We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Stay at Chetica - would stay again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CheTica Ranch Medical Recovery Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heredia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CheTica Ranch Medical Recovery Retreat
250 meters North of Peaje Zurqui on rd #32 | San Jeronimo de Moravia, Heredia 1100, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Niceville, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“2nd Stay at Chetica - would stay again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our family has stayed two times at Chetica Ranch, once for ten days just my husband and myself, the other for a month with our whole family and our dog. If I did not feel comfortable with our first visit, I would not have taken my children the second time.

Both our stays at Costa Rica were positive experiences considering that my husband had major dental work done both trips. Ruben takes very good care of us and is very accommodating. I would have no problem going back to Costa Rica if I stayed at Ruben's. The country can be hard to negotiate if you do not know Spanish and navigate if you do not know the roads. I would not recommend doing so by yourself your first trip.

I would say that people should also have realistic expectations that Chetica is a ranch and Costa Rica is not the US and can be rustic and definitely has a different pace. It's all part of the adventure.

Ruben watches over people and is genuinely caring about their well being. The people at the ranch work very hard to make sure their guests are taken care of. I knew several people on our return trip, so it was like visiting our second home. I have no qualms about returning again in the future, for medical or vacation, knowing that any of my concerns would be addressed in a prompt and fair manner.

Overall, the ranch is a beautiful, peaceful, safe place to heal and I will definitely recommend it to anyone who needs to get major medical or dental work done at affordable prices by more than competent doctors.

Thank you again, Ruben, our very gracious host!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    7
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
13
45
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was there for 2 weeks. I didn't have heat in my room fo 5 nights, no phone for three days, construction noise until after 8pm. Rubin and his wife always had excuses. They pointed out that this was not a 5star hotel
I just can not recommend this recovery center. It is too far from anything, especially the drs. We were at the mercy of scheduling with all patients. We have to wait many times for at least an hour for our rides back. One car I was in broke down with me and someone just out of surgery.
It was a most frightening experience .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed there after having dental work. I called them after I was done with the dentist and ruben refused to pick me up, he said that since he picked me up form another place before he will not pick me up at this place, although the first place was where i got x-rays, i needed to be there only once, all the other times i needed to be picked up at the dentist. Before i made reservations i told him what i needed to have done there. He did not say that transportation would be a problem. Since the ranch is far from the city where my dentist was it did not make sense to stay at his ranch and take cabs to dentist eveery day. So i stayed at another hotel near the dentist. Ruben was very rude to me and never gave me my money back.Food was not good, I was hungry after each meal. I did not have hot water for 2 days, also they had to fix the door that would not lock. Took them 2 days. My heater also did not work. Aver all I had a very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I can't tell you what a great experience staying at Che Tica Ranch was for me. I went by myself and from the moment I was picked up until I went to the airport, at 4am in the morning I felt I was treated like a queen. The positive support that I received and the care was far beyond my expectations. The cool air and the beautiful accommodations were perfect. The owners and staff were very professional and seemed to anticipate your needs before you did. I loved the little spots on the ranch that provided a short walk with great views. You could tell the owners put their hearts into making your experience the best it could be. My advise don't hesitate GO!

Room Tip: All great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I'm not normally a 'review-er' but I wanted to take the time to say how truly amazing this place is and what a great experience I had..especially since I relied on these reviews alone when making my final decisions for my surgery abroad. The doctor I chose and everyone at Chetica Ranch truly surpassed my expectations. I went by myself for my surgery to Costa Rica which was a huge thing for me..and I always felt comfortable and taken care of. Ruben and Lorena have a wonderful family and they definitely make you feel right at home. The staff is truly amazing..every single one of them. All so compassionate and there to help in any way they can. Francis is the main nurse and she is an angel. Usually Francis or Ruben coordinate all your appointments so you never have to worry about it. The food was amazing! Delicious and healthy home cooked meals...which you can have brought to your room if you don't feel like going to the dining room to eat but I enjoyed very much eating with all the patients there and getting to know them. Everyone I met was wonderful. And of course, Rubens famous sunday bbq..I was excited about it before I even got there and it did not disappoint!! All the cottages are so cute and homey and have everything you need. They are also very big on cleanliness which I loved because I'm a bit of a clean freak. Their land is truly breath taking..I enjoyed sitting on the benches..just relaxing. It definitely is the most perfect place to heal. Everything went very smooth in my case and it felt like a mini vacation. My experience was amazing and I recommend Chetica in the highest regard. I've already sent 2 friends there!! I will definitely be back to visit sometime in the near future!! :) Shaina

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I came here on June 17, 2013 for a 360 tummy tuck that I had researched for a year. My doctor sends his patients to CheTica & I am so thankful! This has been the BEST recovery I could have imagined. Ruben and Lorena, along with their staff go above and beyond. My private cottage is gorgeous & lacking no details! Beautiful scenery, incredible meals, gentle care & as much privacy as you desire! I have already planned my next surgery for 2014 & can't wait to get back! This is the place to rest, relax, recover, and just "be"! You couldn't pay me to stay anywhere else! Leaving July 9th and having a tough time with that thought!! Can't wait to get back here! I have more pictures if you are interested!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed at CheTica June 13th - 18th, 2013. Prior to selecting CheTica I did a fair amount of research and communicated with others that stayed at the ranch and other recovery centers. I decided on CheTica.

All information requests etc. were handled directly by Ruben, the owner. Responses were quick and detailed.

Transportation: Erick the Ranch’s driver picked me up from the Clinic after my procedure the first day. I felt very comfortable and safe as I was kind of “out of it” after my surgery. When we arrived at the ranch it was raining and I was met outside by some of the staff with umbrellas at which point I was guided to my private cottage. The ranch has several drivers so you are always ensured you will arrive to and from all appointments, airport/gate, on time.

Meals: All meals are served (you sit down and the staff serves you) at the Buena Vista restaurant unless you would like your meal in your cottage. If you are feeling under the weather and want to dine in they will bring the meal to you! Kind of cool! I really liked the Buena Vista as this allowed me to meet other guests and share experiences. There are three meals per day. They try to mix the selections around and in my opinion are well thought out and always include local fruits and vegetables. Decent portions were provided and were more than satisfying! A highlight was Ruben’s Sunday BBQ. A sampling of various meats done Argentina BBQ style. What a treat.

The Property: 80 acres of pure Heaven. I managed to get out and about on day 3 to do a little sight-seeing. I managed to come across horses, sheep on my way down to the creek. A nice way to get in some light exercise during my stay.

The Private Cottage: Prior to my visit I heard horror stories from those that stayed at other recovery centers relating to the noise factor associated with sharing a common wall etc. This was not my experience at CheTica. I had my own cottage that was more specious than a lot of apartments I have been in. The cottage came with everything I needed to make my stay very comfortable i.e. large flat screen TV with cable, DVD player (tons of movies available in the restaurant), microwave, refrigerator, even a huge fireplace that I used on more than one occasion. I never had an issue with hot water, heat etc. The room was cleaned each morning as was perfect to say the least.

The Staff: The staff in my opinion is 5-star. The concept of customer service from Ruben and Lorena is definitely a common theme provided by all staff members. The staff is at your beck and call. From daily visits from the Ranch’s Nurse, accommodating special meal requests and daily laundry to even having someone show up and sparking up the fireplace in my cottage. The staff at CheTica was there to help and make my stay a pleasant one. This is what I expected during my recovery and was delivered as promised.

The Guests: I had the pleasure of meeting the best of the best. Every meal was a great experience sharing stories and experiences with new friends. There are always folks coming and going from all over globe so it’s never a dull moment to say the least.

Almost Forgot - The Massage: Part of my recovery regimen was a daily Lymphatic Drainage massage. All I can say is wow. This was something that I couldn’t enough of. I believe the cost was $30.00 per session and worth every cent. A similar massage in the states would run $100+. Magda the resident masseuse used homemade oils, played classical music and even sung lightly during the session. Talk about heaven!

Overall I would recommend CheTica to anyone looking to recover in San Jose and would/will certainly stay there again myself!!

Paul

Room Tip: I stayed in the Bodeguita cottage. I recommend it highly. Spark up the fireplace in the evening fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
Restaurant, Rom...
Show More
9.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Free Parking, R...
Show More
12.1 mi away
Hotel Paradise
Hotel Paradise
#12 of 17 in Escazu
3.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Independent Hot...
Show More
9.6 mi away
Hotel Monte Campana
Hotel Monte Campana
#1 of 1 in Birri
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
14.4 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#2 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
8.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#9 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CheTica Ranch Medical Recovery Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CheTica Ranch Medical Recovery Retreat

Address: 250 meters North of Peaje Zurqui on rd #32 | San Jeronimo de Moravia, Heredia 1100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty lodging in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 80 acre ranch, pure environment for your perfect recovery from any surgical procedure or dental work, just a mile away from the Braulio Carrillo's National Park, forest, river and creek crossing through, private, fully furnished theme cottages for your comfort and over 12 people caring attentively for each and every one of your post-surgical needs at only 10 miles away from downtown San Jose!! We work with all the Major Clinics and Hospitals of San Jose, C.R. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
CheTica Ranch Medical Recovery Retreat Costa Rica/Heredia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CheTica Ranch Medical Recovery Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added CheTica Ranch Medical Recovery Retreat to your Saves list