We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, and informative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Britt Coffee Tour

Britt Coffee Tour
From the Auto Mercado Heredia 500 meters north, 400 meters west | On the way to the village of Barva, Heredia 528-3000, Costa Rica
506 22771600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 Attractions in Heredia
Type: Tours, Farms, Tourist/ Visitor Centers
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Britt's CoffeeTour has educated and entertained nearly 1 million friends and coffee lovers from around the world since 1991.We use humor and insight to show you the secrets behind an exquisite cup of coffee.Our experts lead the way on an enjoyable journey through the world of coffee. Discover coffee´s colorful history and the process that transforms the red coffee cherry into the delicious morning brew.Located in Heredia, 25 minutes away from Internacional Airport. Daily tours at 9:30 and 11:00 am. From Dec. 15 to April 30 enjoy an additional showing at 3:00 pm. Advanced reservation required.Our roastery campus and facilities include:•Lush green areas and colorful gardens. •Restrooms and pathways suitable to people of all ages and physical abilities. •On-site restaurant. •Plenty of secure parking. •Factory store with coffee, chocolates, cookies & more.•Door-to-door international coffee delivery service via courier.
Lancaster, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun, and informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Fun, and informative. It is not a true coffee plantation. Britt is in many counties across the world but they are not growers, they are roasters. Worth checking out if you're in the San Jose area. It was educational regarding the growing and roasting of coffee beans. More of a skit then just a presentation. In the gift shop you can sample the different coffees before buying which is nice. The coffee is cheaper here then at their off-site stores so if you like coffee you'd probably enjoy a visit here. Don't expect to see a large coffee growing facility, this is not a true farm/plantation.

Some people thought it was hokey but I got a laugh or 2 and enjoyed a nice latte at their coffee counter.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittCoffeeTour, Coordinator of the Coffee Tour at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear visitor,

It’s nice to know you had a great time at our Coffee Tour. As you say we are not coffee producers, we are coffee roasters and have been for the last 29 years.

We try to make our Coffee Tour not only informative but also entertaining, and that’s what makes us different. We are glad you liked it.

Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    63
    24
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The tour is on a very small coffee plantation. Fun, light, and informative I would recommend it if you are a coffee lover, if not I'd skip it. While some coffee is grown and harvested on site, it is not a true coffee plantation. Britt is in many counties across the world but they are not growers, they are roasters. Worth checking out if you're in the San Jose area.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittCoffeeTour, Coordinator of the Coffee Tour at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Visitor,

Thank you very much for your comments.

As you say we are not coffee producers we are coffee roasters and have been for the last 28 years.

We are glad that you liked the coffee tour, thanks for recommending it to others.

We hope to have you back,

Pura vida,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Coffee plantation tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very much enjoyed the informative and fun tour. Tour guide really knew her stuff and I learned things about coffee that I didn't know before. Also enjoyed the coffee and chocolate samples in the beautiful gift shop after the tour! A++

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittCoffeeTour, Coordinator of the Coffee Tour at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear visitor,

Thank you very much for booking our tour.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the coffee tour and learned a lot about coffee.

We hope to have you back!

Pura vida,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Educational Tour on Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very Educational on the process of coffee growing.
Enjoyed the tour but the once we got in the gift shop
it was nice we were able to sample the different coffees
that Maria spoke about. Coffee was good but a little a
costly.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittCoffeeTour, Coordinator of the Coffee Tour at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear visitor,

Thank you very much for booking our tour!

We are happy to hear that you had a great time; we also enjoy making it and sharing with our visitors all the history of coffee.

We will definitely take your comments into account.

Hope to have you back at our plantation,

Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Informative and Interactive Tour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Have always enjoyed Café Britt coffee and considered its different roasting styles beans unique, approachable and differentiate from other roasters. It is definitely gourmet but with very reasonable prices comparing with those in United States.

Through the very informative and interactive tour the guides made it very interesting such as how they work with consistent plantations (Café Britt is a roaster not a planter) for great quality, as well as the process from growing to roasting and to the final product, in addition to how to identify good and better beans. The tour also provided a good explanation on brewing methods and the differences.

You can drive to Heredia or take a tour that included the transportation. It was about an hour with traffic from downtown San Jose but you get to enjoy the changing scenes.

The gift shop has all the beans brewed for tasting (same as the one at the airport) and carries lots of chocolate candies, chorreadors (Costa Rican coffee drip using cotton cloths filters), bags, jewelry, trinkets and even stationery. The main thing is they do shipping here too so you don’t have to carry them with you. This is especially convenient if you are en route to other places or simply have small luggage space.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittCoffeeTour, Coordinator of the Coffee Tour at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear visitor,

Thank you very much for your nice comments, we truly appreciate them.

We are really happy to hear you not only liked our coffee tour but also learned a lot from it.

Like you said we are coffee roasters and have been for the last 28 years.

We hope to have you back soon.

Pura Vida,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britt Coffee Tour also viewed

Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
Heredia, Province of Heredia
 
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Britt Coffee Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britt Coffee Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.