We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, top notch staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chalet Tirol

Save Saved
You added Hotel Chalet Tirol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Chalet Tirol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route 113 | 6 Km N of Heredia, Heredia 7812-1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Heredia
Johnson City, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, top notch staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a beautiful and scenic hotel, run by some of the nicest Ticos I have encountered. I had my wedding at Hotel Chalet Ed Tirol in August 2011. It was enchanting. The location is stunning. The staff is amazing and accommodating. The food is delicious (both at the wedding as well as the delicious tico breakfasts we had every day).

We stayed at the hotel for just over a week and by the time we left we were friends with all of the staff. We had bonfires at night. We ate dinner by the fireplace. The weather was perfect (even though it was the rainy season). So natural. So serene.

We had 25 Americans and 5 Ticos staying at the hotel so we saw a variety of rooms. All were adorable and well-kept. I would recommend this hotel for anyone that is looking for a retreat in the beautiful cyprus forest.

Room Tip: There are chalets and a main building. Either option is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    22
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
14
59
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay At Chalet Tirol. We loved the cozy cabin feel. The food & entertainment was excellent- highly recommend it!! The only problem we had was that we couldn't stay longer :) It is soooo beautiful there. The grounds are lovely & the staff was top rate.

Room Tip: we stayed in the cabins. Room 5 has a small deck behind bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Best hotel ever, our stay was very relaxing. We were there the first week of June, the beginning of their rainy season, but it was the best time, only received a light drizzle every afternoon. We loved the cool-misty fresh mountain air, beautiful flowers everywhere, moss-covered huge trees, and enjoyed strolling through the rain forest. Worth every penny (or colones), and loved every minute of our stay!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a real wood burning fireplace, and some only have an "electric" fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I decided to spend a couple of days in this property because I needed a rest. It is hard not to rest in this place. It is so quiet ans surrounded by so much green. Although most of the trees are not native to this part of the world, they still make a nice landscape. The room I stayed in was average. The fireplace was a good surprise and a necessity at night. It is unfortunate that they provide only a few pieces of wood for the fire. If you want more, you need to pay $20, bad idea! The bed was ok, a bit too hard for my personal taste. In the morning I had a back pain. The room includes a flat tv screen with a good variety of stations, just a handful in English though. There is no telephone in the room, why? The advertisement says that you can make free national and international phone calls but, where is the phone? The bathroom is a bit ran down. The sink faucets need replacement. The bathtub is old and without a handle to prevent accidents. the bathtub floor does not anti-slippery devices. Watch out! The wireless internet service is free but is not reliable, it comes and goes. The restaurant food is expensive for Costa Rica standards. The breakfast included in the room rate is abundant: fruit, orange juice, coffee (so-so), toasts, gallo pinto with one egg and slices of fried plantain. However, the food was not very tasty. In fact, the gallo pinto, a traditional Costa Rican dish made out of rice and beans combined, and common in most households, was not good at all, too much pepper and just not tasty. The main rewards of this place are the quietness, the landscape, the gardens. They should invest a bit more in the rooms and have a full review of the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. If you want a fireplace, you should ask for a room with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The weather was excellent and the food was even better. The restaurant has handsome waiters who are polite and very helpful. The hotel rooms are spacious, modern and clean. The drive up the hill is lovely and green.

Room Tip: I liked the Chalets that were separate little houses. Like a ski lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Hotel Chalet Tirol was located up amongst the beautiful mountains. The property was large and lots to explore on the property and places nearby. I found my room spacious and quiet and enjoyed the spa bath. The food was delicious. Most of all, the service was excellent! Staff members were friendly and extremely helpful - always with a beautiful smile! Wtih gratitude. Eri, Australia

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011 via mobile

Thank you so much for the care and attention. I know it would have been hectic sometimes during a seven day conference but there was never a time that the staff didn't smile and help me. With gratitude
Merrilyn

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Chalet Tirol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Tirol

Also Known As:
Chalet Tirol Hotel
Hotel Chalet Tirol Costa Rica/Heredia
Address: Route 113 | 6 Km N of Heredia, Heredia 7812-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chalet Tirol 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel Chalet Tirol is a magical and romantic Alpine-style Villa found on the lush hillsides of Heredia, close to the capital San Jose and the Juan Santamaria International Airport. From the hotel's entrance you are transported into a wonderland of century-old evergreen and pine trees, gorgeous gardens, and outstanding mountain views, surrounded by a natural reserve full of fauna and flora and crossed by the crystalline Rio Segundo river and waterfall. Accommodation includes 10 charming two-storey chalets and 13 suites with fireplace comprising 1 honeymoon suite and a choice of multi-room family suites. Attentive service in the cozy dining room with inviting fireplace and potbelly stove enhance your overall dining experience. This three star Hotel with capacity for up to 120 people is the perfect location to celebrate weddings, receptions and meetings. Leisure and eco-tourism travelers can enjoy adventures nearby such as a visit to Poas Volcano, as well as any of the rich cultural and natural options Costa Rica has to offer. The restaurant Los Tiroleses at the Hotel Chalet Tirol is famed for its French fusion and international cuisine earning the Chaine des Rotisseurs Award of Excellence, an honor that it proudly holds to this day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Hotel Chalet Tirol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chalet Tirol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.