We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a well- kept secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chalet Tirol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chalet Tirol to your Saves list
Hotel Chalet Tirol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route 113 | 6 Km N of Heredia, Heredia 7812-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a well- kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Although we did find it a little difficult to find- forget finding it without a GPS- once found, we were delighted. We were hoping to shorten our trip to the Poás Volcano the following day by staying at the Tirol, which is located between the airport and the volcano, but ended up having to drive back towards the airport and then taking another route up to the volcano. No surprise, this is the way it is in Costa Rica!
Once at the Hotel, we were greeted by friendly and professional staff all of whom spoke at least 2 languages - Spanish and English. Our room, upstairs in chalet #1, was lovely. It had a king size bed, a decorative fireplace, a tv, a large bathroom with a heart-shaped tub with water jets and a balcony off of our bedroom. We would have appreciated having a refrigerator and a larger table in the room. The restaurant was charming as was the staff and the food was very good. The European atmosphere was delightful and as we walked around outside, the surrounding mountains, the fresh air and the chalets made us feel like we were in the Alps! We would definitely recommend The Tirol to our friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    29
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
16
76
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Although finding this little gem of a place in Costa Rica may be difficult for tourist like myself, the arrival is awe inspiring and worth the maze-like-drive. The Alpine theme is so beautifully captured you can almost spot a gnome wondering the garden. The woodys design is carried throughout the hotel grounds. The rooms are lovely too. Spacious two bed rooms, and amazing family rooms. My travel group was lodged in a two floor suite; it had two beds and a bathroom on each floor within the room, absolutely perfect for families with kids.
The food is DELICIOUS!! All the dishes we tried were very flavorful. Staff was wonderful and accomodating. My favorite part was the pianist and violinist who played a wide range of music during dinner. This hotel was a trip within our trip in Costa Rica. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If you have kids, the suite rooms are great since they are very large and spacious. Double bed rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We went to the hotel as a weekend get away. The food was great we tried the antipasto mixto and it was incredible for an afternoon snack. The weather was great and we actually read out in the gardens part of the day. An also spent time walking around the grounds.

The bad.

The people upstair had a baby with them that cried in the morning and woke us up.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is a great little hotel about an hour -- and a world away -- from San Jose. The room is wonderful: comfy king-sized bed, nice bathroom with toiletries, and a little balcony off the back. The grounds and gardens are lovely. We were only an hour away from Volcan Poas and a 30-minute drive from the airport. Staff was very helpful. A continental breakfast is included.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Fuimos este fin de semana al hotel el Tirol para recibir información del lugar como locación para nuestra boda. El Gerente General en persona nos atendió y nos dió un recorrido por el lugar. Rodeado por altos arboles de cipres y bosque nuboso, con casitas pintorescas, este hotel parece salido d una aldeita de cuentos. Entre bosques, jardines y plaza, hay tres ambientes diferentes afuera para disfrutar. Además hay una sala de eventos adentro y un restaurante.
En general es un hotel muy hermoso, con muy buena atención, y está entre nuestras primeras opciones para realizar nuestra boda.

This weekend we went to El Tirol hotel while in the lookout for wedding venues. The General Manager himself took us on a tour of the facilities and the rooms. It is surrounded by tall cypress trees and, with pintoresque cottages and a lovely plaza, it looks like a fairytale little town. With a forest area, gardens and the plaza you have three different outdoor spaces. There is also a capilla-like event space and a restaurant. In short, it is a lovely hotel with very good costumer service, and for us is one of out top coices for the wedding.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Such a beautiful, charming atmosphere! It was a bit like walking through the Garden of Eden on the way to our room with lush landscaping, colorful flowers and butterflies! The room was clean and cozy. I don't know where they found their chef but the food and wine were impeccable! Must try the basil mashed potatoes!! What made the food and experience even better than it already was, was the service. The staff made us feel as if we were the only guests on the property...loved Ernesto. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I decided to stay here to get away from the city for a night. Upon arrival, we were welcomed by Ernesto and the front office staff. The courtesy and professionalism of the staff was immediately apparent. Due to arriving late we ordered room service. Even though we ordered close to the kitchen closing our food was excellent! I looking forward to returning for a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chalet Tirol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Tirol

Address: Route 113 | 6 Km N of Heredia, Heredia 7812-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chalet Tirol 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel Chalet Tirol is a magical and romantic Alpine-style Villa found on the lush hillsides of Heredia, close to the capital San Jose and the Juan Santamaria International Airport. From the hotel's entrance you are transported into a wonderland of century-old evergreen and pine trees, gorgeous gardens, and outstanding mountain views, surrounded by a natural reserve full of fauna and flora and crossed by the crystalline Rio Segundo river and waterfall. Accommodation includes 10 charming two-storey chalets and 13 suites with fireplace comprising 1 honeymoon suite and a choice of multi-room family suites. Attentive service in the cozy dining room with inviting fireplace and potbelly stove enhance your overall dining experience. This three star Hotel with capacity for up to 120 people is the perfect location to celebrate weddings, receptions and meetings. Leisure and eco-tourism travelers can enjoy adventures nearby such as a visit to Poas Volcano, as well as any of the rich cultural and natural options Costa Rica has to offer. The restaurant Los Tiroleses at the Hotel Chalet Tirol is famed for its French fusion and international cuisine earning the Chaine des Rotisseurs Award of Excellence, an honor that it proudly holds to this day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Chalet Tirol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Tirol Hotel
Hotel Chalet Tirol Costa Rica/Heredia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chalet Tirol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.