We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A world class hotel....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peace Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Peace Lodge to your Saves list
Peace Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Calabasas, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A world class hotel....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I just got back from Costa Rica. We stayed at The Peace Lodge for two nights when we first arrived, and then again for two nights in the middle of our trip. We had the most beautiful experience. The hotel is perched on the top of a mountain and is part of the La Paz Waterfall Gardens. When we arrived, the staff made us feel so welcome. Jorge took perfect care of us, orientating us about the grounds and explaining everything we needed to know to make our stay perfect. Our room was amazing and looked exactly as advertised. As an experienced traveler, I have rarely found this kind of sincere caring from a hotel staff. This is a great choice!

Room Tip: I think the name of our room was the Helaconius. However, I would bet there is not a bad room in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    96
    25
    15
    9
See reviews for
260
421
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We found the Peace Lodge by accident last year, as we were driving from San Jose to Arenal and on the way we stopped by the Peace Lodge just to take a look. We were so impressed that we decided on the spot that we would come back the following year to stay.

We just got back from our tip this year to Costa Rica and did stay a couple days at the Peace Lodge. We could not have been happier with all aspects from accomodations, to service, to all the wonderful things you can do right outside your door. We fed Tucans and Hummingbirds. We took a tour at night to see the frogs and one jumped right onto me. We enjoyed the wild cats and monkeys and butterfly garden. We took walks through the forest and to the water falls.

Our room was fantastic. The service was wonderful, people took great care of us. Evenings were fun with conversation and learning a little Spanish. We highly recommend and plan to return again during our next stay.

and - we still have more to explore next year. I plan to fish for a trout next time we visit

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

When walking into the lobby to check in you feel the warm clean breeze and are greeted by the most friendly staff. The resort overlooks beautiful rain forest and you can see the volcano in the distance. Once you check in the staff takes you on a tour of the facilities and explains everything in detail to you.(not to mention a yummy refreshing tropical drink complimentary during the tour!) The rooms are breathtaking! They have a cozy fireplace for the cool nights, a hot tub on the patio and hammock not to mention the hummingbirds that like to come by and say good morning! The bathrooms are out of this world with waterfalls etc. Remember this is a standard room!!!!! Everything is so clean and well kept and there is so much to do on the property (i.e hiking, swimming, fishing, animals, breathtaking views, and a few short minutes away is the volcano, coffee plantation, and awesome zip lining for a very minimal cost.) I stayed at a few different places during my stay in Costa Rica, and I would say this is the most beautiful inviting, and clean resort I've stayed at. I have nothing negative to say about my experience at Peace Lodge...if you're looking for a great frog tour while you're there make sure to ask for Johnathan...he went above and beyond and gave us an awesome experience we'll never forget. Another neat thing about the Peace lodge is they bring the spa to you...defiantly an experience you need to have!!!

Room Tip: Any room at this resort will be wonderful! The standard room was so beautiful and everything is natu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed one night and one day and it wasn't enough. It is rustic , clean, green and beautiful. our suite had 3 bedrooms, 2 fireplaces, a beautiful balcony overlooking the mountains, volcano and swimming pool, water feature, hot tub and bird sanctuary. The bird sanctuary has tucans and parrots and others I didn't recognize. The tucans will sit on your arm and eat out of your hand. The hummingbird area is not enclosed but there are bunches flying around. At certain times they close off the feeders and give you hand held feeders. My grandson had 7 feeding out of the feeders in his hands. Magic! Pumas, jaguars, ocelots margays, monkeys, oxen cows, snake houses and more. There is a well-tended path to walk to see three different waterfalls - one 75 ft tall. We didn't have time to do the zip line or the rafting or visit the volcano or ride the horses or visit the coffee plantation. Fishing available. Food great. Staff goes out of their way to help.
The travel to get there was a little dicey but well worth it.

Room Tip: You can't miss. We stayed right above the bird sanctuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful 1 night , 2 day stay. Great place for romance and great place for kids! Beautiful waterfalls. Fishing and eating catch is a must. Very nice evening dining with pretty cocktail lounge
.pretty drive up to hotel. Gets chilly . Absolutely must feed hummingbirds!

Room Tip: Nighttime frog experience a must. Take a sweater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shortsville, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is unbelievable. I felt like we were in a dream. Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary in Costa Rica and this was our favorite place. We would love to return. Love love love this hotel. We arrived in Costa Rica rented a car and drove to the peace lodge. An interesting drive but exciting. The only thing we had wished was that we had ended our trip at the peace lodge. So relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Peace Lodge is impossible to describe. Stunningly beautiful. Although it is not a perfecly natural setting, it is, after all, a hotel. We very much appreciated the fact that the resort makes the most beautiful setting accessible to the public, and the designers have done a miraculous job of blending the luxury elements into the natural setting without compromising either. Impeccable and warm service - a one night stay there for our family of 5 was a most memorable experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Peace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Lodge

Address: Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than one hour from the San Jose (Juan Santamaria) Airport, the Peace Lodge is the perfect place to begin or end your vacation. You don't need to spend your first or last day in a city hotel. Please come spend them in the rain and cloud forest with us and still be close to the airport. We are also only 20 minutes from the Poas Volcano, another "must see" attraction in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Heredia
Peace Lodge Costa Rica/Heredia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peace Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.