We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful World Class Hotel..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peace Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Peace Lodge to your Saves list
Peace Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ciudad Colon, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful World Class Hotel..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Wow ..What a wonderful experience for me and my friends ..This is a five star ..world class..the suites are something you see in movies..neat..neat...and staff treats you like you own the place..the Costa Rica experience is intergated into all phases..the grounds ..waterfalls ..flowers..birds..etc will take more than a full day...lots of steps..and with handrails..so many details that it hard to image someone thinking of such small items..a wonderful experience..and I look forward to someday returning ..and the food..good..excellent..my steak was perfect..my friends love their fish..

Room Tip: I only experienced my suite ..it was a large room with balcony and fireplace..and the bathroom had b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen P, Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hello Mr. Shockley,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your gorgeous experience at The Peace Lodge.

We love to see that our guests see how much we care about them and always return to there frist home with a very nice impression of our Big Family.

Always waiting for you to come back. We say good bye!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    88
    22
    15
    9
See reviews for
232
389
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I eloped to Peace Lodge in May. I couldn't have dreamed of a more beautiful location. The service was amazing and they made it feel so special for us. We missed our first night there due to airplane malfunctions/delays and they were beyond helpful! They moved our wedding date, arranged for transportation and let us have a late checkout the next day. The whole atmosphere is so relaxing even after spending 24+ hours in an airport as soon as we walked into the lobby and saw the amazing panoramic view of the cloud forest we instantly relaxed and fell into "honeymoon mode". I can't wait to come back to celebrate future anniversaries!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the deluxe room. The bathrooms are unreal and totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Peace Lodge is a must. Five star service. Very small and intimate hotel. Great for kids. From feeding the hummingbirds and toucans to trout fishing, the whole family had a blast. Only 45 min outside of San Jose, it is definitely worth two to three days on your Costa Rica trip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The whole area is simply amazing! Our family of 5 plus 2 guests and a cantor experienced the Bar Mitzvah of a lifetime in the butterfly habitat at Peace Lodge. The staff was more than accommodating and helpful; the meals were great, and the rooms even better. Make sure to do the nighttime frog tour and visit the falls.

Nothing could possibly beat the experience we had at Peace Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is one of the best. the rooms, the view, the park and above all-the staff.Renald Melvin and Daniel from the restaurant and Allen Perez Cordero-Room Manager. To be honest, all the staff was nice and helpfull

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Peace Lodge is Paradise! We stayed just one night wish we could of stayed another! the resort is spectacular - the rooms are so unique and beautiful - jacuzzi in the bathroom and on the deck! Just such a special place. Food and service is unbelievable - the friendliest staff - will do anything to help make your stay the best! we learned so much about the country, the area, the people in 24 hours! All the animals at the animal reserve are great to see! The waterfall hike is so beautiful! Could not ask for a better way to start your costa Rica vacation and only an hour from San Jose Airport!
PURA VIDA!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Peace Lodge was an amazing experience. Besides the fact that it was much different than the usual NY life, it was spectacular! It was very nice to get away from the constant stress and just relax. The rooms were extraordinary. The balcony had something I did't even know they could put on a balcony, which was the hot tub. The hammock was also nice because it gave the room a layed back feel. The bathroom had everything in it. From a nice sized jacuzzi to a beautiful shower. The fireplace was a nice touch as well because it makes guests feel right at home. The beds could not get any better. They were big and so very comfortable. The view of the rainforest was breath-taking and it made you feel like you were in paradise. I am planning to definitly come back in the future!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Lodge

Address: Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than one hour from the San Jose (Juan Santamaria) Airport, the Peace Lodge is the perfect place to begin or end your vacation. You don't need to spend your first or last day in a city hotel. Please come spend them in the rain and cloud forest with us and still be close to the airport. We are also only 20 minutes from the Poas Volcano, another "must see" attraction in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Peace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Heredia
Peace Lodge Costa Rica/Heredia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peace Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.