We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Heredia, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Heredia B&B and Inns
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My family and I just visited the wonderful gardens at Heliconia Island. Beautiful and colorful species & interesting trails together in a magnificent piece of land.

Henk and Caroline were super welcoming & friendly.

The guided tour with Caroline was great. She will not hesitate to answer your questions with a big smile.

Don't miss this little gem in the Sarapiquí area. Totally worth it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    19
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed here during our round trip to Costa Rica. We really enjoyed our stay. Carolien seemed to know everything about nature and showed us owls, toucans and even a sloth, living in their garden. They have I think the largest collection heliconia's in Costa Rica. The houses are nice, modern but cosy. True: you don't have a small house of your own but the rooms are facing each other, but you have your own chairs on the varanda facing the garden with a great view. My husband saw toucans from the veranda. Also true: they have two nice dogs (as everyone in Costa Rica) but the breakfast is oke (toast, eggs, jam etc, as everywhere in Costa Rica) but the atmosphere is great and the surroundings are impressive. Tip: as an activity you can choose to kayak or raft from Heliconia Island on the Sarapiqui River to Sarapiqui. We really enjoyed this trip. You don't see other boats on the river and you see lots of nature (kaymans, monkeys, lots of birds and lizards).

Room Tip: You can choose between a room with a fan or a room with airco. We choose the fan, but it could be th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Heleconia Island was our last stop before heading back home. And it was just the best place to finish a great holiday. The owners have the most amazing garden with loads of different Heliconias but also with numorous bird species, a large group of Howler monkeys and all sorts of other animals.

We walked the garden together with Carolien (owner) and we it was just jaw dropping beautifull. We even saw a baby Toucan leaning out of it's nest for the first time. And the number of Hummingbirds is just endless.

The rooms were very clean, the beds very nice and although the traffic could be heard it was at a very low noise level. And if you want to take a dip in the pool, you'll have to jump in the river, which is fine. The Caymans are further downstream, so no encounters with them.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms, all of them good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alentejo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Caroline was especially lovely and did her best to make our stay a great experience. The place is gorgeous with a lovely garden on a partial island with a good river one side and a sometimes river the other. Spectacled owls in the garden as well as sloths and the other birds are good too. Downers? Well, if we have to criticise then the road noise - even if it is quite a distance away - is a nightmare with the Costa Rican lorries and their revving engines, and we were lucky there weren't any other guests there when we were there as the rooms basically look straight at each other, but all in all it's a nice place and I'd stay again if we ever return to CR.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed with Henk & Carolien for three nights. Although the rainy season was supposed to be over, it was pouring! A 48 hour non-stop stretch of rain caused the island to flood. It suddenly became clear why the cabanas are built on poles... Closed in by the water, there is only one thing you can do: bring a good book and a cold drink and spend a few hours to enjoy the silence, the spectacular view of the river, the humming birds eating from your lap and wait for the river to retreat. Fortunately, it always does within a couple of hours, leaving nothing but a layer of natural fertilizer.
As soon as the bridge is accessible again, you put on your raincoat an head for the lush rainforest or go on a rafting trip, which is especially thrilling after a period of rain. Everything can be arranged by Henk en Carolien, who are very friendly and helpfull. Another thing you must do is take a tour through the beautifull garden. Carolien can tell you everything about the plants, birds, monkeys en the occasional sloths and armadillo's living in it.
The cabanas are small but comfortable and clean. It is just a two-hour drive from the international aiport, but bear in mind that mud-slides can make the road inaccesible in bad weather. The other option takes half a day, so if you have to cath a flight, you should leave early.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Horeb, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Sometimes the small things are the best things. We arrived on Super Bowl Sunday, which would normally mean nothing, but this year, wonder of wonders, the Packers were in the SB. Despite not understanding the concept of American Football, Henk found a nearby restaurant (the Tica Linda) where the chef set up for us and hosted an unforgetable super bowl party. We had a wonderful time! Heliconia Island is a little isolated, but very private. Felt like we were sleeping in a tree house. Next day we went white water rafting and had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Lonely planet writes this is the best garden in Costa Rica. So with expectations we travelled from San Jose in just 3 hours only to Sarapiqui. (From here it is easy to travel (2,5 hours) to Arenal or to Tortuguero.)
Anyway, at what we first called “off the road” arrival we parked our car just where our GPS told us to stop. Somewhere in a forest. Ehm, Ok? We saw a small walking bridge and started crossing a small river. And here we spotted our first monkeys in Costa Rica! Or, better, they spotted us. It must have been 20 meters, max. We continued walking and there it was. Great! What - a - garden. The friendly Dutch staff welcomed us. And they turned out to be not only nice, but hard working, honest and super enthusiastic about their own heaven on this little island. Do you like the birds? Over here you’ll find them plenty, in any kind of colours, size and shape.

Let’s be honest, Sarapiqui is not much of a town. But you don’t need it when staying this island. Our advise to all; do not miss these Heliconia pearls.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast

Address: Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Heredia, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heliconia Island a perfect place for nature lovers. The most beautiful botanical garden of Costa Rica. Feel like you are at home in a private atmosphere. Enjoy the birds, the river and walk around in the garden where you find a huge collection of heliconias.We have two rooms with air conditioning and two rooms with a fan. Also there is a family apartment. All the rooms have hot water and a good mattress, The furniture is made of bamboo. On the balcony you have a nice view over the garden. In the restaurant we serve breakfast, lunch and dinner.Sarapiqui is a green area in the lowlands in the north of Costa Rica. There are 3 national parks, Braulio Carillio, La Selva and Tirimbina. Many activities can be done like rafting, canopy tour, horseback ride and boat trips. You can visit a pinapple, bananas or coffee plantation. For birdwatchers it is a real paradise.There is a busstop only 500 mts from the hotel.Discover Heliconia island, a small bed and breakfast in a magical garden. Cross the bridge into a unique world of natural harmony surrounded by the sounds of birds, frogs, monkeys and the flowing river. Relax and enjoy: Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/Heredia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.