We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED THIS TRAIL RIDE, AND WAS ONE OF THE FIRST TO TRY THE CANOPY ZIP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Stallion Hills Equestrian Center

Black Stallion Hills Equestrian Center
| Black Stallion Hills, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
506 8869 9765
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 86 activities in Tamarindo
Type: Horseback Riding Stables
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Best Horse Tours, Zipline & BBQ Feast - Our Eco Adventure Trail Rides offer 1,500 acres of private ranch in Guanacaste. 100 % Cowboy Country. Explore pastures,mountains & creeks. Climb hilltops & enjoy breathtaking 360 degree ocean & valley views. Experience monkeys, iguanas, birds in flight; nature & wildlife up-close. Our horses are well groomed, well trained & friendly. Perfect for day & night adventurers, couples & families with children of all ages. Also our famous private Bbq Fiesta. Enjoy a sunset dinner with BBQ Master Chef grilling up a feast of farm raised chicken, local meats, fish & fresh garden veggies. It's a very unique exclusive evening. Also,we have a new 10 platform canopy zip line which is amazing. We now are offering full combo packages eg : Ride,Zip & BBQ - An all afternoon activity & great value. If u want an adventure, we have it. Also,ask us about our amazing night time ride & zip activities. See u soon in da jungle. :-) Pura Vida.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LOVED THIS TRAIL RIDE, AND WAS ONE OF THE FIRST TO TRY THE CANOPY ZIP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just 5 minutes from the cruisy beach scene of Tamarindo is the super cool Black Stallion Hills ranch. Owner and maitre D Alex has a great set up. Horse ride into the magical Hills, ranch style barbecue lunch. And now the biggest canopy zip line system in CA (i think?). I was one of the first to try it and Wow, it rocks. And i hear they are soon to add Folkloric nights with traditional dancing and music as well.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    10
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Black Stallion Ranch/Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Best Time Ever. Riding, so close to Lola's to surf and the BBQ was fantastic.
Alex the Host is a very Warm Person, Taking care of everything. Pura Vida.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed ride & delicious BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a fantastic 2 hour ride.The ranch is beautiful ! the guide/cowboy was excellent
He did a few fancy tricks which was fun to see. After the ride the guys served up fresh lemonade & a BBQ buffet that was really delicious, it was a an perfect afternoon & evening.Ask about the new zip line they are working on looks amazing ! Great place !!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Service & truly magical experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Truly worth riding up the rather boring Panamericain Highway just for the Barbecue here.
Being a non meat eater I ordered fish & was pleased when I saw that they had added a selection of veg without prompting! Unfortunately the rest of the gang tucked in too! It was an almost perfect blue sky that turned into a terrific Sunset. Although most of our group stuck to their motors for riding I managed to convince Mr P and we left our trusted beast & saddled up. Fab & although a little sore I will return for a Longer TIME VERY SOON!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a super good time..!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have been to Black Stallion a few times & its always a good time.This time we were amazed by the sunset views from the top of the mountains. We rode as a group of 8. It takes around
40 mins to get to the top, a relaxed ride on mellow horses with a very good cowboy called Flako.
The 360 % views are beyond spectacular, so take the camera. When we returned to the Cafe they had icy cold beers & BBQ all ready for us. The chef Carlos did a fantastic job..he is a master & the BBQ buffet was excellent....thx!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Stallion Hills Equestrian Center also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Black Stallion Hills Equestrian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Stallion Hills Equestrian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Black Stallion Hills Equestrian Center to your Saves list