We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Express San Jose Aeropuerto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added City Express San Jose Aeropuerto to your Saves list
City Express San Jose Aeropuerto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diagonal a Mc Donalds del centro comercial R. Cariari, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Chatham Il
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We recently stayed here on an EF Tour, and was very pelased with the hotel. Modern, clean, close to the airport and nice breakfast buffet. Staff was friendly and helpful and a shopping mall nearby.
Would choose to stay her again on my own if in Costa Rica

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express San Jose Aeropuerto, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for contacting us, it is a pleasure to know that your stay in our hotel City Express San Jose Airport Heredia, meet your expectations and know that our service standards and quality made ​​him feel very comfortable during their stay.

We said goodbye to you, but first thank you for your preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    26
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
14
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Overall, I am very satisfied with the service and responsiveness of the front desk people; they were so friendly, helpful and very professional. Special thanks to Natalia, Daniela, Heidy and Darlene, they are awesome.
The hotel has airport shuttle so it was very convenient. From the exterior, the hotel doesn't look appealing at all; the combination of the building color and large parking lot without much trees/garden doesn't look good. But the rooms were pretty nice. I was staying in two different rooms and they both looked nice and very clean. The breakfast food was ok, a little boring if you stay for several days as I did because there are not many choices and you may eat the same thing every day. I've never used the gym but it looks ok. The internet worked great and was fast. I had trouble getting on the internet once but then they fixed it right away.
The hotel might be conveniently located if you have some business to do close by or if you need a nice and affordable place to stay close to the airport, but there are not many things to do / go to around, other than the mall across the street.

There were only few things that really bothered me : my second room was located near the elevators and I could hear the elevator's bell ringing every few minutes, it was really annoying that I sometimes could not sleep. And the ceiling was so thin that I could hear my very noisy upstairs neighbor waking me up at 5 am moving chair and walking around in high heels. And finally, I was getting really worried to see that they never check IDs when people asked for another key to a room because they forgot theirs or something.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express San Jose Aeropuerto, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know your comments regarding our Hotel City Express San Jose Airport Heredia. It is satisfying to know that your stay was what I wanted, thank you give us the opportunity to know you are verifying to be carried out safety procedures with the application of the extra keys.

Hope to continue with their preference at any of our hotels.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a two night stay here with an EF tour. It is very close to the airport and next to a shopping mall. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very nice with cereal, yogurt, toast, eggs, fried plantains, ham, gallo pinto, coffee and juice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with two other travelers overnight while waiting to catch an early morning flight. The location is convenient to the San Jose airport and is also near a nice shopping mall (Plaza Real Cariari). It is a newer hotel so our GPS did not have it listed; this is often the case in Costa Rica where navigation is by local landmarks (like the nearby McDonald's) instead of a numbered street address.

The room was on the third floor and it was very clean and furnished in the modern style. It was very basic but had everything we needed. Our room was just down the hall from the elector but noise was minimal and did not bother me. The bed was comfortable and the bath was nice.

We walked around and checked out the fitness center which was nice. There are not a lot of other amenities but the wifi was fine and there was coffee in the morning (our flight was too early to see what breakfast was like). The staff was friendly and helpful when they were needed.

There are lots of eating and drinking options just a short walk away from the hotel at the Plaza Real Cariari. I recommend the Barock Pub for beer, ceviche, and fun but there are several restaurants, a food court, and lots of shops in the plaza.

Overall this is a fine establishment for a short stay. The price is good for the location. There are nicer places in nice neighborhoods in San Jose with more amenities (restaurants and bars on the property, etc.) but they are often booked or are much farther from the airport.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Vey nice, did not stay long or use fitness center or pool. Very convienent for where i was for meeting next day and alot of dining opportunities around the hotel. Front desk was very nice and helpful when internet was down and let me know when it was available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos C, Director Comercial at City Express San Jose Aeropuerto, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments, and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, for us is really important to make all our guest feel like at home, that's why our staff is always attentive to provide a warm welcome and give a friendly smile.

As you could see our hotel is located next to one of the biggest shopping center in town, with a variety of restaurants, stores, cinemas and a bowling center and 7 minutes away from the international airport, this has been helpful for all our guests.

We are an enviroment friendly hotel, so everytime you stay with us you are helping our planet.

Hope to see you with us again.

Best regards,

Carlos Chacón
Sales & Marketing Manager
Hotel City Express San José Aeropuerto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

When I arrived to the hotel I noticed the the place is really clean and they really do their best to keep the place clean as well. Staff is very friendly, shuttle service to the airport and business parks is quick and safe, also here we received excellent service. When I come back to San Jose Costa Rica, this is the place I´d like to return.

Room Tip: I found the 3rd floor facing the shopping mall to be a very comfortable. Never too hot and actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos C, Director of Sales at City Express San Jose Aeropuerto, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments, and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, for us is really important to make all our guest feel like at home, that's why our staff is always attentive to provide a warm welcome and give a friendly smile.

As you could see our hotel is located next to one of the biggest shopping center in town, with a variety of restaurants, stores, cinemas and a bowling center and 7 minutes away from the international airport. In reference to our Shuttle Service we'd like to inform you that this is a complementary service to the airport and all business parks arround the hotel.

We are an enviroment friendly hotel, so everytime you stay with us you are helping our planet.

Hope to see you with us again.

Best regards,

Carlos Chacón
Sales & Marketing Manager
Hotel City Express San José Aeropuerto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Walking into this hotel I didn't know what to expect as the color combinations and design seemed a little like a sci fi movie but once I got into the room everything was good. The staff were friendly and helpful and courteous. The place was clean and well kept. Only thing was the sun beat down on the room in the afternoon and heated up quite a bit, fortunately the AC worked well.
The rest was all good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express San Jose Aeropuerto, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments, and are glad everything worked well during your stay.

For us is really important that our guest feel at home and make them feel welcome eveytime they come to our hotel.

As you could see our hotel is located next to one of the biggest shopping center in town, with a variety of restaurants, stores, cinemas and a bowling center and 7 minutes away from the international airport.

We are an enviroment friendly hotel, so eveytime you stay with us you are helping our planet.

Hope to see you with us again.

Best regards,

Andrea Chinchilla
Guest Relations
Hotel City Express San Jose Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Express San Jose Aeropuerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Express San Jose Aeropuerto

Address: Diagonal a Mc Donalds del centro comercial R. Cariari, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Express San Jose Aeropuerto 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Express San Jose Aeropuerto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Express San Jose Aeropuerto Costa Rica/Heredia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Express San Jose Aeropuerto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.