We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone who goes to Tamarindo MUST stay here!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chocolate Hotel and 5 Star Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Chocolate Hotel and 5 Star Hostel to your Saves list
The Chocolate Hotel and 5 Star Hostel
200 meters east of Stella Restaurant, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everyone who goes to Tamarindo MUST stay here!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had the most amazing time at the Chocolate!!!! I spent 12 days there at the end of January/beginning of February and couldn't of asked for a better vacation!!! As soon as you walk in your surrounded by palm trees, hammocks and a pool! The staff there are AMAZING!!!! Tito did such a amazing job to make sure everyone was happy and made us feel like we were at home. If we ever needed anything or had a question he would help us right away! There also was someone there at night which made our stay feel safe and secure throughout the day.
We were able to have a birthday party for myself at the Hostel with other guests and staff!!! Our room was fully equipped with a fridge, A/C, warm showers and TV. On our last day we saw a big group of Howler Monkeys in the trees!!!! I always felt like i was in the Jungle!!!! What more could you ask for!!! I can't wait to go back!!!! I highly recommend this Hostel if your thinking of visiting
Beautiful Tamarindo!!!!

Lisa

Room Tip: We stayed In one of the private apartments!!! I highly recommend that if your planning a longer stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    24
    7
    6
    11
See reviews for
6
17
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

stayed in the hostel for 3 nights. it is located a bit off the main rode ,which is good if you like a Quiet night ,the rooms are big and clean and there's hot water in the shower (in costa rica it's rare) . The owners carlos and jessie are awesome people and very helpful ,carlos help us navigate to are next destination .and jes told us all the hebrew words she knows...
over all it was a great experience, had lots of fun there Hope to be there again soon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Was desperately looking for a place to stay at the beginning of Easter Week in Tamarindo and we were lucky to find this beautiful place with a pool, chic decor and really helpful staff:
- Rooms were equipped with a kitchen and extra beds
- Grounds always appeared cleaned and good music was always on, but never too loud
– Staff were SUPER-ATTENTIVE to any questions, concerns or needs travellers had
– Security was decent, always felt safe
The only cons I had for this Hotel were:
- Location: was at the “end” of the road, but still really only 10 min walk to the Beach
- Kitchen: no paper towels and other kitchenette utensils readily available
- Plumbing: We had a situation where feces came up through the shower and it really soured our day but this could happen at any Hostel/Hotel by Fluke...or not.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great hostel all around! Friendly people and staff, good location, comfortable rooms, fun environment. Definitely will go back! I recommend it for anyone traveling through Costa Rica. You must remember that it is a Hostel for young travelers. I think everyone giving it a bad review was looking for luxury and comfort. If you want that go get a hotel room for a $100 a night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Best ever!!!!!!! We were there just 2 weeks ago at the end of our CR trip, best decision we ever took! We walk around Tamarindo and checked the options available, and we got there as our last option due bad reviews but wanted to check it any way, I’m very glad we did! The place was amazing and there are several facts that makes it great, every room have their own bathroom, kitchen, Fridge and A/C. Me and my friends were very happy not to share the bathroom and fridge with other 50 people as we had some bad experiences in another hostel in Arenal Volcano (someone was taking our cereal). Also the dorms where fully equipped.
Tito ( New Manager) explained that the group of owners just spent serious money in the place to make it looks as it looks now, apparently last manager was not taking care of the place properly. By the way tito is the most helpful person in the world, if you want cheap and practical recommendations to travel ask him for some.
I think they should have breakfast option to make it perfect, but you can’t get always all you want. In the other hand as I was staying for 6 days we got the free laundry deal.
We also found great that if you have a group of 4 people can go and get the private room for the same price you were supposed to pay in a dorm, this is just awesome, at the beginning we thought that will have to squeeze in a small space room because we were paying the same amount as a dorm but result that the private room was big and comfortable, plenty of space for all 4 of us and we had one full size bed and 2 twin size beds, plus a terrace with a hammock, birds in the morning and was the perfect social area for me and my friends.
Fairly close from the beach, nice pool, fully equipped rooms, excellent service, I highly recommend this place to everyone who is looking to have a nice stay in tamarindo. If you are staying for more than 6 days don’t forget to ask for your free night and the free laundry.
Regarding Tamarindo we found it to be very nice but there are some better beaches nearby (Conchal is a must) also you have to check this Cuban sandwich place named Addy’s and the pizza place named Baulas, Tito recommended those and were very good for the price they charge. Tamarindo is crazy prices for eating out so check the menus before going into a place.
Cheers!

Room Tip: Room No7 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

One of the worst hotel experiences we've ever had. There were other guests in the hotel that were up nights in a row until after sunrise screaming, blasting their music, throwing things (rocks and their MATTRESS) at the neighbors house! The neighbors being up all night yelling at the people on the balcony to quiet down. Obviously the manager knew this was a problem as it seems everyone but the noise makers was complaining. I can't understand why they weren't kicked out. We finally checked out so we could get a decent nights sleep. (Poor neighbors probably wished they could have checked out!) Very poorly managed and I would never recommend this place to anyone unless you are looking for a party hotel and not getting any sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This place is brutal - from the load noise from washing machine, to music beig played at 530 am, the a/c doesnt stay on, the hot shower doesn't work, the beds are so thin you can feel the boards underneath, to the mosquitos in the rooms as they aren't sealed, no towels, far from the beach- I could go on.... I would never recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chocolate Hotel and 5 Star Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Hotel and 5 Star Hostel

Address: 200 meters east of Stella Restaurant, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chocolate Hotel and 5 Star Hostel is the best choice for great accommodations in Tamarindo, Costa Rica. Our comfortable rooms are fully furnished and contain equipped kitchens, bathrooms with hot water, AC, cable TV, wifi and patios with hammocks facing a well maintained pool and tropical garden. Along with 24 hour security and daily maid service, The Chocolate Hotel and 5 Star Hostel can assist you with tour and shuttle information as well as inform you about discounts around town and special points of interest. We are only a 5 minute walk to the city center and beach. Why rent a room when you can have an apartment? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Chocolate Hotel and 5 Star Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chocolate Hotel And 5 Star Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chocolate Hotel and 5 Star Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.