We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“special...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarindo Yam

Save Saved
You added Tamarindo Yam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamarindo Yam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 meters South to Iguana Surf, Tamarindo 1111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
gansoreq
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“special...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

we were exited to go to costa rica and we heard alot of tamarindo. we decided to pass few days in that area.we stayed in tamarindo yam and the experience was wonderfull.
the room(big cottage) was very clean and had it all...t.v,a/c,free internet....and more.
the service was great and very helpfull.
very nice pool and relaxing place.
i wish we could stay more.....

Room Tip: we stayed in number 1 with small balcony over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    28
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
42
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our driver had a little hard time finding the hotel as it is down a dirt road, a little further past the center of town. Once he found it though and we were shown our apartment, it was a nice experience. It seemed more like we were staying in a little town and not just some resort. Not long after we checked in, the howler monkeys started howling, making this an authentic Costa Rican experience. Then, when I went upstairs to the bedroom, I saw a few bats land right near the window. It felt like we were immersed in nature!

The walk into town wasn't bad at all and we had the pool all to ourselves!

Steybin was very accommodating and even let me use the phone in the office to take care of my lost atm card with my bank, internationally.

The experience we had at the Tamarindo Yam was much more real than staying on the main street in one of the few big hotels. We actually wound up having breakfast at the Tamarindo Diria hotel on our last morning because nothing else was open and it was the most non-costa rican breakfast that we had the whole week we were there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

What a cute little place. The staff were very sweet and helpful. There is a mini kitchen so you could cook. A few blocks from town. Felt safe. Wifi only worked if you were sitting near the office, not in your room. Tuly the kitty was very sweet. They did a load of laundry for us for $10.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 8 days, surfing most of the time.. Located near a few quality surf breaks.. The Rooms were clean, hot water and AC worked. Service was excellent, the place was quiet and relaxing all week. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at Tamarindo Yam for a week in early June and loved it. It was our first time in Costa Rica and the staff made us feel at home. The hotel is within walking distance of everything and we always felt safe. Our room was very spacious and had everything we needed. The pool was also a plus. It's off the beaten path, which we thoroughly enjoyed. I highly recommend staying here when visiting Tamarindo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This place is overall very good. We stayed here for 6 nights in Mar2012 and it was great.
Positives -
Good rooms. Ours had a kitchen and we were able to make breakfast every morning and then take off to the beach
Clean overall
GREAT staff - Steybin was amazing and was very helpful. She spoke decent English as well.
Good location, close to the beach and town, restaurants etc
Reasonably priced.

Negatives -
The bed was a little hard but it didn't ruin our sleep

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to stay in Tamarindo.

Room Tip: If you don't like running up and down the stairs, ask for the room at the entrance - that one is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Tamarindo Yam is a very nice place to stay. Is just a short walk to the ocean & the busy town shops & restaurants. Was nice as is peaceful place & even has a monkey family living in the trees there. Steybin is a most wonderful host & she was very helpful & kind. You will feel secure here & the accommodations are very clean.
Enjoy

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarindo Yam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarindo Yam

Address: 250 meters South to Iguana Surf, Tamarindo 1111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarindo Yam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarindo-Yam is a bran new hotel, constructed in 2007. Located 250 meters from the beach, are seven modern luxury cottages each with private tranquil garden, suitable for 4 or 6 persons. Located around a romantic blue tiled pool in the warm sun, each cottage is designed differently from the other, all with top of the line features and comfort such as full kitchen, a/c unit, cable TV, high speed internet and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Tamarindo Yam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarindo Yam Hotel Tamarindo
Yam Hotel Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarindo Yam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.