We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a great view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Colina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Colina
Save Saved
You added La Colina to your Saves list
en frente de jardin del eden, Tamarindo 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
1 review
“Room with a great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We came to tamarindo to surf at Witch's Rock Surf Camp and were set up at La Colina. La Colina is a furnished apartment with all the amenities (full kitchen). Just a few minutes walk to the beach and Witch's Rock La Colina was a pleasant stay. Hans the owner was very prompt and friendly. The view from our room was probably the best view of the beach and sunset in Tamarindo. We were greeted by a family of monkeys in the neighbouring trees which was a treat to see. Overall La Colina was an inexpensive place to stay in such a rich and beautiful culture.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    15
    2
    1
    9
See reviews for
12
20
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at La Colina for 9 glorious days. We loved this place. And we will definitely stay here again! There's nothing like a beautiful Hacienda to make you feel immediately that you are on vacation. Hans the owner is great and very helpful, you just need to ask. Otherwise he'll leave you to your own devices. The condo/hotel itself is basic and beautiful. It's not slick like an all inclusive hotel, but the apartments are authentic and have everything you need to have a wonderful Costa Rican experience. We had a 2 bedroom 2 bath on the top floor with an amazing wrap around balcony that had THE BEST view of Tamarindo in town. Go for the 3rd floor first. But all the rooms have ocean view balconies, so I don't think you can go wrong on any floor. The apartments themselves are beautifully designed and well furnished. There isn't a restaurant on the property, but we had a full kitchen. La Colina is on a hill. It takes about 5 minutes to walk down and be in the heart of everything. So you get your privacy when you are ready for it but don't have to sacrifice activity for it. The other great thing is that a local howler monkey family favored a mango tree on our path down to the beach, that gave us great daily sightings. We didn't bring a computer, we wanted to be off the map while we were there, but there is internet connection available in your apartment if you bring one with you as well as internet cafes. It's a great place to stay, and definitely take advantage of Han's knowledge and contacts. You'll get a much more personal holiday.

Room Tip: Top floor apartments are very large, with super high ceilings and maybe the best view in Tamarindo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I just got back from several days in Tamarindo, and had a great time staying at La Colina. I'd highly recommend this place for people who want a quieter, spacious place to stay in Tamarindo. I was there with 3 other guys and we rented out room 45, the penthouse which is a 2-bed 2-bath apartment. It had a king bed in one room, a full + twin bed in the other room, and 2 day beds in the living room. Pretty clean and the best part is the huge balcony with an amazing ocean view that comes with the penthouse.

Pro's:
1. Hans. The owner of this place is awesome. He's super helpful giving you tips to get around town and Costa Rica in general, and is very nice.
2. Pool. Good sized pool, and it's great for cooling off when you've had enough of the Tamarindo waves beating you senseless.
3. View. The view from the penthouse balcony is priceless. Amazing sunsets
4. Surroundings. It's up on a quiet hill, so you don't get the crazy party noise, drug dealers, or prostitutes that you'll find on the main strip on Fri and Sat nights. (i guess this is a con if that's your thing...)
5. Close to Witch's Rock, which was the center of Tamarindo for us. They are the most popular surf-camp in town, and have a decent well-priced restaurant. They're a 5 minute walk from La Colina, and have a small pool too, so we spent most of our days chilling at Witch's Rock where we'd eat, surf, chill on the beach, watch sports at the bar, and hang out in their pool.

Con's:
1. It's a 5-7 minute walk from the beach, up a hill. It's not bad, but if you want quick beach access you won't get it here.
2. There's no food here, but it's easy enough to get to a ton of restaurants on the main strip, plus there's a kitchen in the penthouse so you can get groceries.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Pine, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My mother, wife, and myself spent a week at La Colina, the 3rd week of March, '12. The condo complex is a very good facility in a charming town. Hans, the owner, is a very helpful host and did a good job making our Costa Rica trip go smoothly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ste-Martine, Québec
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have stayed six weeks this winter . It is just a 5 minutes walk to the beach and the center of Tamarindo, boutiques, restaurants, bars... We had a beautiful view of the ocean from our large balcony, the apartment with a full kitchen/living room and a large king size bed in the bedroom, was very clean and well furnished and it is very quiet. The owner, Mr. Hans, is taking good care of his clients and is always available to help for the reservations of excursions or to answer to any other questions to make our stay just perfect. We will go there without any hesitation on our next trip to Tamarindo and we highly recommend this place for the people who wants to stay in a quiet place with nice gardens.
Denise and Bruno from Montreal, Canada.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed here while going to surf camp in Tamarindo with a group of 15 friends from graduate school. Amazing spot - its up a hill, so you get a great view of the beach. Since the beach is very windy, its nice to have the pool at La Colina in case you want to lay out since that's not really an option with the beach.

The owner Hans was very nice. We all had rooms with balconies that are great for group gathering. Note that there's no food served at the hotel but otherwise, its a great spot. Ideal for groups.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I deeply hated that dump.
The terrace is ridiculous, the water is dirty, there is a smell of drains in the pool near a bedroom. It's odd there four réfigirateurs on the terrace of this apartment and it's just that the smell of gutters. The bar is pitiful. I got a rum that tasted water??
No wonder the owner is stingy and trying all the time to take our monies. I noticed that there are also many insects in the rooms, there have even seen scorpions.
In short I would not recommend this place to all deadly dull

Yolande

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colina

Address: en frente de jardin del eden, Tamarindo 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed on a Hill, unique sunsets, nice breeze, outstanding view 50 sqft pool, bar, tropical garden, fully equipped kitchens, tv, ac, ceiling fans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Colina Tamarindo
La Colina Hotel Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Colina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.