We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarindo Yam

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Hotels.com
and 5 more sites!
Tamarindo Yam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 meters South to Iguana Surf, Tamarindo 1111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Tamarindo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Was here for 4 nights. No problems. It was nice and clean.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    29
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
42
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

About a 8-9 minute or so walk to the main intersection, or 10 to the beach, this quaint accom keeps the noise at arm's length, and has clean quarters, with a clean, if smallish, pool. Steybin was an incredible host, as we had rented out all of the rooms (7?) for some of our wedding party/guests. She was always asking us if there is anything we needed further, or that could be improved.
Security 24/7 with locked gate (not that you need it in the area at all!), also very friendly.
No breakfast, but for the price, not unreasonable.
Apartment-style setup allows for lots of home cooking (if that's your thing), and plenty of beverage storage with the good-sized fridge.
Quiet area, except for the monkeys in the morning and evening.
Thank you Steybin!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

When we arrived on the dirt road that led to Tamarindo Yam, we were a little nervous...UNTIL we reached the hotel where we came to a secure, gated entrance and greated at almost midnight with a smile! We were shown to our room and even more pleasantly surprised that it was basically an apartment. It's just a couple of minutes of walking away from the beach, the grocery store, downtown restaurants and nite spots. Even though the hotel was awesome (we will stay there again!)... the staff is what really made it unforgettable. Steybin, Gretin, and Alexey ended up being like family! We always felt safe, they made us laugh, and there was always someone in the office to answer even the funniest questions! Thanks for the awesome stay guys... we will be back soon! - Joey and Romi

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I went to Tamarindo, Costa Rica in December 2010 and we stayed at this hotel. We loved it SO much that we came back in December 2011. As expected, we had an amazing stay at the hotel. They added a huge new garden and which had banana trees and was delightful. They also had made the pool area much bigger so we were able to lay out on the pool chairs and talk and enjoy the garden. Steybin, the hotel manager, was absolutely wonderful. She is very friendly, sweet, and helpful. She arranged our taxi to and from the airport for us and provided us lots of great ideas for things to do around Tamarindo. She is definitely the best manager that I have ever experienced. Gretel, the housekeeper, was also great. She was extremely friendly and did a great job. She cleaned our rooms every day, helped us with laundry, and always left the room perfect. She went above and beyond to make our stay the best that it could be and very comfortable. Alexis is the evening security guard and he also made our stay very enjoyable. He was very friendly and spoke to us a lot. He showed us all kinds of animals and told us about them. It was a lot of fun :) It was very nice to have someone at the hotel 24 hours a day, everyday, in case we needed anything. They were all very helpful and very friendly. This is the best hotel staff that I have ever encountered anywhere. The staff is the main reason we came back this year and if we go back to Costa Rica, we will stay at this hotel again. The rooms were very nice, they had soft comfortable beds, a large living room, and a fully equipped kitchen. The hotel is very clean and is away from the hustle and bustle of the city which was nice. However, it is only a short, pleasant walk into town. Overall, I loved this hotel and I cannot wait to go back! I recommend staying here to everyone! You'll love it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

This little gem tucked away just a few yards from the main drag is the perfect place for couples or families to spend their time in Tamarindo. Away from the noise but close enough to walk to all the main attractions. The apartments are spacious, comfortable and clean and the full size kitchen is a pleasure to cook in (we did breakfast). It's got all the basic cooking utensils that you'll need. It even has a coffee machine and they provide you with complimentary coffee (the good stuff) and sugar. The pool area is very relaxing with a nice size plunge pool. They even provide pool towels. Tamarindo Yam offers free Internet and has a small "library" where you can take a book if it meets your fancy and leave one behind if you choose. The rooms all have TVs and a DVD player. The staff is always friendly and willing to help. We loved it and were sorry to leave. A warm welcoming atmosphere that invites you to return.

Room Tip: For families or larger parties ask for rooms 6 or 7. They have two bedrooms and a private seating a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

A short but sweet review: clean, safe, comfortable, friendly, convenient, accommodating, close to amenities but away from the crowds. Sound perfect? It is. The Tamarindo Yam is where I will stay each and every time in Tamarindo. The property is wonderfully appointed (fabulous pool, by the way), but makes this place a winner are the staff. It's nice to feel like you're staying with family -- the kind of family who actually really like you, and the feeling is mutual! Thanks again for a making us feel at home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The Tamarindo Yam is a quiet, small and cozy hotel. The rooms are nice with teak wood and updated appliances. The AC is cold and is always welcomed at the end of a busy day. The grounds are very well kept and the pool is small but nice and clean. I like that the hotel is off the beaten path but with in easy walking distance of all the fun. The hotel staff, Steybin, Gretal and Alexis, are very and more than accommodating. Anything you need, any problem you may have, or any advice, they are very willing to help. What I really like is they aren't pounding on your door at 7am to clean the room. They were really good about waiting until you left and worked around your schedule. The Tamarindo Yam is excellent for family or couples or solo travelers that want peace and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamarindo Yam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarindo Yam

Also Known As:
Tamarindo Yam Hotel Tamarindo
Yam Hotel Tamarindo
Tamarindo Yam Hotel
Address: 250 meters South to Iguana Surf, Tamarindo 1111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarindo Yam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarindo-Yam is a bran new hotel, constructed in 2007. Located 250 meters from the beach, are seven modern luxury cottages each with private tranquil garden, suitable for 4 or 6 persons. Located around a romantic blue tiled pool in the warm sun, each cottage is designed differently from the other, all with top of the line features and comfort such as full kitchen, a/c unit, cable TV, high speed internet and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Tamarindo Yam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarindo Yam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tamarindo Yam to your Saves list