We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classy and classic place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel America

Save Saved
You added Hotel America to your Saves list
Hotel America
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel America
Calle Central ave 2 y 4 | 50 Mts Sur Del Parque Central Heredia Centro, Heredia 3000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Heredia
Gloversville, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A classy and classic place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

For what it is, it was very nice. Don't expect a 4 star hotel, but it's well worth the price. The Hotel America is consistent with other hotels of the same vintage we've stayed in in other Latin American nations. It's not what you find in the US, but shouldn't be expected to be so. We were well pleased with what we got for our money, and if we needed to be in downtown Heredia again, we would not hesitate to use this classy little hotel.

My wife and I were part of an international conference hosted at the Hotel America. We were there for two nights and were very well satisfied in all but one area--and that allowed for some humor. We had trouble getting enough hot water for me to shave and my wife to shower at the same time. Then I ran out of hot water and had to rinse cold...a minor problem in the tropics, actually. In fairness, the hotel was fully booked and it's likely that everyone in the place was showering at the same time. Also the rooms were dimly lit, which is consistent with other hotels we've had experience with in the region. The hallways were brightly lit and there were plenty of couches, etc. to sit on to use computers, read or whatever.

The staff was pleasant, and there were enough folks competent in English to help us out when our Spanish failed us. The desk clerk happily arranged a rental car on the day of our departure and that worked out quite nicely for us.

The conference included meals and snacks which were prepared and served on site. The kitchen appeared clean, and all the food was both tasty and well served. There was always enough to have seconds if wanted. I only wish they would put out real milk or cream for the coffee--such great coffee, but powdered creamer, why?

There are a few computers available for guests' use, but they appeared to be somewhat old; but since we had our laptop, and the wireless connection was good, that was not an issue for us.

We slept well and enjoyed our stay. The nature of the place with its interior doorways and common hallways allowed--or maybe forced--the interaction between the guests who were all part of the same conference, which for us was a benefit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
1
6
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nosara
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is a decent place if you have business in central Heredia. It's in the middle of downtown so it is conveniently located; close to the park and local business. A casino is almost next door if you a gambler. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable, staff very friendly, good hot water, TV and coffee was ready at 6:00am every morning (now that's a plus). There is a small bar adjacent to the hotel, no wifi but computers in the lobby. Stay away from the chinese restrant down the street to the right; it's probably the worst food I've had in Costa Rica. The second night there (our last night) there was a reunion down stairs and they had the LOUD disco going till around midnight (it was a Saturday night). We dealt with it and did get some sleep but as we are "early to bed, early to rise" types it wasn't the best thing for the hotel. The complementary breakfast is ok with fresh fruit, cereal, juices, toast, etc. But for $50 a night it was a deal. We'd stay there again. Check out the 1950's era movie projector in the lobby- very cool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times and I find that it is o.k. for the money. It is comfortable and clean and the employees are friendly. I would recommend a short stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Big Island of Hawaii
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

...Nice rooms, but you can hear the people next door gargling int he bathroom, other's TV all night long, babies screaming, and and every door slamming closed, at all hours. We took sleeping pills and used ear plugs, but we were still kept up late, after midnight, and awakened by loud, early rises at 5 AM. The morning staff was apologetic...

BTW...the restaurant is not open past lunch, and no bar, as some guide books state. Nor is there an included breakfast. In five weeks of travelling in Cost Rica, you will have some negative experiences, this was definitely our worst. Most hostels are much quir\eter, not to mention low cost.


.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

As the hotel provided by the tour group, I did not have much choice in hotel, but considering Hotel America was listed in Rough Guide travelbook, I expected a little better. While the staff were friendly enough (even when we were checking in at 11:30pm), the hotel had little else to offer. The rooms were on the small side of average in terms of size, and very very dirty. The floors (main space and bathroom) were very dusty and had hair left behind. While linen was provided, they were of very poor quality and very old. Beds were comfortable enough though. The doors and locks were questionable, either broken or very loud.

The walls between rooms are very thin and EVERYTHING can be heard. From the screeching sound of the hot water to the laughing of the neighbours. The morning after arriving in CR (very jet lagged) I was woken up at 6am to the unreasonably loud music/radio from the daily cleaners. They did not turn off the music until 9am, which was ridiculous.

Yes there is free internet, however there was only two computers, only one which was working. The location of Hotel America is good. While I did not stay at any other hotel in Heredia to compare standards, I did not enjoy my stay at Hotel America. I actually stayed in two separate rooms as our tour group returned to Heredia after 2 weeks. I was not impressed both times.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Room dirty, plumbing leaked, door lock flimsy, no air conditioning, lousy television reception, NO amenities as advertised, deposits required for phone use and for TV remote. Worst of all there were cockroaches! This hotel gives the impression that it is one used for hourly rentals by hookers.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Friendly helpful staff and great location have kept me coming back to this hotel a few times a year since 2000. Occasional disco noise and some small rooms are the major drawbacks. I suggest inspecting your options before checking in to choose your room. Rooms facing the street are the noisiest.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Address: Calle Central ave 2 y 4 | 50 Mts Sur Del Parque Central Heredia Centro, Heredia 3000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Hotel Heredia
Hotel America Costa Rica/Heredia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.