?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

If you are traveling anywhere near Heredia, you MUST stay @ Hotel Hojarascas! Jose Omar is the perfect host. The rooms are clean, well-appointed, and very comfortable. Traditional Costa Rican food for breakfast--local fruits and bread with the occasional surprise. Transportation from and to the airport is available, as is rental car service. A most enjoyable local experience! If I am lucky enough to get back to Costa Rica, I will most definitely stay at Hotel Hojarascas. This is what Pura Vida means!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    12
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
37
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Warm welcome from Jose and his family. Pickup was perfect after 12 hours in the air! The hotel has been beautifully designed and is light and airy. It is right in the heart of Heredia, a bustling lively safe town with a large supermarket opposite. Breakfast was lovely with the special tamales making this the perfect resting place when we arrived in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at Hotel Hojarascas in March and found that it truly is as wonderful as everyone says! Jose Omar is probably the nicest man I've ever met and is fabulous at his job! From the warm reception to the clean and comfortable rooms to the superb breakfasts...our stay at this hotel was...well, like we were home. We never felt like guests or like "clients" but like family. Jose guided us to local restaurants and gave us tips on some of the best sights Costa Rica has to offer! He is truly knowledgeable and talented at what he does and it shows! -Just read through the reviews!
I have only been home for 3 days and have already recommended this hotel to several of my friends! We will definitely be back to this hotel when we travel to Costa Rica in the future!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My family and I stayed in this hotel in March 2012 and we had a great time there!! Rooms were very clean, breakfast (with delicious home made tamales) was awesome but the best part was definately the kindness of the owners, whose priority is to make their guests feel at home.
At Hojarascas you will for sure experience the meaning of the famous costa rican expression "Pura Vida"! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Hojarascas in Jan and part of Feb 2012 and my experience was totally great. Jose Omar and his family treat all guests like family and provided me with lots of help with my spanish language. It is clean, the breakfasts are wonderful and it is close to so many other areas of Heredia that makes it convenient for anyone visiting the area.

I plan to return!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Proprietor, Jose Omar, is the heart & soul of this family-run hotel.

The complimentary breakfast was a highlight of my week at Hojarascas. Jose Omar is formally trained as a chef. His breakfasts are simple, beautiful, and delicious works of culinary art. We began each day with a plate of beautifully presented pineapple, cantalope, and mango. The second course of breakfast included a chicken, bean, and rice tamal steamed with a sweet corn masa, inside of a banana leaf.

Every morning, over this delicious breakfast, Jose Omar and I had very fascinating conversations with a revolving cast of family and friends including his mother, brothers, friends, and other hotel guests. The entire family is very open, and welcoming.

The rooms are clean, tidy, and nicely appointed with tile floor, cable TV, and warm electric shower. The free wifi worked well. There are two washers and dryers, available to guests. There are also two computers available for guest use.

Hotel Hojarascas is very conveniently located. Within two square blocks of the school include:

-Mas Por Menos Supermarket
-Heredia Central Market
-Los Angeles Park
-Main Heredia bus stops
-Taxi line
-Intercultura Language School
-Many restaurants and shops

Complimentary airport pickup and delivery is a really nice touch, as well.

Do yourself a favor and spend some time with the Hojarascas family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is my second stay at the Hotel and even better this time. Jose Omar remembered me and took exceptional care of me and my friend. From a free pick-up at the airport to recommendations for restaurants, all was fantastic. The fruit, coffee and fresh made tamales for breakfast were a wonderful way to start the day.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puerta del Sol Hotel
Puerta del Sol Hotel
#4 of 9 in Heredia
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
4.5 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apart-Hotel Roma
Apart-Hotel Roma
#5 of 9 in Heredia
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Express San Jose Aeropuerto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas

Address: 4, 6 Street, 8 Avenue, Heredia 1530-3000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somos: Un Hotel Familiar, Administrado por los Miembros de su Familia. Hacemos de Este Lugar, Su Casa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas Costa Rica/Heredia
Boutique Hojarascas Heredia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.