We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sabanero Eco Lodge

Save Saved
You added El Sabanero Eco Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
El Sabanero Eco Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Cana Fistula | Entre Tamarindo y Santa Cruz, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“Home away from home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you’re looking for a peaceful and intimate getaway ~ visiting El Sabanero Eco Lodge is a must! Tucked away from the hustle & bustle of life in Costa Rica, a top a hill surrounded by lush vegetation, is your home away from home.

Absorbed in nature, you hear the notorious Howler Monkeys, meet the largest toads at dusk, enjoy a variety of birds; every day was truly a new and wonderful experience.

The staff was incredibly welcoming and friendly. When I arrived, the owner Kurt introduced himself and invited me to the Bull Fights in Tamarindo. What an incredible first impression and exciting first day in Costa Rica!

They serve a fresh continental breakfast (fruit, toast, coffee/juice, eggs) from 7am-10am, and Donald or Kurt are there to help you plan your excursions, recommend beach’s, or ensure your comfortable and enjoying yourself while you stay in and lounge by the pool and soak up the sun. Dinner is incredibly fresh and delicious… and I’m a HUGE foodie!

My cabin (#1) was rustic, simple and cozy. The pool was refreshing during the hottest part of the day, and I appreciated the complimentary WIFI. The internet is unpredictable at times all over the island, so bring a mobile internet stick with you or buy one in town if it’s important for you to have 24hour access. Otherwise, turn everything off and enjoy your stay!

If you’re looking for a:

- Peaceful and relaxing getaway
- Private and comfortable vacation experience
- Lodge with beautiful views of the Costa Rica landscape
- Short commute from the airport, beach and Tamarindo
- Home away from home

~ Visit El Sabanero Eco Lodge for a remarkable and memorable Costa Rica Vacation ~

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    25
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
98
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is now the 3rd time I have stayed at El Sabanero Eco Lodge while staying in Costa Rica. I honestly don't think I would want to stay any where else. The Owners and staff jsut make the stay so enjoyable and I couldn't ask for a more peaceful and serene environment to spend my time! The atmosphere is very relaxing and it has some of the best views you could imagine! Donald takes care of any need you have at the front desk, the meals are top notch and inexpensive for what you get. If you are looking for a true paradise getaway, look no further than El Sabanero. I will always keep coming back!

Room Tip: Every room has a great view. If you like hearing Monkeys in the morning, the rooms closest to the E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We visited El Sabanero Eco Lodge last year and loved it so much we decided to come back again.

We are so happy we returned. The vibe is relaxed and friendly, its incredibly gorgeous, clean, and the food is delicious. The lodge is inland enough to be surrounded by hills and lots of green foliage...but close enough to Tamarindo to enjoy the beach for the day without a long commute.

We stayed for three nights and were in cabin 3. I really like how each cabin has it's own pathway, privacy and rocking chairs out front to relax on.

The mornings are the best at the lodge. Howler monkeys in the trees, birds chirping, and roosters from a nearby farm - the entire world wakes up as the sun rises. My favourite moment this stay was when I was watching a sunrise on the pool deck and the owner came over and handed me an espresso to enjoy. He had made it himself as the kitchen wasn't due to open for another hour or so. That sealed the experience for me - the genuine service and attention you receive here you won't find anywhere else.

Thank you El Sabanero for another amazing vacation!

Room Tip: Cabin number 3 is set back a bit - I recommend this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Initially we were skeptical about being 7km from tamarindo downtown. But once there we were perfectly happy. It was a great location- inbetween avallenas and tamarindo. Well above the dusty road in the valley overlooking the mountains in either direction with palm trees surrounding and beautiful social areas inside. The Austrian chef makes impeccable dishes at night for a reasonable cost (usually around $15). The room was clean with gorgeous stone showers and paintings by local artists. It is VERY EASY to get to downtown tamarindo which I really liked as I don't like getting lost in 3rd world country dirtroads at night. The only thing lacking was a bar- though they do have a stock of beer, water, and fanta for a nominal fee. If you like wine you can get some good ones at the local market. The owners are also from Austria and therefore English abounds in the lodge. Id DEFINITELY come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

From the staff to the beautiful location, the El Sabanero lodge is a must stay. We stayed there on the last couple of nights of our honeymoon. It was a great, super relaxing way to end our stay in costa rica. Great Austrian chef, clean rooms, strong wifi, super helpful staff, and a beautiful, out of the way location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Beautiful location, place could use a few upgrades! Breakfast could use a boost, but if Reinhard cooks in the evening eat there! Great food for a good price!!!! We had a great Christmas Dinner there! And yes, we would come back for the nice open lodge and the view over the pool!

Room Tip: Stay on the higher cabins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at El Sabanero for a week before Christmas and had a wonderful time. We found beauty in everything. The price per night was incredibly reasonable for the start of the high season, and the cabin met our expectations by being accurately conveyed on the lodge’s website. The food, both in town and at the lodge, was amazingly fresh, healthy and energizing.

If you are looking for total luxury, than a more pricey all-inclusive resort might be the choice for you. And if you do opt for opulence, keep in mind that your chances of obtaining an authentic experience in this country will be greatly diminished.

Our time here was disarming and beautiful. Travel abolishes fear, and if done right, should change you in some way. I think what kind of time you have here is going to be governed by your open-mindedness. Your positivity and willingness to put yourself out there, for the sake of fostering new relationships and experiences, will make your stay enduring.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Sabanero Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sabanero Eco Lodge

Also Known As:
El Sabanero Eco Hotel Tamarindo
El Sabanero Eco Hotel
El Sabanero Ecolodge Tamarindo
El Sabanero Ecolodge Hotel Tamarindo
Address: Cana Fistula | Entre Tamarindo y Santa Cruz, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Sabanero Eco Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the north Pacific side of Costa Rica, in the province of Guanacaste. A 10 min drive to Tamarindo Beach Resort, 5 min from the Hacienda Pinilla golf course facilities and only 15 min from world-class surf spots such as Avellanas Beach, Playa Negra and Playa Grande. El Sabanero is perfectly located close to all exciting activities. Staying at El Sabanero, one experiences total tranquility, the pure nature, the exotic local animals such as howling monkeys, iguanas, exotic butterflies, parrots & much more, plus the fantastic view of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your El Sabanero Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sabanero Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.