We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chalet Tirol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chalet Tirol to your Saves list
Hotel Chalet Tirol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route 113 | 6 Km N of Heredia, Heredia 7812-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Province of Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed 1 night there and it was just perfect. They allow us to came in early to enjoy the whole day but when we got there our room was ready so they gave us the key for our room.

We stayed in the standard suite which is cozy, small but confortable, it also has a fire place.

We had dinner there and I have to say that it was one of the best meals I have eaten, fresh and they actually prepare it right in front of you (we ordered an option for 2 ppl). Drinks and service was also great, stuff is always checking to see if everything is going great.

What else can I say? Just a perfect place for a couple get away because its only about 30 minutes from San Jose.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    29
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
16
76
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Samara
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We live on the beach in Playa Samara and for something completely different, going to the mountain to a European style chalet was exactly what we needed for a little getaway. The rooms are very comfortable with a large bed and great sheets and comforters. Everything was very clean. The staff was super professional with incredible service. The grounds are beautiful, with enormous pine trees and 2 paths which are not long but are very relaxing. An ideal location for weddings, conferences, or any special event. The menu is limited but of high quality, specially the desserts. The presentations are flawless. The restaurant ambiance was just right and if we had been there on the weekend, there would have been live music with piano and violin. The room has great internet reception and the accept pets!

This is a remote location so it is perfect if you want to get away and just spend quality time with a loved one.

We would totally recommend this to family and friends!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed with lots of family from the USA for a wedding. The service at the restaurant was awesome. Big rooms with fireplaces. We made friends with the owners who are there about once a month, and they bent over backwards for us. The wedding reception was on the property, and very nice. There was enough space to play a small Ultimate Frisbee game. There are no other businesses in the area, as the location is in the mountains. Your food options are the one restaurant, or to bring some of your own.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Recommend you go - Unique, fun, clean, great / friendly black cat on the grounds that greets you, a little north of town but worth the ride to nice, quiet neighbor. Easy trip to Cafe Britt, would recommend lunch at La Carretica , 5 blocks from Cafe Britt to the north

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANFORD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Well over a dozen members of our extended family were there about a week, for a wedding. We quickly learned the Hotel Chalet Tirol excelled at hospitality and had a wonderful restaurant that offers a free cooked-to-order American breakfast...all you care to eat. Visualize fresh pineapple, watermelon, and papaya to start, eggs or omelet of your choice, bacon, pancakes, toast and tropical jam, great Costa Rican coffee, and perhaps a superb cappuccino to top everything off. Did I mention free? For lunch and dinner they offer a wide variety of delicious entrees that are beautifully presented. On Friday and Saturday night great music was provided by a superb piano and violin duo.

The hotel grounds are beautifully kept and absolutely full of flowers. Guest rooms are large, most have wood or gas fireplaces, and bedding is plush. There's great value here but that is exceeded by the hospitality of the owner and staff, the best I've ever experienced at any hotel. The new owner, Mr. Benson, took time to show us around and describe his future plans for the hotel, as well as what he has already done to enhance the well-being of staff. (That's refreshing and perhaps a key ingredient in their outstanding performance). I'm reluctant to designate favorites when *all* deserved mention but Antonio in the restaurant was superb and made the best cappuccinos I've ever had. (Ladies, he looks like a young Antonio Banderas.) Nilton, who drove us to many places in a new van, was very professional and safety conscious, negotiating the winding, rough Costa Rican roads as smoothly as possible. (Be sure to visit the Lapaz Waterfall Gardens.)

The hotel did an amazing job on the wedding reception, beautifully decorating the room and preparing a delicious dinner. The weather was a refreshing 60 to 80 degrees F, due to the mile-high elevation. And, unlike lower areas in Costa Rica, there are basically no insects to annoy you! The huge cypress trees served as a wind break, such that breezes at ground level were gentle but the stronger wind at tree top level produced a relaxing background sound much like ocean surf. That was sooo restful.

There are fancier (and *much* higher priced) hotels in Costa Rica but I doubt you'll find any that offer more value, or better service. We had a wonderful time there, and highly recommend it.

Jim Roberts
Sanford, North Carolina - USA

Room Tip: The heat in rooms is a wood fireplace, gas fireplace, and / or electric strip heat. Our room had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This cute, romantic hideaway in the forest is very difficult to find, but well worth the search. The property is unique, secluded and very peaceful. The chalets are very cozy and comfortable and the restaurant is amazing. The room includes a fabulous cooked breakfast in the gourmet restaurant. Dinner is rather pricey, however; a meal for two without alcohol set us back $80, which came as quite a shock. We probably should have ventured into town for dinner, but it was very dark and there are no street signs anywhere. Overall, a memorable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a really good time at the tirol. It is a really special place for couples near the city, I highly recommend the superior chalet room with jacuzzi, it has a king size bed, an electric fire place, a small table, flat tv and a small balcony, also you can park the car next to the chalet or in the main parking place. The restaurant is very elegant, with violin and piano music at night, the food is delicious, it's more expensive than your avarage Costarican restaurant, but high quality food. The surroundings of the hotel are beautiful, tall trees, flowers, some small trails, very natural combined with european style buildings. The staff was very friendly all the time. Also the weather was perfect, a little rainy and misty in the afternoon, chilly at night and sunny in the morning.

On the other hand, we had a couple of concerns: chalet rooms are built one on top of another, so sometimes you can hear your neighbors, specially if they are kind of noisy, this reduces a little bit the tranquility of the place, work around: play some music in the tv. Finally, we had a small "inconvenient" while staying in our room, the staff apologized with us several times showing that they were really worried about any problem they may have caused (luckily they didn't).

Apart from that, the place is great! highly recommended for a romantic ocation in a beautiful and very different place in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chalet Tirol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Tirol

Address: Route 113 | 6 Km N of Heredia, Heredia 7812-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chalet Tirol 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel Chalet Tirol is a magical and romantic Alpine-style Villa found on the lush hillsides of Heredia, close to the capital San Jose and the Juan Santamaria International Airport. From the hotel's entrance you are transported into a wonderland of century-old evergreen and pine trees, gorgeous gardens, and outstanding mountain views, surrounded by a natural reserve full of fauna and flora and crossed by the crystalline Rio Segundo river and waterfall. Accommodation includes 10 charming two-storey chalets and 13 suites with fireplace comprising 1 honeymoon suite and a choice of multi-room family suites. Attentive service in the cozy dining room with inviting fireplace and potbelly stove enhance your overall dining experience. This three star Hotel with capacity for up to 120 people is the perfect location to celebrate weddings, receptions and meetings. Leisure and eco-tourism travelers can enjoy adventures nearby such as a visit to Poas Volcano, as well as any of the rich cultural and natural options Costa Rica has to offer. The restaurant Los Tiroleses at the Hotel Chalet Tirol is famed for its French fusion and international cuisine earning the Chaine des Rotisseurs Award of Excellence, an honor that it proudly holds to this day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Chalet Tirol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Tirol Hotel
Hotel Chalet Tirol Costa Rica/Heredia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chalet Tirol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.