We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sailing Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marlin Del Rey Sailing Tours

Marlin Del Rey Sailing Tours
Emerald Plaza Unit #8, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
506-2653-1212
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 96 Activities in Tamarindo
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The BIG boat..Marlin Del Rey. 66 feet of wide open space where you can lounge in the sun, relax under our more than ample shaded area or sit on the deck watching for whales, dolphins and turtles. Based out of Tamarindo Bay, Costa Rica we operate daily tours that include open bar, snorkel equipment and snacks. Afternoon tours incldue the amazing Costa Rican sunset free of charge. Also available for private charters.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Sailing Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I went on an afternoon Catamaran tour on the Marlin Del Ray while in Tamarindo Beach. It was awesome! The crew (Taca, Alex, Felipe, Mama Helen, Marco, Leo and our favorite Ken) were just amazing! So kind and attentive and always made sure we had what we needed and were having a good time. We sailed for about an hour and then anchored at a spot where we were all then able to swim, snorkel or just hang out on the boat. Drinks and food were on the house! We even saw a mother and baby humpback whale which absolutely made our trip! We DEFINITELY recommend sailing on the Marlin Del Ray for anyone who is staying in Tamarindo that wants to get out on the ocean for an afternoon! Kick back and relax, have a few drinks, dance, swim and and let the crew take care of you!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    40
    10
    10
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BEST TOUR IN TAMARINDO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have been going on the Marlin Del Rey for over 2 years now and it's hands down the best tour in Tamarindo. Cinthia the office manager is always very helpful when making our reservations and answering any question we might have about the tour. Felipe and his guys are always making sure everyone is enjoying their time on the boat all while making sure safety is the # 1 priority. The food, drinks, and scenery also make this tour the best in Tamarindo! If you are looking for a good time and a great sunset, the Marline Del Rey is def your tour of choice. And who knows, you might be lucky enough to see some dolphins or humpback whales:)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a fantastic trip! Frank was awesome and mama Helen makes the best piña coladas I have ever tasted. Fun tour and we were treated to whales and sea turtles! Great meal on board. Excellent friendly service.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great afternoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our second trip on this catamaran....and it did not disappoint. The same awesome crew was there....Mama Helen behind the bar, Ken, Leo and Marko were welcoming as always and kept things flowing. And Captain Taka, who went out of his way to make sure we saw the special event that unfolded. We found ourselves next to a pod of whales. They were off in the distance and went to get a closer look. Incredible!!! The snorkeling fun and Ken even pointed out a couple of blowfish and starfish. The food was good.. And the drinks are always cold. A perfect afternoon and a great end to our vacation.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper Pike, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Exceptional Sailing Tour & Crew!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

After reviewing the multiple photos that were taken during our vacation to Costa Rica, by far, our experience on the Marlin del Rey exceeded our expectations of a good time. I asked my children what was their favorite memory of our recent trip, and both exclaimed "the Marlin!" Ken, Alex, Felipe, Taca, Hellen, Leo and 'lil Estefen were the most fun and welcoming crew. Without them, this tour would have just another boring sailing trip. Thank you for making our vacation to Costa Rica more memorable!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlin Del Rey Sailing Tours also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Marlin Del Rey Sailing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlin Del Rey Sailing Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.