We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service/rooms need updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo to your Saves list
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Main Street, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service/rooms need updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I cannot adequately express to you how impressed we both were with the willingness of the personnel at the hotel to accommodate and provide for our needs. The service was unparalleled. I would highly recommend your services to anyone considering a trip to your remarkable country. I loved the beachfront location. I could have stayed here several days. The staff was above all expectations. These included: Stacy, Michael, and Cedric at the desk, Clarine at the French bakery, and D.J. at the restaurant. Our estuary tour with Nelson, which was booked by Stacy, was one of the highlights of our trip. Thank you very much.

The facilities could use refurbishment; it's time to update. (The room was barely adequate and could have used some cleaning and updating. For example: moldy bathroom, no towel holders, limited hot water, broken faucet, intermittent internet service, etc.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    36
    15
    7
    9
See reviews for
12
41
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We booked the junior suite which was the most expensive room and on the top floor. It was large room and clean and the balcony had good views of the beach, but it was pretty tired and the bed was quite sunken and the lock on the door not great. In the mornings for breakfast, we could never work out whether we were supposed to wait for service or go and order ourself from the bakery. I think only once did someone come to the table to take an order and that was because they had obviously just brought food to another table.
The food in the French bakery is lovely and we ate in the restaurant once which was also good. I get the impression the business is more based around the restaurant and bakery and the rooms are just a sideline, so it was fine for a couple of nights and probably good for backpackers as the rooms are reasonable.
NB, we had thought the fact the hotel was next to a pool of crocodiles was a good chance of seeing a bit of wildlife but the pool dried up a couple of years ago, so no crocs. Don't expect that would bother most people though

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We spent our first two nights in Tamarindo at this hotel. We thought it would be amazing since it was right on the beach. Turns out, the bed was uncomfortable, the A/C was dripping water on the floor (granted, they fixed it after the first night) and the lock on the bedroom door wouldn't work. The first day when we went out to eat breakfast, we sat and waited maybe 15-20 minutes and the waitress didn't even come out to ask how we were!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The Laguna del Cocodrilo is a nice, small hotel, incredibly quiet, ideally located at the entrance in Tamarindo, you can hardly believe that you are actually staying in one of the busyest playas in Costa Rica. We had one of the junior suites and it was great. We had a big terasse, we could lie in the bed and still see the ocean, extremely relaxing. The French bakery and the restaurant in the hotel add even more value to it. The ocean is just a short walk away, perfect location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We booked nine months ago to avoid problems and after a long flight from Canada, the owner had lost our reservation. He put us up in a non view room on the busy road. The room was basic at least and noisy as [--]. Having no space he recommended we go to a hotel down the street which was an absolute dump. He knocked $10 off the room rate and it cosy us a lot to find a decent place at short notice. A horrible beginning to a great vacation. His response to his error was pitiful and I would NOT recommend staying here as he admitted he had lost reservations in the past.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Stayed here twice when Witch's Rock was full. Both times I've really enjoyed my stay. Cedric and family really make you feel welcome. It's a great simple hotel that has everything you need, perfect place if you are spending your days surfing in CR. Not a five star hotel, but I've been pleased both times I've stayed there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed here one night when the electricity in our rental house went out. It was the only vacancy we could find at 9:00 at night. If you stay here for the location and don't really care about a decent room, you'll probably be alright, but this was by far the worst hotel we stayed in during our 2 months in Costa Rica. Horrible, horrible, horrible mattresses on the double and twin beds in our room, moldy smelling and looking AC, moldy ceiling in the bathroom that was starting to fall down. No coffee in the morning at all ! When I went to ask at the desk for coffee, ( because there is a restaurant in the middle of the hotel ) I was told I would have to buy my coffee from the french bakery next door. Well ,we got tiny styrofoam cups of coffee for $2 each, and that didn't begin to wake me up, but I wasn't going to pay that much for another one. My husband got up early and went surfing, and got his flip flops stolen. This is set back a good bit from the beach, with a lagoon and a good bit of sand in between, but it is much more isolated than the other hotels along the beach, so watch your things.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo

Address: Main Street, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family and friendly hotel located on the beach. Tropical garden, with faun and flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.