We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THE PEACE LODGE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peace Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Peace Lodge to your Saves list
Peace Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Palm City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“LOVE THE PEACE LODGE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

We stayed at the Peace Lodge May 5 through the 10th for our honeymoon. Before we arrived I must say I was a bit worried about how it was going to be, but when we did get there it was a huge relief. We were amazed from the minute we arrived. The staff was WONDERFUL!!!! Mostly Leonardo, Issac, and Daniel & Allan. We loved you guys. It was cool to hear that the owners are from FT Lauderdale, FL, neighbors to us. The rooms were awesome, so relaxing and peaceful. It almost felt like time stood still. The food is good, a bit expensive but worth it, we were on our honeymoon. The grounds were very well manicured, and beautiful. The tours were great as well. A must do is the zipline, let me tell you, my husband and I are scared to death of heights and really debated on whether we should go or not. We were sick the whole ride there. Oh my god, the most excitement we had the whole trip, it was completely AMAZING!!!!! highly recommended. We will defiantly be visiting again in the near future. Thank you again for making our honeymoon as wonderful as possible.

  • Liked — The Location & Service of staff
  • Disliked — Pool Scene
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    88
    22
    15
    9
See reviews for
232
389
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

We stayed in a standard room. There is a lot of attention to detail such as providing clip on reading lights, free dvd library. etc. The food at the restaurant was quite good for dinner and breakfast. The grounds are beautiful. We covered everything on the grounds quickly in about 2 hours but could have spent more time (another 1-2 hours) enjoying the grounds at a more leisurely rate. Compared to other resorts of comparable price in CR, room decor was more interesting, and there was more variety of sights to see on the grounds. Service was not a problem. Noise insulation is not good as we could hear a couple next door enjoying themselves quite loudly.

  • Liked — decor, attention to detail, beauty of grounds
  • Disliked — noise insulation
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

We stayed at Peace Lodge the last night of a wonderful 8-day trip to Costa Rica. The room and bathroom were luxurious, almost over the top, but in a fun way. Our teenage daughter was especially impressed with the waterfall bathroom and private hot tub on the balcony, etc. The grounds were very pretty. We didn't get to enjoy the private trout pond and bar area, but it looked very nice.
We were there on a Saturday, when there were hordes of day trippers from San Jose, mostly local Ticos. It was nice that they were enjoying the property, but also made it crowded. The zoo/ park was well done. I would gladly patronize it back in New England, but it seemed tame after viewing similar wildlife in the wild elsewhere in the country. It rained on our walk down to the waterfalls, which were spectacular, but slightly marred by the crowds and the huge gift shop at the end of the walk.
We had dinner at the formal restaurant, which was fairly expensive but not bad value considering the number of courses and quality of the food. Stay away from the trout -- awful. Rest of the food was pretty good. The restaurant was fairly kid-friendly, in part because many other folks there were Americans with children.
The staff was very efficient and professional. They even packed us a light lunch because we had to leave for the airport very early in the morning. The drive took about one hour.
If you stay here, I'd highly recommend arriving early in the morning or staying the next morning, because I suspect the park and grounds would be empty and more pleasant.
Another hint -- there are a couple of cheaper "apartments" on the grounds, that are much less fancy but also about half the price of the standard rooms. Not sure how you arrange to stay in one.

  • Liked — Over the top room was a hoot
  • Disliked — Crowds in the adjacent park
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

My husband and I brought our children to the Peace Lodge after visiting it ourselves 2 1/2 years ago. Although the rooms and bathrooms are still beautiful, the hotel and grounds are not nearly as peaceful as they were before. The grounds have become A LOT more built up and commerical. Whereas before, we felt like we were in a private refuge with butterflies, hummingbirds, and waterfalls, now it seemed like we were in a commercial wildlife park. Since our last visit, they have added an aviary and monkey exhibit. Having just come from Manuel Antonio and seeing a lot of these animals firsthand in the wild, it was offensive to seem them caged even though the exhibits were well done.

A few more details.....breakfast is no longer included in the cost of the rooms. Before, a staff member was happy to take us on a night tour of the frog exhibit. Now there is a charge of $10/adult and $5/child.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

My husband and I decided to visit the peace lodge a second time on our recent trip to Costa Rica. We were very excited to stay with them because of our great experience with them the first time two years ago. Sadly, we were dissapointed the second time. Although the facilities are nice and they have added some great new features to thier park we were dissapointed with our stay. The service is not what is used to be. One of the reasons we came back to the peace lodge was because it was very personal the last time. The staff this time for the exception of three people that worked there were very unhelpful and really didn't seem to care about work that much. Last time we were there people seemed really excited to have you stay with them. This time the staff was just there sitting around either listening to music or talking to each other. They seemed lazy and unfriendly and they didn't seem to care about the customers very much. The rooms were pretty much the same from last time except there were no flowers in the room, my chaise lounge by the window was not in the room and the robes were a little tattered. I was also dissapointed that they told us the breakfast was not included anymore with your room rate. Last time we were there we had a nice dinner in our room by the fire. This time they just dropped off our dinner didn't set it up and that was it. When we checked out they never asked us how our stay was and they didn't even say thank you. You would think after spending $750.00 for two nights you would get better service. Two other things I forgot to mention, the walls are so thin that we were kept awake by the man in the next room snoring all night and there seems to be a lot more night time traffic with trucks driving up and down the road. My husband said he didn't feel at peace at all and he was ready to go. We were planning on renting the monarch villa and bringing my parents next summer but I think we will just visit the park the next time and skip the hotel. If we are going to pay those prices we would like to feel good about it by the end of our visit. I feel it has just gotten to big and it has lost it's intimate touch. To bad. I guess we will have to find a new hotel that we can vacation at! I hope the owner of this hotel reads this review so they can make some positive changes.

  • Liked — the park and the view
  • Disliked — the service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

We recently spent 2 nights at the Peace Lodge, after 5 nights at the Buena Vista Villas in Manuel Antonio. After staying at such a wonderful place (Buena Vista Villas), I have mixed feelings about the Peace Lodge.

The rooms were very nice, but a little over the top, in Disney sort of way. The bathroom with the waterfall shower, etc. looks like it was lifted from the Rain Forest Cafe. It just wasn't necessary. The rooms themselves were great, with a fireplace and balcony overlooking the mountains.

The wildlife displays were done very well, but after being out in the jungle and national park with the real thing, animals in a zoo like atmosphere left me a little disappointed. The butterfly house was done very well however, as was the hummingbird area.

We didn't make it to see the waterfalls, but our friends went and thought it was worth the hike. My wife and I opted for wonderful in-room massages for a reasonable $65/pp/hr.

My biggest disappointment was with the food, especially dinner choices. There is only one restaurant on site serving dinner, fairly expensive for Costa Rica standards and mediocre at best. The second night our party of six went to a local French restaurant (Restaurant Colbert), which turned out to be the best meal we'd eaten in CR, at a third of the price of the hotel restaurant The only hassle was getting to the restaurant. We didn't have a car, so we had to take 2 trips in a small "taxi" operated by a hotel employee. Apparently they do have a larger van that is used for tours, but it wasn't available. The breakfast buffet by the way was very nice.


In summary, a very nice facility with a few shortcomings. Would I go back? Doubtful. Is it worth visiting one time, perhaps, especially if you go at the end of your trip and you want to be close to the San Jose Airport

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

My two daughters and I headed directly for Peace Lodge after arriving in Costa Rica, and it was an ideal destination after a long day of travel. I found the place soothing and lovely, from the hammock/jakuzi on the porch to the infiniti pool looking over the rain forest. The bathroom, with its waterfall shower, was heavenly, and I loved the little touches, like the red and blue frog faucets to indicate hot and cold. Staff were also welcoming and friendly.

We had dinner at the lounge by the lake, rather than the restaurant, and it was perfect. Not cheap, but not a rip off either, and very good. LIkewise, breakfast was just terrific, and the setting was a lovely terrace where we watched a stunning variety of brighly colored birds feed on fruit and seed put out by the hotel.

In terms of wildlife, we reallly loved feeding the hummingbirds, and I highly recommend this to all visitors. There is an incredible diversity of these amazing birds, which will drink nectar from a small tube that you can hold in your hands.

We also loved the butterfly pavilion and the walk along the waterfalls.
h
All in all, a memorable and enjoyable introduction to Costa Rica.

  • Liked — the overall sense of understated luxury
  • Disliked — Not staying longer
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Lodge

Address: Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than one hour from the San Jose (Juan Santamaria) Airport, the Peace Lodge is the perfect place to begin or end your vacation. You don't need to spend your first or last day in a city hotel. Please come spend them in the rain and cloud forest with us and still be close to the airport. We are also only 20 minutes from the Poas Volcano, another "must see" attraction in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Peace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Heredia
Peace Lodge Costa Rica/Heredia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peace Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.