We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in Tamarindo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarindo Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarindo Village to your Saves list
Tamarindo Village
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   100 Meters South of Restaurant "Seasons by Shlomy", Tamarindo 000000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
BOOK DIRECT & SAVE 10%
Ranked #16 of 36 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing in Tamarindo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Excellent location with beautiful landscaped grounds. Nice rooms with a pool. Very quiet but not far from beach but far enough from busy Tamarindo streets. Great place to be active or just to relax and catch up on your reading. Judy Bettinsoli is the owner and will make you feel welcomed and help you enjoy your visit to Costa Rica

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    13
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Ok - now that we have your attention, PLEASE read the most recent guide books carefully before selecting Playa Tamarindo vs. other pacific coast towns. Mostly geared for spring breakers and surfers, unchecked development, hustlers and urban sprawl have ruined its natural beauty. After an idyllic week-long eco tour throughout the best of CR, this place was a dirty, dusty "frontier town" which brought us back to the worst of modern reality. Beach hustlers rent chairs and umbrellas for $10 apiece ($12 during easter week.) Souvenir, coconut milk and cigar hawkers are relentless. Food and drink prices comparable to any overpriced resort town on the planet...

"Tam. Village" Pros:
-Unusual small property on hill side in residential area with lush foliage, lots of birds in the tree tops and scenic, and very distant vista views of pacific...if you can ignore the barking dogs (every home around you has at least 3-5) or pretend they are howler monkeys, and the huge cell tower with blinking lights in front of your vista, which to us became a giant, symbolic, single digit salute to the despoiled natural beauty which is now Playa Tamarindo).
- rustic, private cement spas & terraces in front of upper units.
- AC worked, which was mandatory with punishing tropical heat + humidity index
-if you ignore the armies of ants, well equipped kitchenette with good sized fridge, decent furnishings and comfy king bed.
-while linens were worn and sheets had holes, they were clean and there were plenty of clean towels, wash/dish cloths, etc.
Cons:
-it is at least a 5 minute taxi ride, not remotely close to the mythological 3, 5 or 7 minute walk- to town and the beach. The proximity is totally misrepresented. The "2 block" distance must have been two half mile zip lines/chair lifts we were unable to locate.
-the return trip from town is up a series of steep, unpaved, rough, rocky switchback roads with cars flying by covering your sweaty bodies with clouds of dust- a fifteen minute walk in hell- so taking taxis or showers at the end of each trip is mandatory!!
- We arrived early aft on a saturday, but only the spanish speaking maid was there to greet us, hand over our room keys and point us up the 59 steps and slippery gravel paths to our villas. We enjoyed carrying our own luggage up those steps in the afternoon tropical sun-not!
-The "helpful, wonderful" former manager couple have left- and the new "GM" is a young lady from CA. She was away friday-sunday working another job at a golf tournament, and was totally indifferent, incompetent and elusive at her best. The signs on office door read "Office Hours 8:30-5:30" "Manager working in villa next door". Good luck!!! When we finally tracked her down after several days on site, she was ignorant of or purposely misrepresented the basic facts of the local fee based boat trips/activities.
-Judy the owner waved to us from her second floor balcony twice, kind of like Eva Peron-"...don't cry for me Argentina???", but was not interested in meeting us, offering suggestions for exploring the area or discussing lack of her new manager's assistance when we tried to provide some reality check during the week.
- There is NO Breakfast- so why list it among "B&B's?"
-Outdoor baths sound romantic, but are dirty, worn, smell of septic gas & ant and mosquito infested and heat & humidity make it impossible to get dry after a shower.
- Loft bedrooms seem romantic, but bring a chamber pot...
- Our last morning we schlepped our bags down the stairs to the office around 9 am, and had to bang on manager's villa door to wake her up to call our missing taxi driver for the supposedly pre- booked ride back to the airport. Never asked how was your stay, or indicated any customary B&B human kindness or interest. Sorry to get you out of bed before noon????
-Opportunity cost- we could have stayed in another town at another resort- but that's life! The puff pieces extolling the virtues of this place are a scam!!!!

Room Tip: Pick another place to stay!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAMARINDOVILLAGE, Owner at Tamarindo Village, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
I appreciate the comments. It's nice to know what we are doing right and absolutely necessary to hear what areas we can improve.
If guests are not happy with anything during their stay we hope we are made aware of it immediately. My employees and I have worked many years together to build a team that will always provide friendly and professioanl help in all areas so our guests have a great experience.

The guests seemed busy, happy and I had no idea of the dissatisfaction with the town in general or with Tamarindo Village.

It is too bad that the guests did not read some travel information and description of the very popular Playa Tamarindo area to determine if it was the specific Costa Rica experience they were hoping to have.
Most of their complaints are about subjects that I have NO control over such as the basic characteristics of Playa Tamarindo, the growth and development, temperature and humidity, cell tower location, insects, condition of roads, dust, motorists, dogs, people renting chairs and umbrellas, the local man that has been selling cold fresh coconut water on the beach for years, other vendors and their prices.

I allowed my manager to take several days off with pay to help with the Robert August Gold and Surf Tournament fund raiser that supports CEPIA an amazing organization that provides much needed programs to the local children, teens and adults in many nearby towns and villages. I am proud to have been able to contribute and help.

I was always available either in the reception office area or in my private residence connected to the reception area.

The insect issue is tricky. Fumigation is not regulated here and I have to assume the responsibility of dealing with the comfort of my guests versus the big environmental issues. The commercial fumigation kills EVERYTHING that crawls, flys (harmful or not), plus geckos, frogs, etc. Not to mention contamination of the ground water. Most travelers coming to a tropical location like Costa Rica are aware that insects thrive here. I do the best I know how to find a responsible and reasonable balance and there are cans of insect spray and mosquito coils in the villas for the guests to use based on their own needs.

I had no idea of the their arrival time and after waiting most of the day I left the property for 20 minutes to do a quick errand and that is when they arrived. They were greeted by my maid Mayrith who is an exceptional employee but does not speak English. She is friendly, honest and a very hard worker and always offers to help guests in any way including carrying their luggage.

When they departed we were unable to help with their luggage because we didn't know they were ready to leave and we were not asked to help.

I consider the 600 meter (legal description) distance to the beach a short walk. The walk might be an issue for the physically disabled or for someone having a hard time dealing with the heat. We always advise our guests to save their money and not rent a car because everything is within a short walk.

The comment about needing a chamber pot and my Eva Peron wave might just be a bit of dry humor...???

Mayrith does a great job of cleaning and perhaps the issue regarding the shower area is that leaves continue to drop into the area day and night. I don't know what the old refers to since the villas were renovated a few years ago.

I did a linen check with Mayrith and we found a few of the batik printed sheets with tiny holes, that she did not notice, and she will be more careful.

Tamarindo Village was not originally listed as a B&B on Tripadvisor and I had nothing to do with it being changed to that category. We have never served breakfast and I am in the process of having it removed from the B&B group. Sorry if this caused the guests any inconvenience.

It was unfortunate for them that Playa Tamarindo was not the ideal vacation that so many others have experienced. I understand their frustration of arriving into a town that was not what they had invisioned as their ideal tropical vacation and I hope they enjoyed the remainder of their stay in Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

Had a great time in Costa Rica - lots to do and the managers helped arrange it all !! I felt very safe at the hotel - and the rooms are beautiful. Great style.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Albert
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

My new wife and I spent a week early February at Tamarindo Village and were very satisfied. The location is very good-2 blocks from downtown, the property is well managed and maintained. The villas themselves are very cool-high ceilings , interesting decor and air conditioned. We stayed in a upper villa and it had its own deck and splash pool.
The oweners were away but we were well taken care of by Sarah the resident manager. She stayed up till midnight to check us in when our flight was delayed, helped with the luggage , and arranged several trips and restaurant reservations. The groundskeeper and maid didn`t speak much english but always had a big smile and were eager to carry packages etc.
The only negatives I can think of were the 80 steps from the parking to the loft[we are not in good shape ! ] and there was no internet in the room- only at the pool area. no biggie
We highly recommend this place as a good , safe place to stay in Tamarindo

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at the Tamarindo Village early February and had a very good stay. The location is very central-two blocks away from the main strip,the grounds are amazing and the villas are beautiful and well maintained. We stayed in an upper villa which had its own private deck and splash pool. What made the stay especially enjoyable were the efforts of Sarah the manager. She stayed up till midnight to let us check in late when our plane was delayed, helped carry luggage up the many stairs,and arranged restaurant reservations and tours.The groundskeeper and maid didn`t speak much English but always had a big smile and were very helpful.
The only negatives I can think of were the 80 stairs from car to bedroom [we were both out of shape ! ] and there was no internet in the room -only down by the pool
If you are thinking of staying in Tamarindo I highly recommend this place

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

The villas at Tamarindo Village are perfect for a quiet & peaceful vacation. Each villa is in a private setting with its own hot tub. It is only a short walk to the beach for viewing the spectacular sunsets or taking a swim. I loved the proximity to many fine restaurants & shops. I highly recommend this vacation spot.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

My wife, myself and another couple didn't know what to expect when we arrived. We were greeted by Kristan & Nathan who are the managers and they made us feel like family during our stay. They suggested some great resturants that were an easy walk. Bring comfortable shoes for walking, since some of the roads are not paved. Sitting by the pool at night looking up at all the stars was amaizing. Villas were clean and comfortable.Take the Blue Dolphin sunset cruize and enjoy the afternoon before the sunset. We really enjoyed the area and people. Thanks to Kristan & Nathan for making our trip special.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarindo Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarindo Village

Address: 100 Meters South of Restaurant "Seasons by Shlomy", Tamarindo 000000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarindo Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarindo Village Hotel is on a a lush hillside and consists of 7 spacious, and very private villas overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Only 500 meters from Tamarindo's town center and similarly close to the beaches, restaurants and shops. The Village is a three-level showcase of tropical living featuring private jacuzzi-style pools with ocean and jungle views at several villas, a community swimming pool, garden Bali beds, large patios and gardens. Each villa has an open air shower area, over 600 square feet of interior living area and beautiful views from the upstairs bedroom balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tamarindo Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarindo Village Hotel Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarindo Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.